We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need, just where you wish to be & affordable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Buirette, 51100 Reims, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Reims
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Everything you need, just where you wish to be & affordable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed two nights here during our tour of Reims and Epernay. Fantastic central location with a pedestrian ave just outside the door. The cathedral is minutes away and can be seen as you approach it down alleyways and towering over old buildings. A short walk away is the train station. The hotel is convenient, safe and comfortable. The bathrooms are gorgeous-a very nice touch, with both tub and stand up shower and separate toilet room. Our triple room was small for three, but workable, although we decided to get a second room. The triple room on the 5th floor had a fantastic view of the cathedral...and other city buildings....with windows that opened-very nice! There is a pool (surprise!) and a bar ready with cold champagne whenever you are....and an outside courtyard to enjoy the cool night or afternoon air. The front desk was wonderfully accommodating to every whim-finding chefs willing to cook vegan for me, lending an adaptor which had been forgotten-and scheduling champagne house tours. Professional and conscientious, this property is working hard to please. Of course there were a few snags, but they were all handled well and resolved efficiently. I would gladly stay here again. As to breakfast/meals-my companions ate breakfast both mornings and enjoyed it, but I could not understand why when there are so many outstanding restaurants just outside the door-for far less. Enjoy Reims! Be Sure to take a tour of Epernay as well....we did a "bubbles" day tour and it was well worth every penny.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Travellers from the US,

We really thank you for leaving your feedback and some pictures after your stay which seemed good for you in our hotel.

We wish you enjoyed the Champagne region.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    600
    124
    43
    11
See reviews for
164
667
34
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After staying in 3 hotels in Reims during the month of May, I have to say this is probably my favorite hotel in town. I stayed in this hotel over 10 days in two periods in May for business.

In my first stay, I got a room in the "old" part of the building. I loved the room! It had a separate living area with a table ideal to do some work from the hotel. The bathroom was very new with a shower and a separate bath tub. The room had a nice view of the central patio and plenty of natural light.

In the second stay (only 5 days later), I got a room in the modern part of the building. Lucky me. The window opened to the lateral view of a wall, and the natural light is very limited (window from bathroom on the left, wall on the right, and small passage to the central patio, that did not leave a lot of light). The other downside of the "modern" room is that the bathroom is tiny. In addition, it only has a shower and no bath. Probably no big deal, but when living away from home any small detail helps to make the stay better (and give five stars in tripadvisor).

The hotel has a small gym. I think it has a bike, a treadmill, one of those machines for rowing, an elliptical, and one of the machines for weight lifting. Although small, it seems to be sufficient for the hotel. I went almost everyday and I did not have any problem to use the treadmill (only a few people stopped by to use the bike). There is an indoor pool by the gym, and a sauna.

The hotel restaurant had ok food, even good if compared to the food from the surrounding restaurants, but it was way overpriced. Breakfast is varied and has plenty of choice.

I am not sure if this is normal in France but I had to take the laundry to the front desk before 9am. It was weird walking a bag with all my dirty clothes across the reception full of people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trips in Reims and for leaving your feedback after your 2 stays.
As mentionned in your comment we have several buildings. People may prefer one or another. For your next stay do not hesitate to give us your preference for the building.

We are able to take the laundry in your room. However you have to mention it so that we can take it prior 9AM in order to give it to laundry on time. Then you can get it back in the evening.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - VIncent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way home from a trip to Provence.
We booked based on the reviews on trip advisor.
The location of the hotel is excellent - however, it didn't really have any character at all. The room was of a high standard however, it had the feel of a Premier Inn (but not the price!).
There is a very nice champagne bar which was very busy (really good atmosphere and the bar staff were very attentive, spoke great English and were very friendly) - it is not cheap though.
If you want a place to stay based solely on location then book here - if you want a hotel with character don't.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our property for your stay in Reims on the way home from a trip to Provence. I have well noticed your feedback reagarding the atmosphere of the hotel which could have been better as for you. I'll also share your comment with our bar staff.

Remaining to your disposal,

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our two day stopover was enriched by our stay in this superbly comfortable and located hotel.
Staff were helpful and friendly and room was spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. Location is in the middle of city and easy walk from railway station. Highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th floor. Opening windows with nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Neil B.,

We thank you for the recommandation of our hotel following your recent stay in Reims.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we wish the way back to Australia was not too long.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked into Hotel De La Paix due to it's central position in Reims.The junior suite we had was quite comfortable with good air conditionng.Free wi-fi available.
We had reserved parking in the underground car park and found the parking spaces very narrow.When it came time to leave we couldn't get into our car and a member of staff had to move two other vehicles to enable us to gain access.
One strange thing was only having one Bathrobe and one pair of disposable slippers in the room although there were two of us.I thought they had made a mistake and checked with reception only to be told this was normal.I then said that the two of us couldn't quite fit into the one bathrobe.The joke was obviously lost on the young French receptionist.
Breakfast was the usual continental buffet,which helped us keep our weight down--no full English.
We had one evening meal in the hotel restaurant which we felt was overpriced.The Dover Sole being the size of a small Plaice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Traveller,

I would like to thank uyou for notifying us some points and inconveniences you had during your stay. I will inform the concerned persons in order to improve our services. Our staff remain at the disposal of the guests for any needs.
I wish you enjoyed your visit of the city of Reims.

Sincerely yours,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for the second time at this hotel last week and it did not disappoint. The rooms are fantastic and the bathrooms are large with excellent new fittings. Also they have a superb underground private garage which was only 12 Euros per night and has security cameras etc so you know your car will be safe.
You just have to walk out the front of the hotel and you are in the main street with countless restaurants to choose from.
The breakfast is buffet and has an excellent choice of food but we feel it was a little pricey at 14 Euros per person but that said we will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel but have breakfast in the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your loyalty and for choosing again our property.
Your kind feedback is very important for us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Best Regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For a one night stop over this hotel might be ok. I dropped my wife off whilst I had to park my car five floors down in an underground public car cark and walk 400m back to the hotel. In the meantime there was no porter available to assist my wife with our bags. To get to our room we had to get in a very small lift go up one floor walk along a corridor the enter a second lift and go up three floors to our bedroom. The bedroom was adequate with a small metal balcony overlooking a pedestrian area. Breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Hotel-de-la-Paix, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear M. David S.,

I read with attention your feedback regarding your stay in our property and we are sorry for not having reached all your expectancies.
To complete your comment here are some details about our hotel:
Our staff remain at the disposal of our guests if they request help for their luggage.
We have a parking with a limited number of car space, so we advise our guests to book a parking space prior arrival. When our parking is fully booked we advise them to park their car into the parking Buirette just opposite the hotel (30m). You probably parked your car in the parking Erlon which is 300m away.
I remain to your entire disposal if you want to send me more details about your stay (vincent.berthuit@hotel-lapaix.fr) and look forward to welcoming youagain in Reims for a more pleasant stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Paix - Vincent B. - Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix

Address: 9 rue Buirette, 51100 Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reims
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#2 Business Hotel in Reims
#3 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Paix is located in the heart of Reims, in an exceptional setting. A stone’s throw away from the cathedral, our hotel is also situated near the conventioncentre and the highspeed train station.The hotel, which combines modernity and cultural heritage, has 165 comfortable, soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Reims
Best Western Reims
Reims Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.