We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Tours

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de Tours to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de Tours
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Place Du Marechal-Leclerc, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old building, but good rooms…right on front of the Central station , walking distance for the best places to visit in Tours. Good price/quality relation…can be noise on Fridays and Saturdays, lot's of people walking around by night.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTours, RECEPTION at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andre Valentim,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
The Grand Hotel Tours was built in 1927 and we are proud to keep this spirit.
We are well located two steps from the station in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).
This central location can unfortunately disturbing people sensitive to noise.
Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers.
We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.
Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    114
    78
    31
    15
See reviews for
53
109
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon and were extremely disappointed with the room. We did our research and the reviews and photos online seemed like this hotel would be great, however upon arrival it was quite the opposite. The room was very outdated, unlike the photos, and did not have a warm, welcoming feel. Our view was also on the backside of the hotel facing the railway and very noisy. We were unable to be upgraded as the hotel was full and were not offered anything, even so much as an apology, for our dissatisfaction. The woman at the front desk was also very dismissive every time we spoke with her. On the plus side, the hotel is directly across from the train station which was very convenient, as well as being diagonal from the tourist center which was helpful for us to book and attend our tour of the chateaus. It is also very close to old town and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, Sales Department at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your comment.
Your reservation was made by a tour operator for a Classic room and you have assigned that kind of room. We are unfortunately not responsible for any inconvenience.
We have several types of rooms: Comfort rooms, Superior rooms, Family rooms and Suites.
As said, we were fully booked the second night and you refused our proposal to upgrade for the first night.
Thank you to indicate that our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city of Tours near the train station, restaurants and the old town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This Hotel is located in Tours center just opposite the Railway Station. Tours is one the best town that one can visit in Western France. Hotel seems to be a heritage hotel- less classy but very comfortable.All modes of ground transport is available just in front of the Hotel.Tours Cathedral which a place worth visiting is also a walking distance. Reception was very friendly. We checked in early with 4 rooms booked and they were very glad to provide us the rooms at a few minutes notice. Breakfast was very basic.

This was the first occasion for me in the breakfast that one could boil his/her own eggs.Be careful to choose your eggs since there are raw eggs as well as boiled eggs ---of course labelled but one can easily make a mistake.

Rooms were very basic without the warm water kettle but with a device where you could cook your own cup-o -noodles.

Very quiet rooms though centrally located.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd floor and above in the front facing the Railway Station Very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, RECEPTION at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you very much for your friendly comment.
That is right that the hotel is an old building built in 1927 and this is our own will to keep the style from the year 1930'.
Breakfast offer a large choice of products and our staff is still available to help you.
We hope to see again soon at The Grand Hotel.

Best regards.

Muriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We only stayed for three night's but wished it could have been longer. It was lovely, room was big and airy and the bathroomwas great. The Grand is very cerntal to everything with the train station bus station and trams right out side the front door. Everyone at the hotel were very friendly and helpfull and we enjoyed every minuret of our stay and will be staying there again as soon as we can. We loved it.

Room Tip: We has a room at the back overlooking the rooftop's. Very french. very quiet and light & ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, RECEPTION at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your friendly comment and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel.
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards.

Muriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at The Grand Hotel and enjoyed the experience.
We booked with the hotel direct and got a great rate with breakfast included.
The "comfort" room was large and the bathroom even bigger but more importantly, it was clean and the towels changed every day.
Although our room was to the front of the hotel, there was very little noise from the street which was surprising with the train station and bus stop outside.
The breakfast was good and plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, sausages, croissants, pain au chocolate, ham, cheeses ... it goes on.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful - especially the man on reception who put up with my very old "O" level French with great patience.
As other reviewers have said the location is super - within walking distance of all shops and the old town. But, as there is no restaurant (and the bar didn't appear to be open the whole time we where there) you have to go else where for food etc.. after a long day at the Chateaus it would be good not to have to go too far and all the good restaurants and bars are up towards the old town about 10mins walk away.
Overall we had a great few days and would not hesitate to return to both Tours and The Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, Réceptionniste at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Good Evening

Thank-you so much for your warm comment.
We are happy to have made ​​sure that your stay goes smoothly.
We strive to offer our customers the best products for breakfast and staff availability.
The bar is open from 18h to 23h. We also have room service available 24:00 / 24:00.
Not hesitate to spend a holiday in Tours, we would welcome you
kind regards
Gladys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Located several paces from the Gare and a stones throw from the Tourism Office, this hotel was a steal. We booked last minute, getting a great deal online for a room with two twins beds that was upgraded to a room with 2 double beds and a small living room ensuite upon arrival. Staff were helpful and friendly. Overall, we appreciated the hotel most because of the location. Being only a short walk from the downtown's attraction and so close to the Gare and Tourism Office, it was ideal for visits to the valley's Chateaux leaving from the Tourism Office.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, Réceptionniste at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
good evening
Thank you for your warm comment.
Indeed, the hotel is ideally located as it is in the city center and close excursions.
We are pleased to have contributed to make you have a good experience especially by offering upgrades when possible.
Not hesitate to spend a holiday in Tours, we would welcome you
kind regards
Gladys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This art deco hotel immediately by the station is perfectly located whether you want to explore Tours or are just passing through - everything is within easy walking distance. The room, which had been renovated, was quite small but had a good bathroom and was on the quiet side of the hotel. The staff were very helpful with storing our bikes and giving us direction. Considering the location and amenities of this hotel it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine C, réceptionniste at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
hello

Thank you for your warm comment.
It is with pleasure that we bring the best to our customer.
We are pleased to be able to help you enjoy your stay.
We'd love to see you again on a visit to Tours
kind regards
Gladys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Tours

Address: 9 Place Du Marechal-Leclerc, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel of Tours has been built in 1927 by the famous architect Maurice BOILLE and the decorator internationally Pierre Chareau. He has recently renovated, the hotel benefits of a contemporary decoration inspired of an Art Déco style of the 30’s.Ideally and strategically situated in the heart of the center of Tours, to 2 minutes walk of center Tours station of the Palais des Congrès of Vinci, Roman historical district and Cathedral which occur near to the hotel.The rooms are spacious, decorated, conditioned equipped of a TV satellite, a free access to Internet and services offered.The hotel is equipped with all the comfort to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tours
Tours Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.