We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Coquille - CLOSED

La Coquille
5 r Reims, 51200 Epernay, France
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southern California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We would have passed this restaurant by if not for Trip Advisor's ratings. We had a delightful dinner on the covered patio in back. The husband and wife team that run this restaurant do a great job. We had the lamb and the duck, which were excellent. Tried the carpaccio of smoked fish and duck confit starters and they was good as well. With a bottle of Burgundy wine, the total was 61 Euros - a fair price.

Today, fixed price menus were 19, 24 qnd 29 euros. (A lot of reviews do not quote prices, whic I believe are a big help in deternining where to go to dine.)



Definitely would go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    40
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Local yummy seafood in casual style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

La Coquille is a casual, family-run seafood restaurant which serves good food and wine at reasonable prices. Don't be dissuaded by the royal blue exterior decorations or the slightly frumpy interior. The fish and shrimp were delicious and the house white wine was extraordinarily good for a moderately priced wine. Although the owners do not speak fluent English, we had no problem using our Fren-glish and their English menu to order effectively. Note: they open at 7pm for dinner, so if you need an early dinner, this is the place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We came to this restaurant taking advise from TripAdvisor and were not disappointed by the food. The restaurant is a little dated from the outside and almost feels like you are stepping foot in a French living room. The menu is simple and offers a range of 3 course menus including all dishes which can be chosen separately. It was good value and the dishes were simply cooked and delicious. Cheese plate is slightly disappointing for a French restaurant, so I would stick with seafood and dessert (strawberry gratin is nice and fresh with a twist). We would recommend for the food. If you want to book pop in at lunchtime to make the reservation for the evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant that is inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The food was first class and not expensive. My friend said his steak was the best he has eaten and that is saying something given melbourne is renouned for our steak restaurants. The snails and duck I had were superb. If this restaurant was in a major city you would pay 3 times the price for what we had. Well worth the visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The most beautiful fresh and perfectly cooked seafood platter. Amazingly good bouillabaisse. Great service. Not what you would describe as sophisticated venue, but perfectly acceptable. Wine list a little basis, but still okay. Would recommend for the food and service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coquille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Coquille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.