We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet night but great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Table Kobus

La Table Kobus
3 rue Dr Rousseau, Epernay, France
03 26 51 53 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 60 Restaurants in Epernay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A quiet night but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

On a cold night in mid January this restauarant made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed the meals we ordered. It was rather smaller than you might think from the web-site but had a good atmosphere and some lovely old notices and signs. We took a bottle of champagne from a grower in with us and they did not charge corkage, which reduced the overall cost though the wine list is not too large to be intimidating. The cheese course was one of the best we have ever seen and the personalised lable for the box it was presented in made the evening a great success all round

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After a long day we decided to try this recommended restaurant. We really enjoyed our meal here. The food was very good with an excellent presentation. The service was good and friendly. The wine list has a good selection of wines that can please any palate. We spend about $40 per person including the drinks, desserts and coffee. which was simply outstanding value - you wouldn't have known the difference from the a-la-carte dishes. Our main criticism was the atmosphere and lighting, which felt a little characterless...but that's subjective, of course.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing, despite some great tasting food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The chestnut velouté starter was exquisite, creamy and delicious with tiny little nutty bits of chestnut, my fish main course was bland , although my husband and son both loved their steaks topped with foie gras, and the puddings were good.....so what's not to like??? The atmosphere and service: stuffy and formal with hurried, impersonal service and not a smile in sight made for a heavy, dull atmosphere. Was glad to get out: give it a miss and got to the exquisite La Grillade Gourmande instead which was sublime at every level

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good quality; excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. Good service, a wine list with plenty of variety and very good food. It's not advertised outside, but on the night they offered a 3-course menu for €19.90 which was simply outstanding value - you wouldn't have known the difference from the a-la-carte dishes. Our main criticism was the atmosphere and lighting, which felt a little characterless...but that's subjective, of course.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wouldnt recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go here after a couple of places we wanted to try were closed. We had some mixed reviews, but thought we would make our own judgement. I wish we hadn't. Even though the food was good but not great & reasonably priced the staff were disinterested and kept making mistakes. The place was quiet & had no atmosphere to the point of painful. One waiter seemed to running the show & was obviously annoyed as his incompetent & lazy comrades. There are definatley better places to eat & enjoy in Epernay

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table Kobus also viewed

 

Been to La Table Kobus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Table Kobus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.