We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful, Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Cygne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Cygne to your Saves list
Hotel du Cygne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rue du Cygne, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Tours
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Characterful, Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I loved the du Cygne Hotel, its a properly characterful 19th Century building that creaks & groans, but is great fun. I loved the old spiral staircase & charmingly decorated bedrooms. The staff are easy going, but helpful & I liked that you could help yourself to your key rather than waiting for a receptionist to get it. Breakfast was good & there is masses of leaflets on local attractions that are useful.

Very well located for the cathedral & sights as well as bars, restaurants & bakeries. The station is a short stroll & overall I'd recommend it quite highly.

  • Liked — Characterful & charming building & decorations.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
31
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

The couple who run this hotel were charming and welcomed us warmly. The hotel itself is in a good location, next to a pedestrian only street. Five minute walk to tourist office and train station. If you are using their parking, note that it is very, very narrow - not for the faint hearted who don't like to back up while driving on the other side of the car. You have to drive on that pedestrian only road to get to the parking. Breakfast was good. Room very quiet. No lift, a spiral staircase only which was a bit difficult if you had heavy luggage and were on an upper floor. Using Trip Advisor, I was unable to get a booking, but easily booked with the city of Tours own website, which I think was ligeris.com or similar.

  • Liked — near castles of the Loire
  • Disliked — lugging suitcases up the stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

This is a fabulous little hotel in the centre of Tours just a short walk from the old town. The rooms are clean and spacious and have huge french windows that open wide and let in the lovely french sunshine! It is family run and you will be sure to see the family sat round having a meal or just chatting - all of which are extremely friendly. The hotel also has it's own garage which can be used for a small fee. We travelled all round France on our trip and this was definately the nicest hotel we stayed in, the friendliest hotel and by far the cheapest. Excellent value for money (although the bathroom didn't have a proper door on it!). The rooms are in 3 price brackets - we went for the middle one and had a nice adequate size room. Next time, for the slight extra I would go for the bigger rooms as they have higher ceilings and are much bigger. Would definately stay there again if heading back to Tours.

  • Liked — French style, friendly staff, integral garage, great location, spiral staircase!
  • Disliked — Bathroom without a proper door!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in early April 2007 on a recommendation from the latest Lonely Planet. Overall good value and pleasing stay.

The hotel is run by a husband and wife team. The wife speaks some english though I didn't get the impression that the husband did. We booked a double room with bathroom (think all or most rooms have private bathroom) through the hotel's website. Unlike a lot of smaller budget properties in France you are able to check availability online [-] and get immediate confirmation.

Hotel is in central tours near the cathedral. It is convenient to everything in town though it is a short 10 minute walk from the hotel to the main square (Place Plumereau). The hotel isn't particularly new but the rooms were clean and had character (i.e. woodwork around windows, creaking floors, etc.). We ended up with a triple room for 2 people so ours was quite comfortable and roomy. Our room did not have a view though it had big floor to ceiling windows that let in great natural light.

The hotel seemed to be mainly occupied by French speakers during our stay. I did not see many of the guests and didn't note any that were obviously American. There is breakfast in the hotel which we had one day. I believe it cost about 7.50 Euros per person. It was standard hotel fare of bread croissants, cheese, jam, butter, coffee, juice, yogurt, etc. Generally however we were headed out to wander around so grabbed breakfast from various cafes around town.

Hotel has it's own parking garage for 7 or 8 Euro per night which was nice as parking didn't seem very easy to find. On first arriving to town it was very difficult to get to the hotel (despite having printed directions) since many streets were one way or pedestrian. After about 15 minutes of trying but being stuck about a block away I gave up and walked over and was told that in order to get to the hotel one had to drive about 1/2 a block on the pedestrianized street.

One thing I will note is that the proprietors tried to overcharge me upon check out. I believe it was an honest mistake on their part and when I pointed it out it was promptly changed. Specifically they tried to charge for breakfast for all 3 days we were at the hotel as well as at a higher rate than I booked through their website. Fortunately I had the web confirmation printed out and was thus able to quickly resolve things. As I said I believe the billing error was not intentional but would recommend checking the bill closely before handing over your credit card.

Overall very pleased by the hotel and recommend it to anyone seeking a clean, welcoming budget hotel in down town Tours.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, helpful proprietor, convenient location good overall value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cygne

Address: 6 Rue du Cygne, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cygne 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Cygne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Cygne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Cygne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.