We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pratical hotel with little atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tours Centre Gare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Tours Centre Gare to your Saves list
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue Edouard Vaillant, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Tours
Maastricht
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Pratical hotel with little atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a good location for those arriving by train. Yet, the hotel has nothing special to offer. Rooms are without any extra touch. Staff offers low service and the restaurant is small. Breakfast is not really great value for money. In Tours you wiil find a nicer hotel in the real city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, so you will have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    142
    84
    17
    11
See reviews for
28
127
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
653 helpful votes 653 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hello again Folks,

Please find our fair and independent review of Mercure Tours Centre Gare hotel.
If you find the review of some help, please take the time to press the helpful button at the end. Thanks.

We arrived on Friday 6th July, 2012 and found the hotel after some difficulty, as tom tom did not recognise No 29, only street number 30. As you turn left into Rue Edouard Vaillant, you see the train station on your right and drive straight down to the next traffic island. There you want to enter the service road on the right hand side, where hotel alliance is. The service road runs parallel with the main road. At the very end of the said service road, you will find Mercure Tours Centre Gare hotel.

First impressions of the hotel were that even though it is billed as City central, it must be 350 - 450 yards from the main action. We didn’t find the local area that nice and the hotel is also situated right beside the train tracks. The hotels design, colour and presence is best described as different, unappealing and perhaps drab.

That said, we arrived very early and enjoyed safe, free parking right opposite reception. The lady on reception was very welcoming and spoke great English and said that even though we arrived so early, if we could wait 20 - 30 minutes, she would have a room made ready for us. My Wife asked if we could have two coffee’s while we waited and they arrived shortly.

Sadly, the coffees ended up on the final bill.

We were allocated room 206 at a fee of 89 euros, with free parking. The room was very nice. Modern, clean, tidy. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We enjoyed tea / coffee making facilities, good a/c, a balcony and bath and shower.

Holiday Inn Hotel Alliance, The Grand Hotel and Hotel De Europe are all closer to the main centre and possible alternatives, but Im not sure how good they are ? Its was first impressions only Im afraid !

Tours I presume enjoys city status, as it is very large and busy. it’s a great place to visit with thousands of bars / restaurants. The food was great. We ate at the Continental Pub where two mains and wine came to 41 euros. Locally, two small beers averaged 6 euros.

The Municipal buildings, Cathedral and old square are beautiful. I wish that we could have stayed for more than one night and definitely recommend a visit to Tours. Wifey said that the shopping here was very good too.

Just a word of warning about the toll roads this year. All manned stations appear to be removed due to austerity measures I presume, so clients now have to pay by cash into a machine or swipe credit cards. Queues for the cash tolls were lengthy and long. I strongly recommend that you use your credit cards for all road tolls, especially during the children’s holiday period.

Thanks
Gary.

Improve vacation…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A very pleasant hotel, very central about 5 mins walk to the railway station and the main town, including the Tourist Information Office.
Breakfast was plentiful but there was not resturant on site for evening meals.
Extra tea, coffee and UHT milk was not available once you have used the supply given to you until the next day.
The rooms were clean and very presentable and the bed was large and very comfortable.
Free wifi was available at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the railway lines run along the back and can be noisy ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by our tour operator and were part of a group of 50 staying for three nights. The hotel had been refurbished and our room on the 6th floor did not disappoint. It was large, beautifully clean and very adequately furnished. The bed was also massive (two large singles pushed together). Although it is overlooking the railway there is no noise from outside. The breakfast, however, could have been a little better organised as when items ran out there was quite a long delay before they were replenished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Although booked on a deal rate for Mercure hotels, we were disappointed that room size and furniture were not to the usual standard of other Mercure hotels. Also breakfast choices were not to usual standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Room very quiet (7th floor); good breakfast.
Location allowing to walk to center town (no use of the car).
Car park just in front of the hotel
Personnel very friendly; quick answers to our questions
I will recommend this hotel to friends who want to visit the castles around

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Tours Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tours Centre Gare

Address: 29 rue Edouard Vaillant, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tours
#7 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tours Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Tours. This hotel offers a warm and cosy environment. Close to the Convention / Exhibition Centre and the train station. 92 spacious air-conditioned / sound-proofed rooms equipped with bathroom and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Tours Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tours Centre Gare Hotel Tours
Accor Tours Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tours Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.