We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull start to our Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir des Charmes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epernay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Manoir des Charmes
Save
You added Le Manoir des Charmes to your Saves list
83 Bd Charles de Gaulle, 51160 AY Epernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Epernay B&B and Inns
Gateshead
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull start to our Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at Le Manoir des Charmes, at the start of our two week holiday travelling through France.
I was looking for somewhere special and somewhat unique to start off our holiday and LMDC was absolutely wonderfull.
Our room "Paradis" had a large south facing terrace with views towards Epernay and the surrounding vineyards. The styling, layout and cleanliness of the room was very impressive.
The owners are understandably very proud of LMDC and they really make you feel at home.
Breakfast was a real treat with fresh fruits and beautiful ham, bread, cheese and of course croissants all served in a delightful breakfast room.
Summing up we would stay here again and may well do so next year, and if Trip Advisor do a Top Ten where to stay in France, then Les Manoir Des Charmes should be in it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
56
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed for two nights at this lovely B&B during a wine tour through Champagne.
This old fairy-tale shaped house is situated in Ay, a couple of minutes' drive from the center of Epernay and 20 minutes from the city of Reims. All the region's fine dining and wine touring options are within comfortable reach.
Our room, Secrete, looked in reality just as charmingly designed as it was on the website (unlike many other places). The bed was comfortable and the bath tub was large enough to accomodate more than one.
The place has a large sunny garden in which you can relax, the garden is also equipped with a coffee making spot and a small refrigerator available for the guest's use.
The real highlight of this place is the breakfast, served by Ivana - Hostess and owner. Small french bread, croissants and pain au chocolat, freshly baked on the spot by Ivana's husband, accompanied with cheese, butter, jems, etc., all as fresh as possible.
Ivana was really nice and helpful with all our needs and made us feel like friends more than like b&b guests staying for a couple.
In conclusion, if you are in the area - Le Manoir Des Charmes is a must stay in the Epernay region.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London NW7
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed here for our first night on our way to Italy. It was a wonderful start to the holiday. A very warm welcome, a good recommendation for dinner in Epernay, and a clean, comfortable room. To top it all, the breakfast was delicious - home-made croissants! Very good value.

  • Liked — The room and shower
  • Disliked — no view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

The rooms are of a high standard, but the b&b is located on a busy main road and the traffic noise is really quite bad during the day, even though it is a small town. At night we found it died down substantially though and didn't affect our sleeping too much. We were in the Songes room which is right next to the road so I wouldn't recommend that one. Also we found there was only about 5-10 mins of hot water in the shower which wasn't too impressive. Ivana the landlady is very nice although it must be said contrary to other reviews we read her English is very basic. Overall not a bad place but worth considering the busy location which is not mentioned at all on the website.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed here after reading other reviews. We were looking for a small place to stay around Epernay that would not break the bank. Le Manoir seemed to fit the bill. and we were not disappointed. When we arrived Ivana welcomed us like old friends and this welcome continued throughout our stay despite my poor French. Her English in contrast is very good.
The room 'Paradis' was clean, modern and immaculately presented, the photographs do not lie. The bathroom is not huge but large enough, with a decent tub and shower over. The toilet is separate.
The view from this first floor room and balcony is south facing over gardens towards Epernay. we spent a pleasant evening watching the sun set while sampling the local alcoholic speciality. The sense of peace and well-being will live long with me.
After a peaceful night the continental breakfast was excellent, Bread, pastries, cheese and meats, along with fresh coffee and fresh orange juice. All fresh and of a standard to disgrace many hotels.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will without doubt return the next time we are in Epernay.

  • Liked — The tranquility, the breakfast, the welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We spent two days at this lovely B&B. It is really comfy and beautiful. Breakfast is great, really delicious. It is a special place and the owner(Ivana) makes you feel at home. I Tried to speak French all the time. My husband doesn't speak French and she tried to speak English with him.,she was just lovely.
We just loved Epernay and le manoir des charmes. We had a wonderful and romantic experience there. I hope to return there.

  • Liked — the charm of your room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We have just returned from a wine tour of Champagne and Burgundy. We had a wonderful stay at this Chambre d'hôte. It is very convenient for touring the area and also walking distance to 'caves' for 'degustations' and lots of restaurants. We had a large, comforable room which was beautifully decorated and had a huge balcony overlooking the vines. Breakfast was divine with a selection of croissants, pains au chocolat, french bread, a cheese and ham plate, half a fresh pineapple, yoghurt and home made jams. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Convenient location and views
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir des Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir des Charmes

Address: 83 Bd Charles de Gaulle, 51160 AY Epernay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Des Charmes Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir des Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.