We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Restaurant with average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sardaigne

Le Sardaigne
1, place Mendes, 51200 Epernay, France
03.26.55.56.95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 Restaurants in Epernay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lively Restaurant with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We decided to eat here because the other restaurants in Epernay seemed empty and this one had a bit of a buzz about it. I had a pizza and it was probably the worst pizza I had ever eaten - so bland it was hard to know what was actually on it. Suffice to say won't go back to it but it did fill a gap when we needed something to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    87
    57
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgium
1 review
“More fast food than good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having carefully read the views of others we went to the restaurant with an open mind. Sadly the reality is quite different. I ordered a filet steak and the meat quality was poor, the pepper sauce was mass-produced. I've had worse but not for a long time. Perhaps worst of all was the pervading feeling that we were under pressure to set up and leave. All in all, a meal but not an enjoyable one.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Andouilletes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely food - I was brave and tried the andouilletes (striving for a unique experience). Only for the brave !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was pouring with rain and most restaurants in Epernay were pretty empty, so we were attracted by the fact that this restaurant was packed and buzzing. Despite this, the service was adequate and friendly. My steak hache was a little overdone but tasty and the frites were excellent. Others in the party had pasta dishes which they really enjoyed. Good house wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Canteen food: avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The giveaway is on the pizza page of the menu, which mentions an ingredient called "Pizza Cheese". I thought this had got lost in translation, but indeed, this is the synthetic cheese-subsitute which you don't even get in proper frozen pizzas these days. Another giveaway was the bottle of chilli oil on the table; a 75cl supermarket bottle of 85% rapeseed oil mixed with 15% oiive oil (it said so proudly on the lable) with chilli peppers in it...

True, the pizza is rolled out and baked in an oven. True it is sort of crispy at the edge. But the dough has nothing at all to do with any version of Italian Pizza I have encountered (and, alas, is strongly reminiscent of certain US-based chains). The real problem is the sub-discount-supermarket-own-brand-economy-label quality of the toppings, piled high on the middle of the pizza so the dough underneath was soggy when it arrived, and on closer inspection turned out to be uncooked apart from the 0,7mm on the very bottom. From the budget canned artichoke to the budget capers to the budget anchovies, all were repulsive.

There were 6 other tables within hearing distance, all occupied by British couples with severe language strain (which of course the service wasn't going to try to alleviate. Their tables were piled high with the sort of steak and chips I can't remember seeing since the bad old days of my childhood in Berni Inns (does anyone still remember them apart from me?) Now the general quality of high street eatery food in Britain has improved so immensely in the last 15 years that I can't think what they were thinking...

A repulsive aftertaste of synthetic cheese and undercooked dough.

Avoid this tourist trap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sardaigne also viewed

 

Been to Le Sardaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sardaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.