We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Rue Frederic Joliot Curie, 37000 Tours, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Harmonie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nicely decorated with a movie theme in all the halls. An excellent breakfast buffet buffet was available for a very reasonable price. However parking is a challenge if you have a larger rental car. Our only problem was a lack of hot water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    77
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
56
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place ,very convenient to the downtown area and the Main train Station.The rooms were a bit small but very clean and convenient.The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good.The parking was good but a little tight to get into.We had a small Nissan van but managed to get it in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a great start and ending to our Loire valley cycling tour, the rooms were clean and comfortable with air conditioning.
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the train station and main streets, the staff were always friendly and happy to help.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who showed us where we could park the car as there was no space available in the hotel garage or on the street. The first room we were given had twin beds and not the double we had booked but it was no trouble for the room to be changed - in face we moved to the room next door! We made use of the free wi-fi and at times it was slow but manageable. We were there for two nights and for the second night we were able to park in the street outside. The breakfast was very good although the coffee machine seemed slow. The walk into town for restaurants was manageable and useful to walk off a good meal. We were also pleasantly surprised how quiet it was a night. Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The bad attitude started when we arrived. Although we had arrived at the correct time, the room wasn't ready and that seemed to be a big inconvenience, not for us, but for the manageress/proprieter. When we were assigned a room, it was clearly not a twin room. In fact, it was the smallest room I've ever had to share with another person. There was only provision for one suitcase and the total wardrobe space for two people was a truncated corner cupboard. When we asked to change rooms, we were shouted at by the lady in question, the hotel was overbooked, it was impossible. All the rooms were the same, which is patently untrue, our room, for instance, did not have a minibar. This lady marched up to our room, still shouting, and demanded to know what was the problem, when I pointed out there was not enough room to hang clothes for two people, she sent up a coatrack! The knob on the truncated cupboard door was broken so that it banged off my bed during the night (the room was THAT small), when I asked for this to be fixed, I was told, yet again, that it was 'impossible' (however it was fixed two days later). When we asked for a timetable for the bus to Tours airport, we were told there was no bus (we had arrived on the bus). Luckily the tourist information office is close by. When we asked for a draft beer from the bar on the first night, it was impossible. At breakfast time, the lady was positively hostile, presumably because we had dared to ask for a change of room. Also, we were asked to fill out no paperwork on our arrival, and I discovered I was listed as a man and my friend not listed at all when I went to check out. The lady who checked us out was perfectly pleasant. Our seven nights of misery were also punctuated by a power cut. A truly dreadful, horrible experience.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice with this hotel, rather you are told in stentorian tones by the rudest ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently located close to the train station (about 150m walk).

The rooms are of a reasonable size and are clean and tidy. We asked for a quiet room, and were given one at the far end of the top floor which came with a little balcony, which was nice. However, unfortunately the location also had terrible wifi reception, so you could barely load a page without it cutting out. Down in the reception and presumably on other floors it was fast, but the entire top floor corridor was slow. They really need to install another router or repeater on the top floor.

The bathroom was fairly nice and again a reasonable size.
The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

I would recommend this hotel, but not on the top floor if you want decent wifi.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friend and I had a 1night stay in a twin room on 2nd September. The young lady on the reception desk was extrremely polite and really helpful. She provided us with a map of Tours centre, marking where the hotel is, and the tourist information office. She then marked the best area to find good restaurants, making life so much easier for us. The room was exactly as the hotel website photos. Clean, nicely decorated and well presented with comfortable beds. A lovely bathroom with shower over bath. The usual curtesy tray was in the room and more milk provided when we asked. We chose the "light" breakfast of croissant with preserves and a cuppa. We were even allowed a fruit juice , which was not strictly included in our breakfast choice. Breakfast staff were helpful and friendly. We were allowed to leave our luggage in a locked cupboard, while we explored the City, even though we had checked out. The gentleman on reception in the morning couldn't do enough to help us. If I visit Tour again I would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: we had room 108 which overlooked a flat roof and other buildings, but for one night it didn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel

Address: 13-15 Rue Frederic Joliot Curie, 37000 Tours, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Harmonie)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tours
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tours
#7 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Artist Hotel, ideally situated in a small, quiet road, 200m from Tours station, the Centre de Congres (Conference Centre), and the Tourist Information Office... This boutique hotel, entirely renovated in 2013, has 53 rooms. All are soundproofed and have air conditioning. To make parking easier for guests, the hotel has a private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tours
Quality Hotel Tours

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN L'Artist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.