We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Beautiful Boutique Hotel !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Eugene to your Saves list
La Villa Eugene
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82/84 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Epernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent, Beautiful Boutique Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

La Villa Eugene is a 5 stars Boutique Hotel with everything that you need and far more than what you expect for the price. I highly recommend it !!
Why is rated 4 stars. Probably because is run with the minimum possible staff, an excellent staff by the way.
My only critic, just one: Change the towels.
And for the rest SUPERB !!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    104
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
195
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is near the champagne houses of Epernay. (The city center is a good 20 minute walk away.) The hotel's interior is very nice - maybe a bit old-fashioned for my taste - and the rooms are comfortable with large bathroom. The breakfast (which is not included in the rooms price) is excellent and the breakfast room is very nicely decorated. I am sure guests can sit outside on the patio if the weather is nice but we were there during winter. The staff was also very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rooms and communal areas are beautiful but this hotel lacks any atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in their luxury suite, best room in the house I think, number 11, and it was beautifully decorated, a real treat. Felt more like we were in a Chateau suite in the French countryside. Lovely claw foot bath in the middle of a huge tiled bathroom, nice shower and awesome bed and sitting area in the other room. Good service, breakfast large, perhaps a little pricey but good choices. Easy parking and an easy 10 minute walk into restaurants and shops or a 7 euro taxi fare. Right next to Champagne houses, 1 to 5 minute walk. Bar was good for a drink but not enough champagne choices by the glass, considering the region it's in. A lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: No 11 for a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and i had a very relaxing 5 night stay here in August 2011.
We booked a deluxe room - which i believe is the largest room they have and we loved it. Ours was more traditional looking in design and the bathroom was amazing with a huge claw foot bath and a nice large shower.
The bed was very comfy and there was a mini fridge in the room which was useful.
We never made it to breakfast - i wish they did room service for breakfast in bed as breakfast finished at 10am and thats too early for us on holiday!
We spent a couple of afternoons by the pool which was lovely and relaxing - the pool and gardens are beautifully kept.
The hotel were not very helpful when giving restaurant recco's - but after a quick walk round Epernay we soon figured out which ones we wanted to visit.
The hotel is a good 15 min walk from the town - a little bit further than i thought. The town is very cute - a nice place to spend the afternoon wandering around the little shops.
We did the Mercier Champagne tour which is next door to the hotel and we enjoyed it very much.
We really like a bar called "Cellar C" its part of the Jean Moet hotel - we enjoyed that you could try many Champagnes by the glass - most of which were local and names that you would not normally find - they sold them all in the Cellars downstairs so we brought back some unusual bottles. The prices of the "known" brands were no better than you can find in the States so we didnt bother bringing any of those back. Cellar C also had delicious Cheese and Pate to enjoy - so yummy!
All in all we really like La Villa Eugene - its a very quiet family run place - so doesnt have all the services a big hotel has - we did appreciate the free WIfi though! I would definately reccommend it to anyone who wants to explore the Champagne region of France.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - the deluxe rooms are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were very comfortable Chambre de Luxe, clean, large, with a well decorated bathroom. Large Balcony with chairs. Would have preferred a walk-in shower instead of a pretty antique designer bath tub with an adequate shower curtain. Airconditioning and heat systems ok. With closed windows no street noise. Location 15 minutes walking distance to Epernay on the main road. Large garden on the back. Parking in Epernay no problem. Nice heated swimming pool. Water still warm in early October. Breakfast very good served in a Wintergarden or in summer outside. Service very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

But it's a nice house. Four stars I'm not sure? Don't expect anyone to greet you at the door or assist you with your bags. As other reviewers have noted there is no restaurant or meals area other than the bar which is quite nice. But we're in France so why is the TV showing American music videos when there is so much brilliant French music. The breakfast room is lovely. Staff were charming but they are few and far between. At more than 300 euros a night and at four stars guests should not have to ask for bathroom items to be replenished or "turn down" to be provided (it was offered night one not night two). It was then offered by the night manager / receptionist. As I said staff seem to be few and far between. Bedding was changed daily which is becoming a scarce service even at five star rated hotels. This lovely "home" could indeed become a very good four star hotel with some attention to the finer points of hotel management.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Address: 82/84 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Epernay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene
La Villa Eugene Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.