We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Champagne to your Saves list
Royal Champagne
Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160 Epernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were very disappointed by Royal Champagne and are unable to recommend it to anyone. We were staying in one of the rooms overlooking the valley which was lovely. It was spacious with a generous sized bed and a large shower and bath. Sadly the room was the only good part of our stay.
We felt that breakfast was very expensive for what it was and be warned to check your bill - we were charged for a champagne breakfast despite not drinking the champagne!
The main disappointment was however dinner. We booked a table for 7.30 and arrived 5 minutes before. The lounge was very busy and we were seated with a glass of champagne and a menu - so far so good. Unfortunately we were then forgotten. Everyone was seated and after 40 minutes we went to find someone to then be seated. We were the last to be seated in the main restaurant and were given the smallest table. We were then ignored again. No-one offered us water, bread, wine or took our order for another 20 minutes. When a waiter finally came over we ordered the tasting menu. It was about 5 courses which seemed about right. Sadly what we were given was approximately 10 courses and all were full size! It was a complete ordeal. The only highlights were the wine that was matched to each course and the pudding - a champagne souffle. We eventually finished our meal at 11.30 which was far too late after a long day sightseeing. All in all a very long, large and expensive meal.
When we next stay in Champagne we will choose a much smaller and friendlier hotel in either Epernay or Reims where we are not a captive audience for a ridiculous chef.
p.s. we reviewed this hotel through the hotel website and they promised the reivew would be placed on tripadvisor - no such luck!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    26
    27
    6
See reviews for
18
130
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indian in Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Perched on a hillside in the minuscule village of Champillon, an hour and a half's drive from Paris, the Royal Champagne, with a spectacular view of the vineyards and the valley,was once a favorite halt for Napoleon and his entourage.Absorb the fascination for the medieval in the rich furnishings, ornamental woodwork, antique candlesticks and carved tables. The designers have imbued the hotel's 25 rooms with the nuances of an opulent French home. The entire property can even be rented out for special occasions. There's a guest car park and a cellar that stocks more than 200 wines. You need at least a weekend here to lose yourself on canopied, cushioned beds and bronze sunsets from private balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the vineyards with private balconies are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

For travelers who want to experience the quintessential French "art de vivre" this is perhaps the place to be. It boasts a cozy atmosphere with individually decorated hotel rooms. Its lobby and restaurant are decorated with fabulous tapisteries of Arabesque motif. You are nestled right at the middle of the French gentry life. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, and helpful, and offered good advice on restaurants and sights around champagne. Out breakfast was a full feast.

This hotel is conveniently situated at Epernay which is less than 1/2 hour if drive from major houses and head quarter of Moet Chandons!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Champagne during a short stopover. The room was large with all necessary luxury amenities. Very large bathroom wich was up to date with beautiful walkin shower.
We also enjoyed a menu at the restaurant which was nice but not wow, price/quality ok.
The chef needs to experience other cuisines from collegues. Defintely work to do.
The restaurant has a very nice ambience, but it is defintely up to a refurbishing.
The souflé desert was GREAT !
Overall, we had a nice stay !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had booked our stay for September by e-mail correspondence during March 2011. We had made it known that this was a special 20th Anniversary stay. Our previous four day stay in 2007 had been perfect. We therefore had great expectations. Sadly we were disappointed.

On arrival we were offered champagne in very small glasses unlike our previous stay. Despite having booked lunch, and having been offered a celebration cake for the occasion, we were told that the restaurant was closed for lunch this Saturday. As our room was not ready, we were advised to go for lunch in Epernay. Thankfully I had only drunk a small amount of champagne, so could drive.

When we arrived back at 5pm we were shown to our pre-booked "classic" room. What a disappointment. The room was small, very hot (the temperature outside was 27 deg C). We were told that the hotel air conditioning had been turned off as it was late September. The room was in an unacceptable state of repair, with none of the luxury we had previously experienced. Two stained chairs, which would have been acceptable in a student bedsit were available to sit on adjacent to an old and unexceptional glass topped table. The bed counterpane was rather threadbare and old, and the bedside table was crudely painted white and paint-chipped. The wood floor was in need of polish and renovation. The overall effect was tired and out of keeping with a four star hotel priced at 290 euros.

I was unhappy to accept the room, although the bathroom was good. We would have had little space to celebrate our weekend, with no ability to counteract the intense heat unless we opened the window and shared the room with numerous flies hovering outside. It was difficult to determine which option was preferable. We declined the room and were upgraded at an extra cost of 120 euros to the only other room available. This room was lovely, albeit more expensive.

No-one seemed aware that we had pre-booked dinner, and needless to say the promised celebration cake had been forgotten. What a sad start to a special celebratory weekend.

At dinner we had the 70 euro taster menu. The service was very slow and the food was not to the standard we had previously experienced at the hotel.

The pre-arranged celebratory experience fell short of expectations and would have been a disaster had we not been able to upgrade to a better room. We were surprised at the tardy decoration of a classic room, which I was lead to believe, was last decorated in 2009. This I find hard to believe.

Room Tip: Avoid a classic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

It was our last night stopover having toured Europe for two months so needed to break the journey to the Chunnel and go out with a "splash ".I have booked Relais Hotels before using their book and usually expect to get a close representation of the essentials ,such as the room !. It purports to be a coaching inn/hotel with luxury French furnishings etc (see brochure ) so on arrival ,to be shown to a sattelite 70's development
owing more to a Motel design rather than Grand Hotel is a major dissappointment -yes despite the views -yes despite the big windows and terrace . For 800 euros for Dinner Bed and Breakfast I expect everything as advertised !! So if you expect continental breakfast pay 32euros each only to have it in your room - full breakfast only in the Hotel at 39 Euros ,which includes Champagne (very useful for the driver ) .I cannot forgive the duck being served overly cooked from the requested rare ,too , but we were both so tired after travelling we hadn't the energy to complain .And why do I have to pay 180 Euros for a bottle of NV Laurent Perrier Rose ,when they make it around the corner ?.No, they will not be seeing us next year .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We loved everything about this small hotel. The warm friendly staff nothing was too much trouble, thank you Odile and Annelies! The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious with huge beds and gorgeous travertine bathrooms. The views are spectacular. Walk through the vines to the nearby villages which are quaint and very special. Ask reception to book you a tour with one of the champagne houses. We ate one night in the restaurant which was superb and one night in Epernay which was a bit disappointing, but the town is fab. There was a good choice food for breakfast including champagne! Look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160 Epernay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay
Royal Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.