We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loire Bed and Car

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tours
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loire Bed and Car
Save
You added Loire Bed and Car to your Saves list
86 Rue Chanzy, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours B&B and Inns
Oxford, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My daughter and I stayed with Dominique. She was our guide as well as our hostess. The tour was wonderful, breakfast delicious, room was immaculate. She made our stay feel like we're visiting a friend. A 100 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Dominique when we visited the Loire Valley in September 2012. Dominique is such a lovely welcoming host who speaks English very well.
The house is about a 15 minute walk to the station and there are shops close by. The bus stop is very close and very cheap to get up to the station or tourist office.
Dominique has only one room that she uses for the B&B, so you are the only guests, the room is lovely and bright with lots of windows looking out into the pretty walled garden. Very quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. There is a lovely modern bathroom, with everything you need.
The room is very spacious, clean and brightly decorated, with big comfy pillows.
There is a lounge which you can use to read or watch tv and there is free wifi.
Dominique prepared a lovely breakfast of pastries, bread, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice and tea/coffee, and she will cook eggs for you if you ask. Breakfast is in her lovely kitchen/dining room which looks out into the garden.
We would highly recommend staying with Dominique and her husband Michel. They made our visit to the Loire Valley very enjoyable.

Room Tip: You are the only guests, catch the bus into town, very cheap and you can get the train to a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in September, 12. The room and bathroom are clean and well furnished. The location is great for walking around town. Dominique is not just an innkeeper, she is your concierge and tour guide if you so wish. During the booking, she responded to my inquiry timely. Her English is good. During our stay, she made restaurant and tour reservations for us. She guided us how to get around and how to take bus. With her wonderful help, we were able to see and to do what we wanted within a short period of time. There is a bike shop just around the corner of her house that one can rent bikes. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. Dominique is warm and easy to talk to, especially when our French is limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This whole experience with Dominique and her husband was exceptionally good that I highly recommend to everyone. During booking, Dominique responded to every inquiry timely and her English is good. We stayed two days before going to Paris because I wanted to see Cheatau Villandry. She picked us up from TGV station, guided us how to get around town, how to take bus, made tour and restaurant reservations for us. She is more than an innkeeper! She is your concierge and tour guide should you wish. The room and bathroom are clean and nicely furnished. The location is great. The most important factor to me of this experience is Dominique herself. She is warm, very helpful and easy to talk to, especially our French are limited. She made our short stay a great joy and helped us to make the best use of our time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for six nights with three days touring the Loire Valley with Dominique the first week in September 2012.
The accommodation was very good and included a spacious bedroom, large en-suite shower room and comfortable lounge to relax in or alternatively the lovely walled garden to sit in.
We enjoyed the traditional French breakfast and Dominique was keen to ensure we had everything we needed. Well placed for easy walking access to the centre of Tours where there is a wide choice of restaurants and bars.
We can highly recommend Dominique as a chauffeur. Dominique discussed our interests and made suggestions for visits using her extensive knowledge of the area (Including wine tasting). This meant we maximised our time and visited fantastic places.
Dominique was very helpful but not intrusive and we had an excellent time. Our favourite places to visit were Chenonceau, Villiandry, Chaumont and Amboise.
We would highly recommend Loire Bed and Car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our experience with Dominique at Loire Bed and Car was a pleasure from her first email response, through her meeting us warmly at the railway station, and going on right through our stay. The accommodation was comfortable, tastefully furnished, and had the facilities we needed with a homelike atmosphere. The location was good; it was an easy stroll to the town centre, restaurants, the cathedral, markets and river. It was good to have the courtyard garden for relaxation. Dominique provided tasty French breakfasts which were very adequate and enjoyable.

We stayed four nights, with three days spent touring with Dominique. She has good local knowledge of the Loire valley and speaks very good English, (but was also very encouraging with my feeble attempts to speak French). She was very flexible with her time, so if we wanted to take a bit longer at any place we didn't feel under pressure. It was also an advantage to be "out of synch" with the tourist buses when visiting the busier sites. We found it was well worthwhile to take Dominique's advice about places to visit. Some of the less well-known (at least to us) chateaux which she recommended we found just as good as those we had previously selected. We also enjoyed the wine cave to which she took us, and our lunches at some charming, out-of-the-way little restaurants. Dominique is a really nice person and we enjoyed spending time with her.

For the excellent service which Dominique provides, we felt that we had very good value for money. Overall we both felt that the tIme we stayed in Tours was the highlight of our six weeks in Europe because of Dominique's personal touch.

