We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Jules

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Maison Jules to your Saves list
La Maison Jules
45 rue Jules Simon, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from our European holiday and the highlight was certainly the Loire Valley. We are so pleased we choose La Maison Jules for our accommodation and thankful we had the opportunity to meet our lovely host, Alexandra. Alexandra was an incredible help to us, from assisting us with car hire, directions to the castles (first time driving on right hand side of road), restaurants and even booking us an afternoon of horse riding in Saumur.
The house is simply stunning, renovated to the highest standards. Our room, Chambre Martin, was just beautiful. The bathroom alone was the size of most European hotel rooms, with a large bath, shower and twin basins.
We felt most at home here during our brief stay and will be recommending La Maison Jules to all of our friends and family. Congratulations to Alexandra and her family for creating such a luxurious and welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning, however if you like a bath choose Chambre Martin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
58
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this wonderful B&B by chance after some research showed that feedback for all other options in Tours are....well, not quite complimentary.

Upon booking, Alex immediately contacted us confirming the reservation and our time of arrival.

Alex welcomed us to the house – a freshly renovated 2 ½ month old B&B. A spacious salon with a fireplace, opens up into formal dining, which leads to a large terrace overlooking the garden. After Paris hotel, our room at La Mason was airy, sunny, and large even by US standards. The bathroom with a large shower , was absolutely adorable.

La Maison is located in the Tours old center, steps away from St. Martin and a short walk to everything else. Alex was not only our gracious and accommodating host, but a guide to her native city and the region, whose advise was not to be ignored. As we discussed our plan for the day over fresh coffee, local cheeses, and baguette, Alex’s suggestions were good and practical.

If you are looking for a comfortable base to explore Loire Valley castles and wineries – we would highly recommend checking out La Maison Jules.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perfectly situated near the Cathedral in Tours,this tastefully renovated 19th century home has been beautifully restored and decorated with immaculate large bedrooms and tile and marble bathrooms. Our hostess Alexandra was extremely helpful, and her restaurant recommendation was outstanding and just a 5 minute walk from La Maison Jules. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

What an amazing B&B! If you love charm, great design, a bit of luxury, and personal service this is the place for you. Alex and her family were gracious hosts in their beautiful home. Our room was gorgeous with a beautiful bathroom. Alex made excellent restaurant recommendations, some of our best meals in France! By far your best choice in Tours!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Other reviewers are right: the luxe decor of the recent renovation (so recent you can still smell fresh paint) is charming and inspirational, and Alex is a very attentive and helpful host offering lots of little welcome extras. The two-room family suite is very spacious and includes a gorgeous bathroom. The price was a bit more than our average budget, but it was worth it for a two-night luxury experience. Finding decent parking can be quite difficult in the area, but the walk to Tours Centre train station is literally 5 minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great b&b, I love the style of the house, it is beautifully decorated. Really close to everything worth seeing in Tours but also a great location to visit the area. The owner makes you feel really welcome and provides all information one might need to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My friend and I were traveling through Portugal and France and we both agreed that our favorite place was Maison Jules. This B&B has been recently and beautifully renovated; it has all of the modern conveniences while maintaining the charm of a historic and impressive home. Our hostess, Alexandra, was amazing - so friendly and welcoming. Her natural way of going above and beyond for her guests in providing information about the area, suggestions for restaurants and activities, even booking and printing train tickets made us feel like we were at a 5 star large hotel. My friend and I both joked about trying to move in permanently. I would recommend La Maison Jules to anyone touring the Loire Valley - location, charm, and service are impeccable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Martin room - beautiful bathroom and beautiful room. Lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Jules

Address: 45 rue Jules Simon, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury guesthouse, la maison jules is set in a charming 19th century mansion, with garden,in the historic heart of tours; entirely renovated the guest house offers a peaceful haven a few meters away from the train station,the cathedral and the congress centre,combining the elegance of its century and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison Jules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Jules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.