We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, small, and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Arts

Hotel Des Arts
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel Des Arts
40 rue de la prefecture, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in Tours
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Clean, small, and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

For the price, especially if you're sharing the room, this hotel is a good value. It is close to the train station and has a parking lot just up the street (though you have to pay until maybe 7 pm when it becomes free overnight). It's small and quiet. It's far away from the picturesque part of town, though close to the pretty museum and cathedral. The owner did not have any maps of the city, so make sure to stop at the nearby tourism office to pick on up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Me and my brother stayed here when biking round france, we asked for a twin room in our terrible french and got booked a double which is my only complaint with the place (probably our fault anyway, who knows what we actually said). it was fully booked so we just made do as we were knackered and it was a nice place and it wasn't a problem, very quiet and clean, had a lot of charm, definitely recommend it. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel is within five minutes walk away from the Train Station. And it's also tucked neatly in the City Centre & yet, away from hustle bustle to enable u to have a good sleep in the evening. The sound insulation in between rooms is naught but there's nothing that the hotel owner can do since that it's an old building. The room contains all the basics, wi-fi and also a little balcony (for mine anyway) which enables me to open the French doors to let the fresh air & sunlight in whilst looking at humanity below me. The hotel owner is accommodating & very friendly despite her limited English. If I were to nitpick, there's hardly any power plugs in the room, which is the same for all budget hotels that I have been staying in.This is truly a hands-on hotel because when it's meal time, u can smell the food aroma sifting through the rooms. No matter how economical a chain hotel is, I would always opt to stay in organic hotels because they remind me of home away from home. Nothing is ever perfect and that's my point because at our own home, nothing ever seems to work:) Keep me grounded, I guess. Commendable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Small, "French" and good stopover location. Old style building close to historic sights in Tour. Comfortable and friendly. Good breakfast. Very inexpensive public parking (free overnight) within a few yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Hotel Des Arts was really lovely. It's nestled in a back street so it was very quiet, but only about 5 min walk from the main shopping street and about 5 min to the main train station.

It is about a 3 min walk to the Tourist Office where all the Chateau tours leave from.

The staff did not speak English, but were very helpful and friendly, and with my bad French we were able to ask for anything we needed.

Breakfast was offered daily for approx 6EU either in your room or downstairs. There are only about 10 rooms so it is very quiet here, and feels really private.

The rooms were bright and cosy, and there was free WiFi in our room, plus a TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Our double room at the rear of the hotel was very small; the bathroom was of average size with corner shower, handbasin and toilet, decorated in fresh yellow and white tiles. The bedroom in sunny colours to match, was light and airy with a large window, a small writing desk and set of drawers. High on the wall near the foot of the bed was a small TV. For those travelling light bring your own amenities such as shampoo as during our stay of two days (for two people) only 1 small sachet of shampoo, shower gel and soap were provided. At Euro50 we found it adequate, a bit too cramped for a longer stay. The reception area was not always staffed (perhaps because of out of season) however guests were issued with a pin for the entry door keypad. The hotel was very handy to the bus and railway station.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here for a week in October 2010. The hotel is well located in the centre of Tours, in a (mostly) quiet street, and it is only about 5 minutes' walk from the station - important as I wanted to visit several places by train during the week.

Madame gave me a warm welcome, and though she only speaks French we managed several conversations while I was there. The room was up a spiral staircase, a reasonable size, with a comfortable double bed and a small shower room. The decor was a bit "tired" but everything was extremely clean.

Breakfasts were good, ample and well-presented in the small breakfast area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Arts

Address: 40 rue de la prefecture, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.