Graham and Lynne, Australia

Room Tip: There is only one room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Dominique during our recent visit to the Loire Valley for our honeymoon and would highly recommend her B&B and car chauffeur service. Dominique was previously a Primary School teacher and she can speak English well.

Location
- The house is about a 10min walk from the restaurants at Place Plumereau in Tours but is further away from the Tours Railway station and tourist office. The distance did not really trouble us as Dominique fetched us almost everywhere in her car. She picked us up on the first day we stayed with her and sent us back to the train station on our day of departure.


Room
- Dominique has only one room that she uses for the B&B, hence book her early if you're keen on staying with her. The beds in the room are actually twin beds but she can convert it to a double bed if required. We had asked for a double room and did not realise we were sleeping on 2 adjoining beds until she told us; you will not feel the gap between the beds.

- Dominique has a cat Pistache but we rarely saw it and it did not bother us.

(i) Pros of the room
- Very spacious, clean and cheerfully decorated room with adjoining bathroom
- Room and bathroom are well furnished, even with books and brochures on the Loire Valley (but largely in French)
- Lounge available for personal use; TV in lounge and not in bedroom
- Wifi access available in lounge
- Room accessible by its own key, hence no need to go through the living room of the house to reach the room
- A new bottle of mineral water was given to us each day of our stay

(ii) Cons of the room
- Room is quite cold even in summer (without aircon)
- Flies from the garden sometimes enter the room through the open windows
- Wifi not accessible from the room; have to go to lounge to access Wifi
- Have to go to the corridor outside the room to use the toilet
- No safe in the room but it does not matter as one will feel at home in the house


Breakfast
- Breakfast was simple but filling, consisting of choice of bread, yoghurt, fruits, orange juice and coffee/tea. We just had to let her know the previous night what time we would like to have breakfast and what beverage we wanted.

Car chauffeur service
- We visited several chateaux over 3 days with Dominique. We had earlier decided which chateaux we wanted to visit and informed Dominique about it. However, if one needed suggestions or advice on which chateau to visit, one could discuss it with Dominique as she is knowledgeable about the chateaux in the Loire Valley.
- Dominique waited for us while we visited the chateaux, and never once complained when we sometimes took too long in the chateaux. Even when we wanted to catch the Son-et-Lumiere show at one of the castles at 1030pm, she also waited till 1120pm to fetch us back.
- She took us on routes that tour buses definitely would not have passed, while driving us around the Loire Valley. For example, she took us on a drive down the “Roman Road”, which was a cobble-stoned path built during the Roman times. She also stopped us at scenic spots to take photos of castles or the Loire River.
- We thought it was an excellent decision to make use of Dominique’s car chauffeur service as there are quite a lot of road works and closures in Tours now (as the city is building tram lines), and these road closures are not reflected on the GPS. We also did not have to contend with figuring out the sometimes confusing road signs and with finding parking. It was useful to have Dominique around, as she knew that certain parking lots only allow a short duration of parking (e.g. 4 hours) while others allow a longer parking duration. These lots are differentiated by the colours of the parking ticket machine located near the lots. If we drove alone, we definitely would not have known these and may have parked in the wrong places.


Above and beyond expectations
- As my husband and I were on our honeymoon, Dominique and her husband specially gave us a bottle of champagne, with a postcard of our favourite castle, Chenonceau. It was a really lovely gesture.
- When we needed to do our laundry, Dominique helped us to wash our clothes in her washing machine, and lent us a drying rack to hang our clothes to dry in the lounge.
- When we needed help to post some of our shopping back home, she walked with us to the post office, and helped us to translate to the lady at the counter. She really helped to facilitate the whole process.
- We once asked her casually what a brioche was, and when we could not quite imagine how it looked like, she bought us a brioche to try for breakfast the next day.

In summary, if you want to stay with a French family, with a host who can speak decent English, and have someone who knows the Loire Valley (its history, castles and its roads) well as your guide, we would highly recommend staying with Dominique. She and her husband Michel made our visit to the Loire Valley very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loire Bed and Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Bed and Car

Address: 86 Rue Chanzy, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For an easy break in the Loire Valley : B & B + transport. I offer a package including Bed and Breakfast in my own house and transport in my own car during the whole stay from your arrival in Tours up to your departure. You will decide on your own what you want to see and I will drive you around! Price: 1 day one night 300 euros for one person or two people sharing the same room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loire Bed and Car, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.