We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Reims” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Buirette, 51100 Reims, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Reims
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best location in Reims”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arriving by car the GPS took us immediately to our destination. Offloading the luggage in front of the door and supper fast check-in, was a surprise for France. The parking is located under the hotel with very easy access. Rooms are comfortable with all the necessary amenities. Very fast wifi internet available everywhere on the premises. Centrally located with many restaurants just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and the bar is nice. Absolutely no negative comment about this place. In addition to all the above the price is right. If in Reims again I will definitely select this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is very important for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property.
We thank you for leaving a feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    600
    124
    43
    11
See reviews for
164
667
34
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel de la paix lat week. Exceptional value. Nice big clean room with separate bathroom and toilet. Got a very good online deal at about 120 euros. We did a champagne tour and were ale to store our bags for collecting later in the day. Very close to the Main Street, only a 10 minute walk from the train station. Heaps of restaurants within 100m.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing this nice feedback on Trip Advisor.
It heps us to improve our services. As mentioned in your message you can get good deals by booking directly onour website.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix – Vincent B. – Guest Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel was lovely, we had a room on the 4th floor that was very large with a curved wall of windows. The bathroom was large and appeared to be recently updated. the shower was large and more like a wet room.
The air-con was very welcome, efficient yet almost silent.
Breakfast although not cheap at 15 euros each was very nice with plenty of choice, frequently replenished and the staff coped well with the large numbers of guests arriving to eat.

The hotel is very central, a few steps from the shops and many restaurants as well as the cathedral. Hop to return for longer and visit the champagne houses!

Room Tip: We had a privilege room on the 4th floor. room 444.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Twinckle233,

It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in Reims.
Next time we will be glad to give you some recommandation abouts things to see and to do if you have time to spend in our region.

Sincerely yours,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix – Vincent B. – Guest Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

my wife and stayed here for a four night long weekend break. the location is really excellent since it is in the swim of things near to the cathedral and museums and spills you out into the middle of the bars, cafes and restaurants. the room was nice with comfy beds and a good sized well-appointed bathroom. the breakfast selection was not huge but what they had was good. I particularly enjoyed the pool, which could be closed off or opened up according to the weather. the staff were cheerful and helpful over matters such as late checkout, but could have been a bit more on the ball re restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Travellers,

We really thank you for leaving this kind feedback following your stay last August in our propoerty.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix – Vincent B. – Guest Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good hotel with parkeing, good room at resonable prize, good loacation in city center, good service and friendly staff, good breakfast by french standard. Average hotel restaurang and hotelbar (very expensive). SPA/relax: OK pool and trim room, Great with sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in Reims. It has been a pleasure to welcoming you.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Agreeing with the previous review by Julie S - the location is ideal for exploring Reims - couldn't be more central. Our Privilege room on the fifth floor had a small balcony which overlooked the courtyard and afforded a half decent view of the top of the Cathedral towers from where I took some pictures of the statues with the zoom on my camera.
About the hotel there are some positives and negatives - I guess it boils down to personal preference - and our preference is for something a little less corporate in atmosphere. Well decorated if you like the modern stainless steel, glass and plastic type of décor in tones of soft truffle, brown, and raspberry with splashes citrus orange and green, and it is everywhere, in the reception, the bar, the restaurant and the bedroom. It just didn't seem like a place to enjoy a relaxed few days in and our impression was that it was geared more to the business market than the tourist.
The reception staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable - especially Betty and Carl (don't bother with the tourist office - Betty is a mine of information and can book you into the Vueve Cliquot tour in the blink of an eye - after the tourist office told us we wouldn't be able to get in for at least a couple of weeks).
Breakfast is served from 7a.m. until 10.00a.m. buffet style and it's ok but I found the "scrambled eggs" a rather dubious looking scrambled omelette reminiscent of some those omelettes produced in James Martin's Saturday Kitchen show. After that you cannot seem to get a coffee or snack in the hotel until 2p.m. when the bar opens. Room service is only available in the evenings from about 7p.m. to 11.30p.m.
The room was o.k. been in better, been in worse. Spacious, bed large (two singles linked) and afforded a decent night's sleep, soft pillows and nice bedding. One wardrobe with hanging space, shelves and safe but with one of my pet hates - hotel hangers that I do not want to steal so why have those impossible to move clips. Same in the bathroom (nice bath, good walk in shower, spotlessly clean) but another pet hate - locked in bath and shower gel dispensers. Why would we book in to hotels just to pinch the "complimentary" toiletries? Oh and instead of spoons with the tea and coffee mugs we had wooden stick stirrers! I don't want to pinch your spoons either I have my own. Did love the electric roll down black out blind though.
The courtyard seems to be the place most guests like to congregate and it is a pleasant place to have a late drink on a warm evening. However while we were there the weather was warm with intermittent showers but to continue enjoying our drink we raised the large umbrella - only to be ordered to put it down by the bar staff and told we must drink inside. Apparently brollies aren't there for the rain (they were wooden framed ones so I couldn't imagine this was a precaution in case of lightening).
Had a meal one evening during our three night stay in the Café de la Paix. Service was slow but friendly. Food ok, uninspiring, but nothing to write home about so I wont.
Reims is an easy city to walk around and has plenty of wheelchair friendly areas. The vast array of cafes and restaurants offer everything from most continents, Chinese, burgers, pasta, fish, taccos, kebabs etc but it is mostly average and hugely overpriced. L'aphrodite impressed us the most and certainly seemed to be one of the most popular.
For its location the de la Paix scores highly, but everything else is just a bit bland and soulless.

Room Tip: Privilege Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a balcony and are quieter than those overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Reddragonlady,

We read with attention your long and positive comment rated 3 points out of 5.
It seems you had a good stay in a pleasant room with a nice view even if things could have been quite better.
As you have well described it we are in the city center. As our property is Ecolabe (eco friendy) we provide sopa dispenser in room. Individual soap remain available at the reception.
I will inform the different Services of the hôtel of your feedback.

Remaining to your disposal,

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I loved the location of this hotel. Reims is a very walkable city, and this location in the center of town on a pedestrian street is great. There are tons of restaurants and bars on the street, not to mention the hotel bar which has a nice patio. My only qualms are that you have to leave your car keys at the desk, and they often move your car around in the garage. I don't know why they do this, as there are no stacked parking spots, but every time we went to get the car it was in a different spot. Also, we stayed there Bastille Day eve and there was a stage set up on the pedestrian street below us with a band playing, and crowds of people. It was VERY LOUD and went until 2 am. (We had no trouble with street noise the previous night when there was no band) The double glazing on the windows was pretty good and cut out about 75% of the noise, but it was still way too loud to sleep until it finished. When we checked out and they asked how the stay was, I said it was very loud. The person at the desk just nodded and laughed. I'd suggest that 1) hotels should warn guests when there is going to be something like that going on and 2) they should offer a complimentary late checkout when guests are kept up late by extraordinary street noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Julie S,

We thank you for leaving your feedback on Internet.
You stayed in the hotel during the Bastille Day. I'm sorry for the inconveniences you had with the event on the Place d'Erlon and for not having warned you about this. We will be more careful for the next time. Thank you for this notification such as for the nice pitures.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix

Address: 9 rue Buirette, 51100 Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reims
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#2 Business Hotel in Reims
#3 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Paix is located in the heart of Reims, in an exceptional setting. A stone’s throw away from the cathedral, our hotel is also situated near the conventioncentre and the highspeed train station.The hotel, which combines modernity and cultural heritage, has 165 comfortable, soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Reims
Best Western Reims
Reims Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.