We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place I couldn't wait to leave” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Les Aulnois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epernay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Les Aulnois
61 rue du General de Gaulle, 51530 Epernay, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Epernay B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I couldn't wait to leave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I booked a Wednesday night at this chateau during our trip to the Champagne region. We had previously stayed in Reims and Epernay and were having a lovely time. We had purchased a bottle of Dom Perignon at the Moet & Chandon cellars a few days earlier, and hoped to drink it at the chateau. So, anyway, we had discussed previously that if the owner was cooking that night, we would pay the money to eat dinner there (I forget how much she charges, it is over €100), but when we arrived the owner specifically told us that we would be going out to dinner when she gave us the key to the gate, so we guessed there was no food happening. After wandering around for a while in the tiny town, all we could find was a big supermarket/department store (sort of like a Wal Mart) a few blocks down the street. We bought some snacks and then got in the car and drove to Epernay for dinner. When we got back, the owner was cooking in the kitchen, I assume for her family as a young girl was with her. We asked if we could get an ice bucket and some flutes for the champagne we brought with us (there is a sign saying that there is a €10 charge for these things), and the owner just SNAPPED at us. She started yelling that it was "very rude" to come to someone's house and bring your own food and drinks, and that she sells champagne there and we should be buying it from her. We pointed out the sign that said she offered flutes and ice and she screamed that she only put that there "because people kept asking"! I told her we had a special bottle (I was getting the impression she thought we had gone out and purchased something cheaper than her champagne list), and she finally went away and returned to slam down two flutes on the counter. My husband and I stood there, sort of stunned that we were paying over $400 a night to stay in this place and getting berated for asking for something that she said she offered. I told my husband we could just drink the champagne later, but he persisted until she gave us ice. I don't know if she expected nothing to pass our lips between check in and check out, because there was no food offered to us at all. So anyway, it was a VERY uncomfortable stay, and I couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning. On the plus side, the house is very pretty. I get the feeling the woman who owns the place really doesn't want to share it, but has to. Perhaps if you enjoy being berated, you'll like this place more than I did.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
94
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I spent three days around France's champagne region. We stayed in the Simmone suite at the chateau, which was absolutely glorious. We felt like we had stepped back in time...the chateau and hospitality was outstanding. Each morning we woke up to a lovely home cooked breakfast, and on the Saturday night we had the four course dinner with matching champagne which our host Elisabeth cooked. It was well worth the extra cost having the dinner. It was a highlight of our trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Les Aulnois is an exquisitely renovated 18th century chateau that exudes French country charm. The owner, Elisabeth, spent four years lovingly restoring and tastefully decorating this gem of a property. We stayed in the Jeanne Charlotte room which was spacious and overlooks the lovely back, very French, garden. We appreciated the generous bathroom which is the size of some hotel rooms in Paris! As noted in some of the reviews, we found Elisabeth to be a little reserved at first, yet soon realized she is just that, a little reserved, but at the same time, an elegant and gracious host. We chose to book dinner with her and enjoyed a delicious multi-course meal complete with Champagne to complement each course. At out table were two delightful couples from Scotland whose company we enjoyed immensely. It was a perfect evening!
As a side note, I do not think Elisabeth spends much time online. It took several attempts to connect with her and book our room. However, it was worth the little effort so be patient if that is the case. To save you time on inputting your GPS, the chateau is in Pierry, a quiet village just outside Ephernay. Wifi was surprisingly good. The breakfast omelette was simple, but might be the best we have ever eaten! We highly recommend this special place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this charming hotel with our friends, and it really is a great choice for exploring the Champagne region. The rooms were well renovated with beautiful details, and the chateau had a great feeling of going back in time. Recommended for couples and friends. Btw, wlan worked well and it was for free. One suggestion for improvement is the quality of croissants as it is an essential part of French breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are going for the third time this year.

Les Aulnois is so beautiful and has all the expectations for a chateau in champagne.
Elisabeth, the owner is charming and an excellent chef with that extra touch of taste and style.
Simple (cool) and chic in a perfect combination.
Quiet and romantic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What an incredible place! I feel so lucky to have had the pleasure of staying at Les Aulnois. Elisabeth was a pleasure to meet and very helpful, letting us leave our things whilst we collected our rental vehicle. We had dinner cooked for us by Elisabeth and the food was devine! the Vollereaux Champagne is delicious and we sat in the garden and had some nibbles whilst enjoying a bottle in the sun. It was truly amazing and that garden is what dreams are made of! Thank you once again Elisabeth. hope to visit Pierry again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Situated on the outskirts of Eperney this is a magnificently renovated chateau with a lovely garden. Elisabeth is an efficient and courteous host who made us an impromptu supper and served some excellent family champagne. Our room (Claire) was more like a small suite, beautifully furnished with a very comfortable bed. Wireless Internet throughout the chateau was a bonus. Breakfast is served in the open plan kitchen, usual French fayre with an offer of freshly made omelette. Do yourself a favour and buy a few bottles of the family blanc de blanc champagne, it's so much better than the Mercier brut we sampled on the tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Les Aulnois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Aulnois

Address: 61 rue du General de Gaulle, 51530 Epernay, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau The AulnoisEnrolled in the Inventory of Historical MonumentsGuest HouseFive Rooms: accommodation 12 peopleTable GuestSeminars: 20 peopleLanguages spoken: French, EnglishPets not allowedPrivate parking Clos wallCredit cards accepted except American ExpressNo Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Aulnois Hotel Epernay
Chateau Les Aulnois Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Les Aulnois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau Les Aulnois to your Saves list