We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our worst hotel experiences...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Reims L Univers to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Boulevard Foch, 51100 Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers) (Centre Erlon-Est)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of our worst hotel experiences...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend on our visit to Reims. We had a hard time finding and available hotel for this weekend due to the holiday weekend and the soccer game that was playing on Saturday night. We ended up selecting the Grand Hotel de l'Univers due to it's location.

However, we were highly disappointed for the following reasons:
1) the hotel reception staff were not very friendly and it was difficult to have reservations made at some of the Champagne houses
2) the hotel was extremely dirty- the carpets and walls especially in the main areas
3) the room was extremely dirty- carpets, curtains, walls, peeling wood on the doors, mold in the bathroom
4) the bed was small and uncomfortable
5) we did not have a working telephone in the room and no hot water in the bathroom. i could not call the front desk to notify them of the problem so had to go down. A repair man was sent for the shower but not for the phone.

We wish we had selected another hotel. This hotel is NOT a three star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    22
    31
    17
See reviews for
8
40
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Helpful booking by phone as away in car travelling so no internet. Parking in nearby public underground car park but not secured as such. Room average (and paid extra for bigger room), and hot too, but bathroom below par. Hotel restaurant seemed empty so ate out and avoided expensive hotel breakfast by going to lovely patisserie not far away. Can't say would saty there again, but ok for one night.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Booked this hotel online and photos looked lovely. When we arrived, our room had no Hot water. The maintenance man said it was because it was cold outside!! The next room had broken legs in the bed and it wobbled like crazy. We then were put in a deluxe room... Very basic, somewhat clean but extremely cold! The hotel manager said he couldn't turn up the heat any more so gave us a second duvet for the bed. We thought it was raining but turned out it was all on the inside of the windows. Can you say mold?
On the plus side, the location is incredible, and the price was cheap. The hotel manager was very sincere and polite and tried to please us.
This hotel is good for a 1 night stop... 3 was way too long for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Booked this hotel without knowing anything about it and myself and my family found ourselves very pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the free wifi really handy. The location is great, with all the sites only around the corner. The price of the room was very reasonable and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Finishing a week long wine trip in Reims is the perfect ending. We got an awesome price at the hotel using an online booking service and got a small room, but it was enough, clean and had for the first time during this trip TV channels in english :)

The kind receptionist allowed us to store all purchased wines to be stored in a room close to the reception, this saved us a lot of hassle carrying and storing boxes in our room.
just around the corner is the main pedestrian street with dozens of restaurants and bars. A free parking opposite of the hotel and easy to get to made this the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

we were looking for value for money for one night in reims and we found it. the staff were exceedingly helpful and we were greeted with a warm welcome. the room was small and could do with a lick of paint, but it was clean and very quiet. the hotel has no parking, but we were able to park on the street close by for under 2 euros. its a short walk into town. i would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cheap and cheerful break.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay here very much. We booked a "Double Privilège" room and found it to be very spacious and clean. I found the old-fashioned elevator to be charming. I had never been in one like that before - where you have to manually close the single door. From our room, we could see Notre-Dame de Reims and you can walk to many restaurants and sights from the hotel. Our bathroom had a stall shower and a separate bathtub, which is convenient if one of you wants to relax in the bath while the other takes a shower. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. Absolutely no complaints. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelunivers, Rooms director at Golden Tulip Reims L Univers, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Reims in our establisment.

We are looking forward to welcome you again;

Best regards,

Aurélie Colin
Rooms director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Reims L Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Address: 41 Boulevard Foch, 51100 Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Reims L Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Reims L Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Reims

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Reims L Univers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.