We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes to your Saves list
Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes
9 rue Jean Thevenin, 51200 Epernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Epernay B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were welcomed by our friendly hostess and offered a glass of champagne and her home cooked cheese biscuits. The bedroom was large with an open plan large shower and toilet, the latter having a curtain at the front for a degree of privacy although the other room available to book does have a separate bathroom.The lounge opened onto a decked area where we had a delicious meal prepared by Laure on the second night of our stay. Breakfast was served outside and we enjoyed hot pain au chocolat, fresh baguette and home made jams.There were nice touches like homemade biscuits and a nespresso machine. The location is perfect for the town and the champagne houses. Laure was happy to book a restaurant for us and our stay was very relaxing like staying with friends.

Room Tip: If you want a separate bathroom book the more expensive of the two rooms. The other room is large bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Laure was a fantastic host, and our stay at Les Epicuriens was the highlight of our brief trip to Champagne. We spent two nights in the Equestrian Suite, which was very spacious and fantastically decorated (especially the bathroom). We opted to have Laure prepare dinner for us on the first night, and we’d highly recommend adding that to your stay. The meal was fantastic, and we started our stay off right by drinking lots of champagne. Laure is extremely knowledgeable about winemaking and the Champagne region, and we learned lots of interesting info just chatting with her during our stay. We had a very relaxing stay and would absolutely recommend Les Epicuriens to anyone traveling to Epernay! (also, if you’re debating between staying in Epernay or Reims, we much preferred Epernay – much more charming than Reims)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at many B&B's and this is an absolute standout as below reviews indicate. Stayed for two nights. The rooms are immaculate and have a private sitting room attached. Very spacious and comfortable bed. Opens out to a lovely courtyard. The rooms cannot be faulted. The position is marvellous. 10 minutes walk from the Champagne Avenue with all that goes with that. We had no trouble parking in the street (free) just near the house. All in all an excellent establishment in a perfect position. Breakfasts were beautiful with a lot of home cooked foods.
But what makes this venue special? Put simply, Laure and her service. You are greeted with champagne and freshly baked snacks. I also read that she is willing to assist in your planning. We were tired so asked her what should we do. She recommended two restaurants which we went to and enjoyed immensely. She also drove us to a small family winery next day and gave us a tour. She is very experienced in the Champagne industry and gave us an excellent tour. It was fantastic and afterwards we had a tasting in private with one of the family owners and the tastings were very generous and we had a great time. It rained on our last night and the restaurateur kindly gave us an umbrella to walk home. Laure informed us she was about to hop in the car at 10:00 pm to come and get us when she heard us arrive home. I certainly believe her.
If you are going to Epernay I cannot see a better value experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

An amazing experience! Greeted at the door by our very friendly and kind host, Laure, we were whisked into our massive room which was easily the largest and most well equipped in our entire stay in France. Immediately after settling, we were greeted again by Laure who was bearing two lovely flutes of delicious Champagne and some fresh warm biscuits.

Following that, we took advantage of the great steam room which felt amazing and was a great way to relax the stresses of travel. We were soon ready for dinner and Laure and her husband Eric (who was also very friendly) recommended a great restaurant in town. A delicious meal paired with some great champagnes and the introduction to a French winemaker at the table next to us who recommended the perfect bottle for our meal.

Each morning started with an enormous breakfast with yogurt, warm breads and croissants, and fresh coffee and juice. There was so much food! The home was conveniently located in town, everything was in walking distance including Moet & Chandon where we took a tour the following day. Unfortunately, a lot of the other houses don't offer tours but we were able to find a couple of smaller ones that did. Following our adventures in town, we took Laure up on her offer of a tour of another Champagne house. This was only 12 euro and we highly, highly recommend doing it. She, having worked in similar places in the past, gave us an amazing tour, just for us, after driving us up into the hills to this out of the way place. We got to see and participate a bit in the production up close and personal. Then we began tasting. The pours were heavy and frequent and we walked away with 4 bottles of delicious and very reasonably priced bubbly.

My final tip, get the home cooked dinner. Yes, at 85 euro for two it is on the pricey side, but it was worth every penny. In the comfort of your own room, we sat in bathrobes and relaxed while course after course arrived, paired with, you guessed it, more champagne! The food was incredible, we need to get the recipes. Again, way too much food, but we devoured as much as we could. If you are on the fence about the meal, jump off onto the side of doing it. Awesome.

This is absolutely the place to stay in town, and it is worth making a trip out here even if it wasn't originally on your agenda. The scenery is beautiful, the town quaint but this B&B is really makes it worth the journey.

Room Tip: The room on the left as you walk in, the one with the horse theme, is the bigger of the two and I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

We had to book at the last minute. We were greeted minutes later with bubbly and savory biscuits hot from the oven.

The room - suite really - is tastefully done and a joy to relax in.

Your hosts speak great English, they made several calls for us and helped us a lot.

It's private with your own key. You feel at ease.

Delightful breakfast with homemade jam and hot baked goods.

Splendid place in town. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is probably one of the best places we stayed in France on our four week trip. Our room was spacious (with a separate sitting room),modern and clean. And if you are travelling by bicycle, yep, this is the place to be as it has a very safe place to store your bicycle overnight...not to mention the generous offer ( by our lovely hostess Lauire) to wash our clothes! In addiiton, If you want to experience some good French home-style cooking, you 'have' to eat there (Lauire is a great chef). The only cons was that the toilet was in room (no doors, just a curtain)...but, on the other hand, you can send your spouse to the sitting room while you use it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This has to be one of the best places we have stayed. From the very warm welcome complete with vintage champagne and homemade biscuits to the very clean and comfortable room we could not have asked for more. Laure, our hostess, has obviously worked very hard judging by the book of photos she showed us of the renovations and she has impeccable taste. More than that she is also a talented cook and very knowledgeable on champagne.

There is a delightful courtyard which both rooms have private access to and where she serves breakfast and dinner if it is not raining. Unfortunately for us it was so we dined upstairs in her beautifully light and spacious dining room. Her food is honest, tasty and plentiful and the choices of cheese wonderful! Whilst not cramping our space she also joined us to talk more about the house, the region and her family. Even our travelling companions who have visited the region many times learnt about different champagne houses from her.

We would not hesitate to recommend Les Epicuriens and we will return. Marc & Jacqui

Room Tip: Both rooms beautiful. 'Horse' has separate bathroom & is bigger but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes

Address: 9 rue Jean Thevenin, 51200 Epernay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of epernay, this 19th century guest house offers spacious rooms. Guests have a free access to a spa. Eachroom at "les epicuriens" has a sitting area where guests can make themselves at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Epicuriens - Chambres D'hotes Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Epicuriens - chambres d'hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.