We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical, only worth if visiting the castel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Doulce Terrasse

La Doulce Terrasse
1 rue Principale, 37510 Villandry, France
+33 02 47 50 02 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Villandry
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Practical, only worth if visiting the castel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A busy place next to castle entrance, with a terrasse.
Food is ok, service was very slow and portions smaller than standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saumur
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated right next to the Chateau at Villandry this restaurant serves very tasty fresh food, using local produce where possible, in pleasant surroundings at reasonable prices. The staff are entertaining, their service is good and the ambiance is not at all 'touristy'.

We have eaten here a number of times over the last several years and have not been disappointed once.

If wishing to dine in July or August, we recommend advance booking!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Entertaining staff and quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As part of our visit to the chateau we thought we'd break our visit by having lunch here, and we were glad we did so. The choice may be limited but it usually means the result will be properly cooked and the ingredients fresh. So it turned out. The waiters were amusing but efficient. 3 courses, a reasonable price and nice wine meant a good lunch and the energy to wander the gardens.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Not a bad effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a good restaurant for the location. If this was in the UK it would be a Pizza and Chips tourist trap but to be fair this was reasonable food. That is just it though it was fairly forgettable, compared to what we are used to now in the UK It was 3 stars at most.

I had the Iberico Ham for starters which was average, served with cheap parmesan shavings and salad. Salad was limp and lacking invention and the ham was fatty and cheap cuts.
Main meal was duck breast in a citrus sauce, duck was slightly overcooked and as a result was chewy, small portion of gratin potato, veg was fresh (yipee!! but come on, if that is the one thing you can praise a restaurant for you are in trouble).

Service was good, setting was pleasant (although it is backed between the chateau walls and the main road so take note when people say "terrace" that is what they mean.)

Overall not bad for a Restaurant in France but sadly French eating out has fell quite dramatically against the UK which is now taking the lead in quality and invention.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We ate on the terrace in the sunshine, whilst my husband and I had salads which were lovely and fresh as far as salads go, but I wanted to commend the childrens menu, although I have taken off a star because they gave me the older childs menu instead of the younger one.

My children were presented with a huge plate of fresh salads including beetroot, rasdishes, cucumber, tomatoe and egg, followed by a large piece of steamed salmon with mashed potatoe (although it was orange) in a herb sauce.They then had pancakes and a drink was included, all for 10 euros, it was a beautifull and substantial meal, I ate half of it as it was huge for a 5 year old. I would highly recommend it, it was the perfect end to a wonderful visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Doulce Terrasse also viewed

Villandry, Loire Valley
Villandry, Loire Valley
 
Villandry, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Doulce Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Doulce Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.