We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 nights in Tours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
Hotel Mirabeau
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Bis Bd Heurteloup, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Petach Tikva, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great 2 nights in Tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pros: very large rooms, very clean. Rooms with queen sized beds with tons of space. Classic rather than modern rooms- you feel like you're in France. Very friendly front-desk staff with excellant English- they even made some phone calls for us. Located on the east side of town, easy to get on and off the highway. Street parking not a problem after 7pm. Easy walking distance to Tours attractions. There is an elevator

Cons: Rooms are a slightly run down. No hotel parking.
My children loved this place
We didn't eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open to the street. There is no air conditioning and we were a bit uncomf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pimpamtours, Responsable réception at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Bonjour!

We thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We would like to inform you that the rooms you have been staying in will be entirely refurbished by the end of the year. The whole program is to be completed next January.

The whole team of the Hotel Mirabeau thanks you for choosing to stay with us.

With Kind Regards,

The Reception/M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    94
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
82
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the perfect example of a good one-night-stop hotel, specially when you are travelling from the north to the south, or the east to the west of France (and viceversa). I would like to state some pros and cons:
Front-desk/ reception: ice cold... not very friendly but still polite.
Rooms: are rater spacious, beds are small so if youa are big you have to sleep in two separate beds..., no fridge, no ac, small tv, bahroom was completely renewned and very modern, wifi available, no parking
Breakfast: standard, nothing out of the extraordinary but still ok, at least abundant...
Location: 20min walk to the old town, its perfect if you are just passing by or want to visit other surrounding cities and castles.
All in all I would say that there is a good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a lovely hotel this is! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was easily big enough, quiet, well-equipped and unmistakably French. The bathroom was modern and stylish with a lovely big shower (room 2 by the way). We enjoyed the breakfast: good cheese, choice of breads, nice cereal, fine coffee flowing. Good location for trains and meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked the Mirabeau based on Trip Advisor ratings and wasn't disappointed, especially for the price. It is a 2-Star and that is a fair rating. The room was clean but very basic, the bed OK and it was easy to find. In all, good value and friendly service (English speaking which was helpful) . What I did have to laugh about was that when checked in the person at the desk said with a straight face that "you have a garden view". In my mind, that brings a certain expectation so we were a bit surprised when garden view turned out to involve pushing a chair over to the window, stepping on the chair, hanging out the window and looking straight down. We were given a 3rd floor room (North American 3rd floor); 2nd floor in Europe so all we saw when just looking out the window was sky. Found it a bit odd that the toilet was in a different room than the bidet.
A kettle would have been a nice addition to the room but it seemed to be hit and miss with 2-stars we stayed in while in France on whether they were supplied or not. Street noise wasn't a problem as we were at the back side of the hotel. I can't comment on the breakfast for we had a box of cereal with us and bought fresh milk every morning. Not only did this allow us to maximize our sightseeing time (we aren't coffee drinkers) but it was also economical.

The only complaint I have was parking. It wasn't easy finding an open spot in front of the hotel, it was a bit of hit and miss. When we arrived, there was nothing and we parked quite a way down the street. As we were leaving for dinner, a spot opened up nearby so I stood in the spot while my husband went and got the car and was glad I did for several cars also spotted it. The hotel is close enough to the old town for exploring over dinner (we found a great Lebanese restaurant La Bekka).
All in all, nothing fancy but the price was reasonable and it was clean which is what is important.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel Mirabeau is located on one of the main streets in Tours in a fairly quiet section. It is conveniently located at 5-10 minutes from the town's center. The hotel is located in an historic building and the owners did a good job renovating it. Don't expect luxury or big rooms, but the rooms have the necessary conveniences (in my case, separate bathroom with tub, a LCD tv unit and free wireless access), but no AC! The rooms are clean and fitted with antique pieces of furniture. The breakfast at 8 Euros is basic but has nice breads, cereal and the other stuff that goes with a continental breakfast (note however, no hot food, except for boiled eggs). If you prefer, the breakfast room has a nice outside extension in a private small garden. The staff is friendly and speaks several languages. As a practical note, the hotel entrance closes at 10 pm so you need to make sure you bring your secret entry code to get in (or be lucky like I was to find another guest out there who happens to remember it). Overall, a nice starting point for your day trips to Tours and its beautiful surroundings as long as you don't expect too much (and given its 2-star category, you should not) and like old world charm.

Room Tip: No AC in any of the rooms, so avoid rooms that are exposed to the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our room was HUGE! It was missing a room guide and a fridge and the bed was not particularly comfortable (although there was enough beds for 5 people). It is also a bit of a walk to get to the Old Town with the good restaurants, and there are hotels closer to the train station. The two highlights were the friendly (and English-speaking) staff and the shower. The shower was clean with an excellent shower screen! The toilet is separate from the rest of the bathroom, which is something we are used to and really like (albeit housed in a room disproportionately smaller than the rest of the room). Even though it is on a main road, there was little street noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's hard to believe that this hotel is only two stars! The staff are very friendly and our room was huge and nicely decorated. We managed to sneak a peek at some of the other rooms too, and although each one is decorated differently they all seemed very big. We rarely heard any noise from the other rooms, and although the mattress was a bit too firm we slept pretty well.

The location is not bad, but it's not in the heart of the city. It's about a five minute walk to the train station and tourist information office, and maybe another five to ten minutes or so to reach the main shopping and eating streets and Old Town. If you don't mind walking, everything in Tours is accessible by foot.

Breakfast buffet was 8 euros per person and included coffee, tea, juice, croissants, pastries, cake, baguettes, rolls, bread, ham, yoghurt, fruit, boiled eggs and cereal. Not a bad selection, but we didn't eat it every day simply due to price (there are many ridiculously cheap bakeries and shops near the train station).

The room was cleaned every day, but we noticed that the security during cleaning was quite lax. We returned to our room several times to find the door wide open with no one inside or nearby for more than 15 minutes. They seem to unlock and open all the rooms and then clean them one by one, and you can see straight into all the other rooms and could easily go inside and poke around (not that we did). Nothing ever went missing though, but we realise that this might be a concern to some travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: 89 Bis Bd Heurteloup, 37000 Tours, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirabeau 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.