We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Chateau Tucked Away in the Lush Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de la Tortiniere

Save Saved
You added Domaine de la Tortiniere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de la Tortiniere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Route de Ballan Mire, 37250 Tours, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Tours
Clearwater, florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chateau Tucked Away in the Lush Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The 5 of us stayed at Domaine De La Toutiniere in June. We occupied 2 beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms. One was # 31 with a gorgeous view, a beautiful deck (table and chairs) and a hilly yard with wild flowers. You could see two chateaus nestled in the distant hiils. The room was spacious, really large with many windows and easy access to the grounds. The children loved to run and play. We drank our wine and ate appetizers on the pool deck chairs, while the children happily swam in the heated pool, with a lovely view of the Chateau and dining room. I can't say enough about the dining room! The ambiance was in keeping with the elegance of the Chateau, the food was delicious, the wines were great and oh, the cheese cart! I have two cheese connoisseurs in my family; they were "in heaven" both with the quality and abundance of the local cheeses and with the personality and knowledge of the server. He made it special. In fact, all the staff were outstanding and made our stay one of the highlights of our trip. As far as the location was concerned: it was a perfect setting and with GPS, we had no difficulty finding it.

Room Tip: It was quiet and peaceful with great beds and with a lot of outdoor activities for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    103
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
103
262
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

beautifully nestled in the heart of the Loire Valley... comfortable spaces and accommodating staff.. Very serene and quiet .. Breakfast was pleasant and well balanced. The swimming pool was the perfect "warmth" for me who hates cold water... Our room was furnished with a complimentary small carafe of the local Epine wine... an absolutely fabulous wine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week touring France and were lucky to have found this hotel. We had a very nice stay as the hotel is a beautiful building on a very nice property. It is outsidean industrial town, so dont expect much there. The building itself was quite nice and the staff quite accomodating, particularly the maitre'd, who was great but unfortunatley he had to do everything in the hotel. My complaints were that the property is hard to find and their directions are miserable, they need some detail. The other gripe is that i booked a turret room , thinking it would be unique. I suspect that their other rooms, like the cottages, would be nicer, but would not have the view. The turret room was a problem because the air conditioning could not cool the sleeping chamber, whch was the actual turret, which made it uncomfortable to sleep. Other than this, our stay was very nice and this was a nice property.

Room Tip: avoid the turret room in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

When I think about our staying there I take a long and deep breath. Yes, it`s a castle... similar to the movies we like to watch together.
The staff are gentle and attentive, rooms are confort, clean and filled with rich details.
The restaurant is a amazing experience, high quality food... I will never forget my gastronomic odyssey tasting several cheeses. Uou, it was amazing! #fromage
I can tell you that the time goes by slowly and you will feel alive and full of love.
Kind regards from us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my best experience, ever.
From check in to check out. It was perfect.
Nice room with an attention to details.
Great restaurant, our best meal while visiting la vallee de la loire.
Service is impeccable.
The surrounding grounds and the buildings are very nice.
Worth every dime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beside the old ‘Via Romana’ (once called the ‘White Lane’ because of its chalky stones) a story book castle rises near the banks of the River Indre at Montbazon.

It looks so much as though it has just fallen from a fairytale - that one can almost hear Rapunzel calling down from her high window! Here in the sitting room Frederick III, Emperor of Germany, signed the surrender of the town of Tours during the Franco-Prussian War (1870-71) - here Audrey Hepburn, Georges Pompidou, Gerard Depardieu and many more A-listers have whiled away pleasant hours; and here the first President of the Relais & Chateaux Chain was a redoubtable owner. (His son, Mr Xavier Olivereau, now runs the luxury hotel.)

This is Domaine de la Tortiniere (a Relais du Silence), nestling in its leafy glade just off the main road running north to Tours. Wild flowers, among them delicate white, protected specimens, abound in its park; a unique and delicious almond sherry is produced from its kitchen gardens; and its ancient tower, built by the ‘Black Falcon’, dates back to the Xth Century.

We were given the choice of one of the newer apartments across the garden, but opted for a historic room in the heart of the old castle. It was comfortable and cosy. When the dinner hour approached we headed back down to Reception and made the pleasant discovery that a covered passage, one flight of stairs below the sitting rooms, leads to a smart, well-proportioned dining hall where an efficient team waited to serve us. This is an interesting place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was our splurge (moderatly so) and worth every Euro! The main building was lovely and our room (air conditioned!) was charming. We had dinner on the terrace where the food was superb, the service top-notch, and the view unparalled!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de la Tortiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Tortiniere

Address: 10 Route de Ballan Mire, 37250 Tours, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tours
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tours
#1 Family Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Tortiniere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de La TORTINIERE is a charming Château Hotel in the heart of the Loire Valley, in a 15 acres Parc overlooking the Indre River. Wonderful place for a visit of the Loire valley Castle (between Azay le Rideau and Chenonceau, children loves it, warm welcome), nice service and delicious restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Domaine de la Tortiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Tortiniere Hotel Tours

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de la Tortiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.