We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room for France” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Cedres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Cedres to your Saves list
Hotel des Cedres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue du Marechal Foch, 45000 Orleans, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Orleans
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spacious room for France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights & we felt this hotel was pretty good value. Our room was quite large for French standards, comfortable & quiet (overlooking courtyard). Has an elevator, free parking on the street (if you can find a spot), French speaking TV, free wifi in room ( excellent reception!), renovated room (could smell fresh paint), nice bathroom with huge bath tub, heating but no air con (although we didnt need it as it rained all the time). The staff speak English & are very helpful & happy to put our drinks in their fridge. Great location, 10 minute walk to town.
Downside... One bed was very saggy & pillow uncomfortable. Don't come on Bastille day or/Sunday as everything is closed. Not much to do otherwise but if you like parks, definately visit 'Parc Floral De La Source' only 8 Klm's out to town & worth the $6 euro entry fee. A great place for kids too!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
12
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bologne, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived early (by two hours) and went into the hotel hoping that we may have access to our parking, if not the room. We had both. Not the cheeriest of welcomes, but we are used to this and were very happy with our family room, a double, two singles and a sofa. Room was warm, but windows opened. 10 minutes from the centre of Orleans, so close enough to walk with children( ours are 5 & 8) breakfast 8,50 children 4.. good pastries and coffee.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms are warm, but for a family..spacious. Quiet enough for a good nights sleep in a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxilby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel des Cedres for one night on our way back from the south of France, the hotel is a very short walk from the centre of the city with free safe parking outside. The room we booked was a family room with a double and single bed, it was clean and tidy not to spacious but adequate for our one night stay. Bathroom was good with a large walk in shower and seperate toilet. Breakfast was good with a good selection of cereals, cheeses, cold meats etc and the staff was extremly friendly indeed, throughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Caught in an in-between world from the 20/30's to the 80's but went nowhere thereafter. Wonderful lady on reception when we arrived but all went downhill from there. Bad accounting, room not prepared properly, noisy and uncomfortable, seriously overpriced breakfast by a 'Sybil Forte' and no 'Basil' – as though he had permanently gone on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Managed to get a room here (with no prior booking) on the Friday night that France knocks off for its August holidays.

Reception was very pleasant, stairs were a bit tight, but we were happy with the room. It's not the newest hotel but worked for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stopped here for one night while heading north to Calais.

The receptionist was very helpful and made us feel very welcome including directing us to the center of town. The room was great and comfortable after a long drive. We set off early the next day so didn't spend too much time in the hotel.

There were some warnings about leaving your car on the street outside, they must have had some problems so you may want to take them up on the offer of secure car parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

very well situated in a quiet street about 10 mins from centre of town . Receptionist very friendley and showed us directions of walk back into town . Nice room four beds for our family ... large bathroom . The town centre has a beautiful cathedral . main square has a statue of joan of arc ... loads of restaurants and variety shops. There is a little park just up road from hotel . Really liked this town ....... THE HOTEL HAS A SMALL BREAKFAST ROOM AND A GARDEN BUT DIDNT USE IT ... WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AS A STOPOVER EN ROUTE TO STH FRANCE !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Cedres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Cedres

Address: 17 Rue du Marechal Foch, 45000 Orleans, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Cedres 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Cedres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Cedres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Cedres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.