We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating underground tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercier

Mercier
70 avenue de Champagne, Epernay, France
03 26 51 22 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Activities in Epernay
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Group tours/train, Wine tasting, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fascinating underground tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were surprised to find this open on a Sunday in November. The audio set gives you all the information that you need about the Mercier brand, with all the history as well. The train ride was fascinating as I am sure that most people do not realise how champagne is stored. It is amazing that there is such a length of tunnels underneath a town like epernay. The tasting was fun and the shop was certainly the place to purchase a few bottles! Plenty of free parking, also close to the town so that you can walk down the Avenue de Champagne and see all the other Houses. Good choice of restaurants in town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    166
    55
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Industrial atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Mercier to have an impression of a large champagne house. We made a tour with a little train in the caves and saw a lot of bottles. We were not really impressed.
The visit at Piper was more flashy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spectacular - yes, well presented and organised - yes, reasonable value -yes, interesting - yes, but I would have loved to have seen the production facility itself as well as the cellars. The tasting was a little impersonal and it all felt like a bit of a production line compared with other visits such as the Calvados distilleries in Normandy and the Cava producers of Spain.

I emailed to book at party of 11 via Mercier's website and even received a confirmation, however when we got to the reception they said that this was just an enquiry and not a formal booking which left me a little bemused and potentailly embarrassed - they did accommodate us however and the audio guides in lots of different languages certainly enhanced the experience.

My party were really impressed with the visit having not experienced much similar before. Also note differing opening days/hours depending on the time of year.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Are you interested?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are interested in wine making and how champagne came to be, you will enjoy this tour. Do not forget though that there is a wide selection of champagne houses available, all for roughly the same price.

What I saw here will be with me forever, it definitely made me understand why Champagne is different.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“For the love of Champagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have done a number of champagne cellar tours over the years and particularly enjoyed the Mercier tour. Their new audio guide system means that each tour can be tailored to each individual; there is no waiting for an English tour. They start the tour in French, but ask if anyone does not speak French. My fiancé was the only non-French speaking person in the group, but they still catered to him. They also have audio guide information prior to going down into the cellars so the short wait in between tours is not filled with wasted time. Thankfully for the champagne, the cellars are very humid and always be same cool temperature so dress accordingly. Photography is allowed so don't leave your camera in the car. Finally enjoy the champagne and the "biscuits de Reims" !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercier also viewed

 

Been to Mercier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.