We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional rustic French food plus great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Plat du Jour

Au Plat du Jour
217 Rue Barbatre, 51100 Reims, France (Barbâtre)
0326852760
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 296 Restaurants in Reims
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Barbâtre
Description: Le restaurant "Au plat du jour" est niche entre les caves de Champagne Taittinger, Martel, Pommery et Veuve Cliquot.La cuisine est une cuisine de tradition tres marquee par l'empreinte de son Chef Jean-michel Laurent et servie avec sympathie par Noella, sa compagne.Vous trouverez ici une cuisine authentique, de qualite, realisee avec des produits selectionnes.A bientot.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Traditional rustic French food plus great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Away from the tourist trap, this was a great find. The traditional menu was presented by the helpful waitress who ensured that we understood it all. The wine was perfect. Nice atmosphere. Must return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada/UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“AMAZING - Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is an amazing little restaurant outside of the city centre with authentic french cuisine that is to die for. The food is such a pleasure to taste, and even better, the price is quite reasonable. Dinner for two with wine was less than 50 euros (including tip).

The first time we went was for dinner. I had a fantastic beef stew and my partner had a seafood dish. We both commented on how the flavours of each dishes were so enjoyable we couldn't decide who had the better meal! On our way home we stopped in for a quick lunch. I had a brie salad and my partner had a sliced deli meat dish. Simple food but so good! Probably one of the best salads I've had in a very long time.

The staff are very friendly. The food is tasty and most of the people there were locals. Hardly any tourists. It is a small restaurant so I imagine you would need to make reservations during peak periods. As it is just outside the city centre car parking is not a problem. Make sure to bring your french dictionary as the menu is entirely in french.

Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“no way to visit reims without making a stop in this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A pure traditional family restaurant, choice is width, the selection of cheese is awesome, the true french cuisine. services is friendly and warmful nothing to reproach to this place. I hope i will have a chance to go eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visited Tattinger - found this gem by accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found this resturant by accident, as we were early for a booked champagne tour.
It's a lovely little unpretentious place, that is clearly a family run establishment.
The duck was so amazing, that we returned the next day to have the same again (well, similar dish which was just as nice, as the menu changed depending on the fresh ingredients of the day - hence the name).
I am coeliac (this means no gluten), and despite our terrible lack of French, our server (the owner) was incredibly helpful in ensuring that I was offered a good range of options. She was also very patient with our Fringlish.
On our second visit, the restaurant was booked out for a large party, but we were still offered a table in the back (cozy setting) and served us in good time.
Even though she was rushed off her feet, our lovely server came out of the restaurant to wish us 'au revior' as we left.
This restaurant alone is a good reason to return to Reims.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant, good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We happened upon Au Plat du Jour by chance - and how fortunate for us. We were a large crowd - hot and hungry - and the waitress attended to us in a wonderful manner. She brought us drinks, a fan, and a great/interesting meal. We highly recommend this restaurant with a great family feel. Great food and service. Would absolutely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Plat du Jour also viewed

 

Been to Au Plat du Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Plat du Jour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.