We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sardaigne

Le Sardaigne
1, place Mendes, 51200 Epernay, France
03.26.55.56.95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 58 restaurants in Epernay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
The Jersey Shore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ate here more than once on our trip, excellent pizza selection. We enjoyed eating at their outdoor tables, nice location overlooking a small plaza, parking was easy to find. Service was good as well

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    37
    67
    41
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Had a positive memory so we went back - we will not do it again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited this restaurant a second time this autumn because we remembered excellent pizzas the last time we were there. But either we have changed our taste (probably) or the restaurant have changed their standard because this time we left quite unsatisfied.

Wines were excellent and the restaurant have quite a few to choose from. But the food is really simple and bland. The main course didn't taste anything at all and the dessert (creme brulee) was cold, overcooked and a bit too simple. Overall, it feels as if the kitchen has no will to deliver anything extra. It's food to fill your belly, but nothing more than that.

The service fulfilled their duty, but didn't make us feel welcome or special. They put our food and wine on the table, albeit a bit slow. Not very friendly or professional.

The outdoor dining area is noisy but nice for people watching.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great menu with plenty of choice. The locals go here so that's usually a good indication of quality and value. Not expensive and good value delicious food. The sweets are lovely so do leave some room ;0).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

On our first night in Epernay we came across this restaurant, and after walking by several times we managed to get an outside table. It was very busy with locals and tourists, which is always a good sign. The lady who appeared to be in charge didn't appear overly friendly, but our waitress was very patient with my poor use of French. The food was pleasant, but nothing to get excited about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Value for money, prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived at 18:50 after a day's touring and tasting, were waved to a seat even though the sign said 7pm opening. Promptly at 7 the waitresses came streaming out, orders were taken, and things started buzzing.

Situated on a busy square amid half a dozen other restaurants, Le Sardaigne must be doing something right as it was full by 7:15 while others were half-empty. Two of us had the daily special, pork fillet in a pepper sauce - delicious! The others had osso buco, and were also very happy.

Serves were generous, prices were reasonable, wine list was not extensive but had plenty of choice... we were happy to go back for lunch a few days later, when we all enjoyed a plate of pasta.

Quite a casual place, plenty of outdoor seating, parking nearby and close to the railway station. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sardaigne also viewed

 
Epernay, Marne
 

Been to Le Sardaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sardaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.