We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent For us Late November 3 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Rue Frederic Joliot Curie, 37000 Tours, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Harmonie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Portree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent For us Late November 3 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This wasn't our first version sit to Tours, having loved in Belgium and France in the 1970's and all the 1980's. Our latest (3 night) stay in Tours was towards rhe end of a three week touring holiday in France during November 2014. Booked a few days before we arrived The Best Western L'Artiste seemed to meet (and did) all our expectations. We left our car ( a medium sized SUV) in the hotel's basement garage and yes parking was awkward with the size of our car and its limited 4x4 steering lock was awkward but we managed it carefully with lots of assistance from the power steering! We then used public transport and lots of shanks pony to see this lovely city. Nearby chateaux of Chambord and Cheverny accessed by private minibus and guide...

Hotel room typical Best Western, nice bathroom, quiet, except that our room with its link-door (room 105) one night meant the occupant in the room next door could be heard when speaking loudly on his telephone. Noise carries through link-doors so true to get a room without one if this troubles you.

The buffet Breakfast in the hotel is very good quality and both WIFI in the hotel as well as the 24-7 availability of a desk top computer FOC in the restaurant area if needed was a plus.

Staff all very pleasant and helpful.

Once your sat nav finds the hotel in the labyrinth of Tours one way system you will be happy here and lewve your car parked up safely inside as we did whilst you are staying here, the €10 daily charge well worth it.

Finally the bedroom hospitality tray and super soft quality bathroom towels are welcome standard supply.

A good experience, a great "city-break" hotel, if that is your thing, and clearly a good business hotel as well as the tourist hotel that we needed. Well done snd thank you Best Western....!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    77
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
56
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alford, Lincs UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Just spent one night in this hotel on our return from the south of France. Really helpful reception staff and the room was clean and very comfortable. It's located very close to the city centre and restaurants are in easy walking distance.

Our only reservation is the underground car park which is very tight to get in and out of, though in fairness they do warn you about this in their booking details.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We made a reservation at the Best Western in Tours for a good night sleep in the way to Hossegor from Paris. I like Best Western for stays where I'm not looking for a luxurious place, beautiful facilities and lots of amenities, but only a decent a room, with a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom, and good (and free) wifi. That's what we found at Best Western in Tours. No surprises. Good value for our money. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

First let me say how warm and helpful the staff have been.
The two lovely young ladies who seem to be plumbers/cleaners as well as mini tour guides have been nothing short of sensational.

The location of L'Artist best western is very strategic as its near the Tours train station and the information centre (which everyone goes for the Loire Valley mini van tours from). It's cousin, just plain best western is located at the main street shopping centre which if is your preference, L'Artist might not suit you as there are little shops or restaurants open next to it at the evening.

If touring and sight seeing is your thing, then L'Artist is great not just for its location but for its warm and helpful staff.

Facilities in the room were fine - kettle, instant coffee and tea, hair dryer, etc.
Bed was comfortable.
Air con was fine.
Wifi was a slight hassle to connect if u stay there for a few days as it forces u to register every 24 hours. Doesn't take longer than 2-3 minutes but I can see how this would annoy some people.

Breakfast spread was good but would have liked some fresh fruit since we were in the Loire valley.

Otherwise, its a good place. My wife and I stayed here because my sister came 2 years ago and recommended it to my parents who in turn stayed here last April and were please with it. We too will recommend this place to others if sight seeing and ease to the train station is required.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This hotel was so much better than I expected from what I expected with the internet search...their web site doesn't do justice to the hotel. I originally only chose this hotel because it was close to the train station but kept the reservation when our plans changed and we arrived by car. Good idea! Excellent accommodations, free parking and close to excellent restaurants along with a economical price. The hotel handles a lot more people than you might imagine from the compact exterior view. The breakfast buffet is of moderate size but we witnessed and amazing efficient performance of simultaneously servicing two tour groups and individuals on the morning we were there. The staff didn't miss a beat and provided a pleasant experience for everyone. Most hotels would have had a major problem...Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Good location, within easy walking distance of restaurants and pubs. My wife and I stayed for three nights, using it as a base for touring various Chateaux. Due to my limited mobility we had a ground floor room with a wet room. Could not fault the room or shower room. Clean and immaculately presented and quiet. Breakfast was as good as you get, and all staff were very pleasant and helpful. One word of warning - if the hotel underground car park is offered, don't think of using it unless you drive a SMALL car. The entrance is narrow and very steep with a very tight turn at the bottom. I tried to get our estate car in but found it was nowhere near getting round the corner, and had a very tricky job reversing out, up a very steep narrow passageway. The gentleman on the reception desk heard of my problem and moved his car from outside the front door of the hotel, to allow me to park there. Top marks for service. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would certainly use again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Lovely central hotel in Tours. Very helpful staff. We had two children with us and we had an adjoining room. Rooms beautiful, clean. Lovely French modern décor.
Buffet breakfast, fresh bread and plenty of choice of meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit and cooked options of sausages, boiled egg, scrambled egg. Kids loved this too.
Had 4 bicycles, they accommodated them in the Hotel garage as our vehicle was too high to put in the basement garage.
Definitely recommended for a family break to Tours.

Room Tip: Adjoining en suite room if family of four is recommended. Plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel

Address: 13-15 Rue Frederic Joliot Curie, 37000 Tours, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Harmonie)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tours
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tours
#7 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Artist Hotel, ideally situated in a small, quiet road, 200m from Tours station, the Centre de Congres (Conference Centre), and the Tourist Information Office... This boutique hotel, entirely renovated in 2013, has 53 rooms. All are soundproofed and have air conditioning. To make parking easier for guests, the hotel has a private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tours
Quality Hotel Tours

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.