We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to visit the Loire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ronsard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ronsard to your Saves list
Hotel Ronsard
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue Pimbert | (Formally Hotel Regina), 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great base to visit the Loire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Ronsard for four nights late in July 2012. The hotel is centrally located in Tours within a five minute walk from excellent food options, the Loire river, Tours cathedral, Tours castle, the main shopping district, opera house etc. No more than a ten minute walk to Tours train station. Couldn't ask for a better location.

The service at Hotel Ronsard was excellent. The manager spoke good English and was very helpful, offering suggestions of places to visit, parking, places to eat etc.

The rooms were modern and clean. Everything was comfortable and worked well, except the air-conditioning could have been more efficient because it became quite warm when sleeping overnight. No noise from outside or other rooms.

Didn't have any trouble finding street side parking when we got back from touring the country each evening, which is free after 6 pm until 9 am in the morning.

The breakfast is excellent. Continental buffet breakfast for about 9 euro from memory. This include a full baguette between two (probably the best baguette we had in France too), two croissants (excellent as well), choice of hot drink, orange juice, cereal, cheeses, spreads, fruit and yoghurt.

Rooms are relatively small and the hotel isn't packed full of features that you would expect from high class hotels. However, the hotel is very cheap and is great value for money! Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    115
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
138
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ronsard for 1 week and were delighted with the attention, comfort and friendliness of all the very hardworking staff. Our bedroom and bathroom were cleaned immaculately each day and the sheets were really crisp and clean. Breakfast was beautifully displayed and was efficiently served. We hired bicycles for 2 days and were able to keep them in the cycle store of the hotel at night. (there are onlyn2 bike hire places in Tours so I would advise reserving in advance) If you do have a car, there is on street metered parking beside the hotel and a public carpark nearby. The Hotel is centrally located between Place Plumerau and the railway station. Place Plumerau is a wonderful Square of old Tours with beautiful buildings and full of outdoor/indoor eateries/bars and should not be missed. Rue Colbert just behind the Hotel also has a wide range of restaurants and bars and is a quiter location.
We really enjoyed our time in Tours. Day 1 we went on a minibus tour from the Tourist Information centre to Chambord and Cheverny, day 2 we cycled to Villandry via Savonniere .It was a very flat aNd manageable cycle for 2 amateurs along River Cher. Day 3 we cycled along Loire and stopped off on the sandy banks (sort of a beach). However we got a puncture so make sure you have puncture repair kit supplied with your bike! Day 4 we took train to Amboise - beautiful.
The rest of our time was taken up with a family wedding. We took over 9 rooms for 2 nights in the hotel and all our family loved Hotel Ronsard - Monique even ironed shirts for the groom and best man before they left for the wedding!
Thank you Jean Noelle and Monique from Hotel Ronsard for helping to make our holiday in Loire Valley so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We did like the hotel - clean and comfortable room and bathroom, very friendly staff. We were with two bikes and there was a place to store them in the hotel at night.
The breakfast was also good - typical French breakfast.
The hotel's location is perfect - in the city center right next to the main street and at 10 minutes from the train and bus station.

My only remark concerns the bathroom's door: in or room it was all GLASS which makes you feel like you sit in the very room next to the bed... It was really embarrassing experience. I am not sure whether all the rooms were like that, however ours was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I had cycled from Saumur so after a long day sightseeing it was wonderful to have the warm welcome at Hotel Ronsard. The bike facility was next door to the hotel. The room was extremely modern and well equipped, breakfast was plentiful and the location perfect for walking the 'old Tours' and for restaurants. It is a must for anyone to stay. We were located on the ground floor opposite reception and this was perfect. Thank you to the hotel manager for a wonderful overnight stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is located about 10 minute walk from the central station in Tours. It is a little hard to find as the roads like many old European cities are not on a grid pattern. The hotel is small and run by a husband and wife team who are very friendly and of great help. Their English is limited but with some limited french I was able to communicate quite nicely. The rooms are small as is normal in European hotels but very clean. The area is very quiet. There is a restaurant row about a block away but the owners of the hotel kindly recommended a french restaurant to us and called and made reservations and even asked the restaurant to provide for our seven year old. If the rooms were a little bigger this would be 5 stars for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location of this hotel could scarcely be better. 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral and art museum, scarecely more than that to the old city and less than 10 minutes walk to the railway station. A main shopping street is also a few minutes walk away.

Our 'superior' room was clean with a reasonable bathroom and comfortable bed. It was on the 2nd floor and it may be worth noting that there is no lift. The room was small by most standards, and was air conditioned. The TV did not have any channels in English if that is important to you.

The bulding is old and the floors creak like mad, but that just adds to the authentic experience of the place. The neighbourhood is quiet. We had breakfast at the hotel which was continental style, as you would expect, and at 8.50 Euros was fair value for money. There are numerous restaurants of varying quality within a short walk.

Staff were friendly enough and spoke good English, which is always helpful if, like me, your spoken French is limited to a few basic words.

In conclusion, a good basic hotel, great location, and excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed 2 night , as base for Loire Valley trip.
Family operated , owners and staff are very very friendly . Room size are good (by French Standard) simple, but very clean and modern. We liked. Good Breakfast, Fresh french bread and croissants ,lot of dining option around (the best: Bistrot de la Tranchee, very good set menu).
Parking the in the street (pay parking during the day) . Beware, that there are no elevator, (but the Staff/owner helped with the luggages) , beside that was not a big issue for us.
For the rate , nice value hotel! High recommendable!

Room Tip: If you mind about climb to much stairs, ask for rooms in lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ronsard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ronsard

Address: 2, rue Pimbert | (Formally Hotel Regina), 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ronsard 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ronsard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ronsard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.