We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back but not for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale to your Saves list
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100 Reims, France (Hincmar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would go back but not for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in Junior suite as we have a baby. We thought it was good value at €170 excl breakfast for the suite on a Sat night. The suite has 2 separate rooms with a TV in each. Rooms look newly refurbished and very clean. Nice bathroom with separate WC. The restaurant looks good but the dinner was poor. They had a set menu and forgot to mention that the main ingredient was salt in all courses. Lady at the table next to us was of the same opinion. They gave me the wrong main course so my wife ate while I waited for the correct meal. By way of apology my main course was free in addition to both deserts and a complimentary glass of champagne each so it was swiftly and nicely resolved. Free parking around the hotel but underground is €12.
Just a few mins walk to the Cathedrale and a healthy walk to the champagne houses (of Muum anyway which is where we went). Not too far from the train station so might take the train the next time as its just 45mins on TGV from Paris.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    338
    178
    44
    33
See reviews for
146
349
47
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This newly refurbished hotel is an excellent base for exploring Reims and the Champagne vineyards. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms well furnished, excellent bathroom. Well appointed restaurant and great glasses of champagne !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message. With your permission, I transmit this notice to our team.

Hoping to see you soon in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Maxime DEZ
Responsable hébergement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A great hotel, the rooms are very smart and a good size. The bathrooms are really exceptional. Looked at the restaurant and it looked very smart and at a reasonable price (will try it next time I am here). Reception staff are very good and it’s a great location for the town. It has its own underground parking as well. ‘Will be back!’

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message which encourages us to continue our efforts.
Our hotel is completely renovated and now we have just get a new classification in the 4 stars category.
Hoping to welcome you soon in our establishment.

Sincerely.

Maxime DEZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Recently refurbished hotel, a little further form the station than I'd anticipated.
Interior was really nice.
Receptionist Anne-Sophie was brilliant, solving the one piece of my tourism jigsaw I had been unable to arrange.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here just for one night. I booked a room with a cathedral view which was located on the top floor, the room was very modern and did have a lovely view. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but this is a minor point, otherwise I was very happy with the room and the location of the hotel which seemed to be in easy walking distance from the cathedral and the town centre.

Would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Book a room with cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When on a family trip, we booked the Mercure Reims Cathedrale, just because it was centrally located and a very good deal.

All our expectations were exceeded: Despite being built with sometimes too obvious concrete blocks, the hotel has a colourful decor all in purple variations, which gives it both a warm and trendy atmosphere. The furniture is of good quality, modern and fits perfectly.

The staff at the front desk (Daniella, amongst others) were helpful, professional and made us feel almost at home. Added value: we received free bottles of water and cereal bars as a welcome gift.

The room we had was in excellent condition: no scratched wall or door, clean carpet, very nice and comfortable bed, largeTV screen. WI Fi in the room worked fine. The bathroom, though small, gave us full satisfaction.

We also dined there and were happy with the food. The restaurant staff was extremely nice, pro-actrive with our three year old child, checking our satisfaction, interacting with us in small chat.

The evening bartender was sincerely friendly, discussing family matters in a light, non intrusive nor disturbing manner. He presented the chosen Champagne sorts in a professional way and ensured our satisfaction too.

The breakfast buffet was very nice. There was a wide choice, enough to make any diet restriction, even with organic items. The staff, though nice and professional, was not as friendly as the evening staff, but we never felt like we disturbed them.

The only negative issue: the airco/heating system heated up the roomp so much we had problems falling asleep the first night. It went better the second night as we were explained that we simply needed to stop it to cool the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Address: 31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100 Reims, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Reims
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Reims Centre Cathédrale is located in the heart of the center, close to exit 24 of the A4 highway, the TGV train station, the convention center and the tourist area around the cathedral. This modern hotel offers 126 air-conditioned rooms, 12 meeting and conference rooms, a restaurant and bar and a private paying car park. We are open 24/7 to welcome guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reims Cathedrale Hotel Reims
Accor Reims Cathedrale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.