We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Two-Star Value and Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moderne to your Saves list
Hotel Moderne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Et 3 Rue Victor-Laloux, 37000 Tours, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Tours
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Solid Two-Star Value and Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a good little hotel, but as a two-star it has no elevator, so if you don't like hauling bags upstairs, it is not for you. The rooms are rather dated but in a charming French sort or way, and a nice little cat in residence adds to the ambience. The rooms are clean and quite large with comfortable beds and a closet. Though the picture on this site shows a little 12 inch TV, they have upgraded to small flat screens. The staff was friendly enough, and the hotel is very conveniently located to the gare, a reasonable city parking garage, restaurants, shopping, and the historic districts of Tours. There is WiFI but it is rather dicey in the rooms; it works well in the pleasant lounge area above the reception. All in all a good value. To find anything inadequate here means you really want a three-star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
15
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small enough but quaint and they have a minibar(not too expensive) and television. Most of the TV channels are in french but the news can be changed to many languages.

The shower has plenty of hot water and there are some toiletries provided. The towels are changed regularly and the rooms are cleaned daily. It is a quirky old fashioned place.

The Asian lady Michelle is so helpful and kind. We have limited French but her English is good.
We wanted to book a restaurant and it was closed but she had called several times and even sent a fax trying to arrange it for us.

Hotel Moderne is on a quiet street but close to the train station and just around the corner is the shopping street. The area directly beside the train station seems quite run down but this hotel is two minutes walk from it and we felt completely safe(and we walked back late at night).

It is also close to the tourist office and about 5 minutes walk to Rue Colbert,where most of the restaurants are situated. The square of Place De Plumeraux is nearby(where the majority of cafe/bars are).

The only negatives I could give are:

Some of the rooms are up a narrow staircase. There are not too many steps but there is no lift if you are infirm or have heavy cases. You may be able to arrange the bottom floor if required.

I would not recommend the breakfast- at least not to be served in the room. We only had it one morning but it consisted of bread, butter and jam, a croissant each and tea and coffee. For €9 we found this a bit steep. Perhaps if you went to the breakfast room there would be more variety.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We've traveled internationally quite a bit, and i'm fine with small rooms, quirky setups, etc. There is no question that Hotel Moderne is conveniently located and it was ok for a one-night stay, but I don't think I'd make it a base for a lengthy stay. There is no parking on-site but there is a nearby pay lot. The room was pretty much ok, with an ok bed and VERY second-hand furnishings. Taking a shower (no tub) was a sobering experience. It was raised about 18 inches off the ground and while getting into it was no real problem, I almost broke my neck getting out. Seriously. Wth no handrail or anything to grab onto, and being still kinda wet from the shower, the 18-inch step-down was a fairly harrowing experience- thank goodness the sink was bolted pretty well to the wall. Bring earplugs, too. While the room was quiet at night, flushing the toilet produced an unbelievably loud, piercing screeching sound every time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the cost was reasonable. We probably would have enjoyed our neighbors' conversations more if our French were better - incredibly thin walls (thank goodness they apparently went to bed before we did because I doubt we could have heard them any better if they had been in the same room with us...). So, you probably should keep your voices down for your own privacy if you stay here. Breakfast was filling if fairly expensive. So, that's my take on the hotel - ok but nothing special with a few more negatives than positives.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I adore Hotel Moderne. I've stayed there twice. It's not fancy, it's quirky. Comfortable, clean and it has a mini-bar. Which is nice. Especially when you've been traveling all day and it's late and you just want a bottle of water. The staff is friendly and they have a cat living there, Gypsy. Anyway, the hotel isn't too far from the train station. An easy walk. I recommend this hotel. It's great for the price and its location is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Moderne, which is very conveniently placed for the station, the cathedral quarter of Tours and the shopping area, restaurants and old town. The hotel itself is very modest, the decor oldfashioned and rather dingy and our room was small, with not really enough space to put our clothes. However, everything was clean, the room was serviced every day and the proprietors were friendly and eager to help with anything we needed. Breakfasts provided more than enough to eat, but without much variety; for instance we were always given a croissant each, accompanied by a lot of bread or toast. There were oranges available but no other fresh fruit. The impression was that although one could make a hearty breakfast with what was on offer, it was not particularly good value for the 9 euros we were paying. That said, the nightly cost, the cleanliness and the location of the hotel make it very good value for younger people visiting the Loire area. I would recommend visitors to do without the breakfast and buy it instead from a stall or nearby patisserie.Parking was very difficult when we were there because roadworks caused many spaces to be unusable. The roadside parking is free after 6.30pm and between 12 and 2pm.

Room Tip: There is no lift and there are four floors. Try to get a room away from the staircase as it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor ratings.We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel. It is only two blocks from the railroad station which is nice when you are exhausted from a trip to the continent. We were visiting our daughter who was studying in Tours for the semester. The location was perfect. It was easy to get to when you are coming or going to the railroad station (5 minutes) with luggage. We generally went to Rue Colbert for dinner because that was where most of the restaurants were located. It was about a 7-10minute walk to that area. It was about the same distance to Place Plume which is where most of the bars were located. It was nice not to be too close to those areas because they are noisy at night. The owners and managers at Hotel Moderne were GREAT! They are friendly and will give you advice if you want. Breakfast which is included is from 7-11 which is nice if you go to Pace Plume! They will call you if you don't come to breakfast (amazing). The prices are great as well. We paid $112 a night for a triple. They have a cat named Gypsy who won our hearts. We wanted to take her home with us. The sheets are changed every day. There is no elevator, hence the two star status. If you don't need an elevator it is a great place to stay and a great value. We toured several Chateaus while we were there. You can arrange for this at the Tourism office which again is only two blocks from the hotel. I hope you enjoy your stay if you stay here. I felt like I was at a relative's house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Moderne both times I visited Tours, and I believe that this is the best value for money hotel in the city. This is the type of traditional hotel that you expect when visiting the smaller towns and cities in France! It is nothing flashy - the rooms are all different layouts, slightly dated (not going to find a LCD TV here), and come in a variety of pastels colors, but that is part of the fun! Despite the quirkiness, the rooms are very clean and free from any signs of major wear and tear. On top of this, the hotel is very reasonably priced (I think we paid ~115 per night for a triple) with one of the best locations in the city. It is on a side street off one of the center places in the city. Despite being in the center of town, the side street is very quiet, so you will have no problem keeping the windows open during the summer for a breeze. Finally, the best part of the hotel is the owner. She is an older Asian lady, and she does whatever possible to make sure you have a great stay. For instance, I arrived at the hotel with my friends at 10am, and we were exhausted from an early morning of traveling. Even though it was early, she allowed us to check into our room to take a nap! She will also help guide you away from the tourist areas and find the best restaurants that the locals go to! There is no other place that I would consider staying next time I visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floors. The vaulted ceilings of the top floor making the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Address: 1 Et 3 Rue Victor-Laloux, 37000 Tours, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.