We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Au Bureau

Au Bureau
2 Place Plumereau, 37000 Tours, France
0247205757
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 398 Restaurants in Tours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Less than average service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a quick lunch at Au Bureau after a stroll in the Place Plumereau districit. Service was minimum and "distracted" with our waiter after opening our bottle of wine not even asking to taste it nor pouring wine in our glasses. He seemed to be more interested at looking at people in the street than waiting tables. We wanted the plat du jour but they were already out by 12:30PM. Instead we ordered the Andouille with fries (was OK), a pizza margarita (was not edible), and a couple of hamburgers with fries (so so). We didn't order dessert given the quality of the entrees but 2 coffees which were good. However the waiter dropped my spoon when serving them and disappeared to get one but it took him 5 min to do so. By that time I already borrowed my wife's and drunk my coffee and didn't get any apology for the mishap and delay. That side of this restaurant was not too busy so not sure why took him so long. Anyway a forgettable lunch and place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    23
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Salmon with creamed Spinach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the food and service at Au Bureau was excellent, comfortable and pleasant decor simple food served well prices well and highly enjoyable reccomend it highly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quand vous avez faim, vous mangez”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I gave a couple of chances to that place. Only burger is worth your money if you are hungry. Other things not so much,such as pizza as just on the corner there are better take-away pizza's. Our friends had other things and they did not like it much either. The fast service of the food and arrive of it coldish makes us think the pizza must be prepared before and heated and so goes for the rest of the food, that's why there is not much taste there, it is very fast food like corner shop rather than a restaurant. It is also a shame that just for drinks there are not much space inside during the winter. Coffee was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice location on the main old square, food was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

One of a number of restaurant bars on the main old square. We have eaten here a couple of times over a few years.
The food and service have been ok as are the prices. The menu is also easy to read if you don't speak french.
Overall it wasn't anything 'special' but we would be more than happy to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant location, ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a late lunch here one day while walking around Tours. The restaurant is in the old town, and faces on to an attractive square (Place Plumereau). We took a table in the square, and enjoyed the view and the people-watching. The tables were a bit crowded together, but otherwise it was nice to be outdoors on a clear, sunny day. We both ordered moules-frites, since we'd worked up an appetite walking around. The food was ordinary -- nothing special, but of perfectly acceptable quality, and the prices weren't excessive.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Bureau also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Au Bureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Bureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.