We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, elegant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Eugene to your Saves list
La Villa Eugene
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82/84 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Epernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely, elegant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Originally the home of Mercier founder Eugene, this is a charming little hotel at the top end of the elegant Avenue de Champagne, a 25 minute walk (or alternatively a 7 euro taxi drive) from the centre of town. We booked a standard room for our son and a superior one for us, 100 euros difference in the price between the two. Our room was a large street facing one with a massive marble bathroom and huge claw foot bath, beautifully and tastefully furnished. Our son's was long and narrow, but to be honest was better situated at the back of the house overlooking the garden and with the added bonus of a decked balcony. He also had a decent sized bathroom with a walk in shower, something our room lacked. If returning would book the standard room and spend the 100 euros saved per night on champagne to take home!!
Lovely little champagne bar across the courtyard in what used to be the stables, great choice of champagnes to try, although the flat screen wall mounted tv blasting out rock music was somewhat incongruous and a little off putting. Baulked at 17 euros per person for breakfast and instead walked into town and had coffee and croissants for all three of us for 15 euros in total.
Top tips:
If you like a particular champagne you try in the bar, ask the hotel staff to make an appointment for you at the cave. We liked one priced at 38.50, and came home with 24 bottles purchased for 13.50!!! Bargain!
If doing a champagne tour choose carefully; Taittinger in Reims was a real let down at 16 euros each to stand in the cave for half an hour and hear about the methode champagne but nothing of the Taittinger history, Mercier in contrast (practically next door to the hotel ) was total theatre, even included a little underground train journey, and two coupes instead of one.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff (few though there are, as per other reviews!) so do use them for hotel reservations and any other recommendations or help you need, they are friendly, helpful, polite and most importantly, efficient.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Save your money and book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    104
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
195
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this mansion-style hotel in Epernay only one night has they were sold out the others. We had rooms on the upper floor that were modern and well appointed with bleached beams on the ceiling. Bathrooms were very functional, clean and had nice amenities. The common areas, halls, and breakfast room were beautiful, crystal chandeliers, mosaic tiles and stylish furniture. It gave onto the yard and pool and you felt like you were in a private house. The only bad point is that they do not have a restaurant. It was pouring rain and we didn't feel like going out. Would have been nice to order room service or dine at hotel. It is very well situated near all champagne houses and you can just walk to go visit them.

Room Tip: Our rooms on top floor were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent two nights here in early september.
When we checked in our room was not ready so they put us in the bar with a couple of free glasses of champers. Once the room was ready its was very well appointed and stylishly decorated. The bathroom was good and the shower was hot and powerful.
Breakfast was good but is expensive but worth it.
The location of the hotel is great, it is far enough from the town center to be quiet but close enough to be able to stroll down the avenue de champane into the town center.
Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay in La Villa Eugene.
Great hotel if you are looking for something above the normal chains.
Takes 15 mins to walk to the centre of town..........but it's a pleasant walk either before or after a day of champagne tasting..............or a 6 Euro taxi ride if your feet are a little sore.
They are missing a trick not offering dinner (or even afternoon tea), but the service and surroundings cannot be faulted.
Would definitely stay here again (once the savings are replenished!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our second visit in two years to the incredible Champagne Region of France. This has to be heaven on earth. The people and their love and passion for their region and their product is undeniable. We were there during 'Vendage' - the grape harvest. So much activity and energy in the region during this time. Driving through the country and smelling the air full of grape essence is wonderful. The people are so kind and generous. This hotel is a great location to travel all around the Champagne region in just a few hours. It feels more like you are visiting family with your own special room rather than a hotel. Staff is wonderful and accomdating. They have recently added a bar where the old garage was. A nice addition. We traveled with another couple this time and they also loved it. After a long day of touring the area, visiting Champagne houses and shopping it was nice to stop by the bar and have a night-cap before we turned in. They serve beer, mixed drinks, and of course Champagne. They also offer some food - light fare. If you go to Champagne region this is the best place to stay. Prices are reasonable and the rooms (all different) are clean and very comfortable.

And a big congratulations to La Villa Eugene - they just received their 5th star to make them a 5 Star Hotel. Well deserved!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and very unique. Room #14 is our favorite, but all are a great experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The situation of the Villa is good for visiting the champagne houses nearby, but it has forgotten the the guests are the important people in the relationship between hotel and guests. Apart from the duty manager on the day we stayed the attitude of other staff need to be challenged and some retraining put in place. We have complained to the owners about the less that satisfactory stay and the response has been positive but it is important that the hotel focuses on customer satisfaction and care.
The room was comfortable and there is off road parking, there is no evening meal facility but there is a bar. There are some great places to eat in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is located on the edge of town, so if you want to walk to the Champagne Houses it is a nice stroll. The hotel seems to be a converted mansion and the rooms are quite large. The bathtub in our room was quite large and had a shower over it. The hotel is beautiful, has a heated pool and the staff is very welcoming. It seemed to be a slow weekend when we were there so they were very attentive and turned down our room and helped us make dinner reservations both nights. The breakfast was a bit overpriced its decent and the room is beautiful. Location is great and overall it is a beautiful place! I would recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Address: 82/84 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Epernay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene
La Villa Eugene Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.