We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrific surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel George Sand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel George Sand to your Saves list
Hotel George Sand
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Quintefol, 37600 Loches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Loches
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a terrific surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived in Loches and went to the Tourism Office. They referred us to two hotels. We chose this one. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very friendly and spoke English. We were offered two rooms. The room we chose was 88 Euros and was magnificent! Later, when we unloaded our stuff, the new desk clerk did not speak English but was very nice. The room had double french windows which opened up onto the river, a park and soccer field across the river. Beautiful. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom, very modern with a double sink. There were stairs to climb as is typical. We loved this room & wish we could have stayed longer. We did not eat in the hotel but went down to get coffee to bring to the room in the morning. There are a variety of rooms so ask to see choices upon arrival. You can walk to the castle from here easily. Parking is in the public parking lot behind the hotel, but it's a quick walk and you can unload in front of the hotel. Of course, there are stairs to climb as there are everywhere - no elevator.

Room Tip: If the large room overlooking the river is available -- it's terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    13
    26
    11
See reviews for
11
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was prepared to like this hotel despite reviews, but they were not wrong. I arrived in reception and was ignored by an old man watching his computer, and had to find someone. Very brusque lady told me where my room was, she spoke rapidly even though she must have known my French was terrible. Parking is in a public car park, but it is near.
I had a room overlooking the river, with a beautiful view. It had a double and twin beds, but the lighting was abysmal. The double bed had good lights, but the singles had one dim lamp. No light on the desk, and a very bad Internet connection. The room was clean, but horrid greasy head marks on the wall behind the double bed, very off-putting if you wanted to sleep in it!
The toilet had stagnant pee in it, the bath tap didn't work, if I had had a bath I would have had to use the hair washing attachment to fill it. I didn't have a bath as the water was never hot enough, and I don't like lukewarm baths.
Worse, the room above had no sound insulation, I could hear everything, I could even tell if it was the man/girl using the toilet - it sounded as if they were in the same room!
I didn't have dinner, but breakfast was served in a dark room, very indifferent, bad fruit, yes, literally rotten.
I loved the staircase, but the rope bannister was DISGUSTING.
The lady who seems to be in charge should sleep in the room I had, she'd soon see why people don't like staying.
This could be a fantastic place with a little thought, for instance, serve breakfast overlooking the river, do something about the lighting, and LOSE THE ATTITUDE!

Room Tip: Don't chose mine, can't remember the number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were recommended the George Sand in Loches as a place to break our journey back to Calais. We arrived just after lunch time and parked behind hotel which looked to have a thriving restaurant with a lovely terrace view over the river. Went to explore Loches, great little town with magnificent medieval citadel. Checked into hotel when reception opened at 5.00. Great location by river and easy walk to main street. Disappointed to be told restaurant was closed for the evening, Friday! Reason seemed to be lack of custom at night, and to be fair some other restaurants were also closed that night.
Room was small, overlooking main road, but was fine, quirky interesting old building. No evening facilities in Hotel, which was in darkness when we returned after dinner.
Breakfast, ham and cheese, croissants etc. was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had read conflicting reviews about the restaurant at the George Sand hotel. We booked to have dinner there to find out for ourselves.

The setting of the restaurant’s terrace is attractive, as it overlooks the River Indrois and a small weir. We were served our drinks and nibbles fairly quickly. After that we were very pleased that there was a diversion - some ducks. After our order was taken, there was about an hour’s wait before our starter was served. We got so fed up, that we started to behave like bored children and fed our bread on the table to the ducks swimming below the terrace. They seemed to be used to being fed. We had hoped that this might prompt the staff to notice that we hadn’t been served any food.

We became so hungry in the end, that we asked our waitress, if she had forgotten our starter. Rather than apologise, she made excuses about everything being cooked to order. As we had both ordered, Coquilles St. Jacques, which take around 4 minutes to cook, we didn’t consider this to be a relevant excuse.

However, when the starters arrived, and the ducks had long flown away, having eaten all our bread, the food was excellent. For our main courses, by husband had chosen steak and I had selected the roast cod with vegetables from the 33.50 euros menu. Again, it was of a very good quality and the presentation was excellent. We counted 7 different vegetables as accompaniments to our main courses. For dessert we both opted for the ‘declination de chocolat’ and savoured every mouthful of it.

We were the last to leave the restaurant. We felt that it was a pity that the beginning of our evening had been spoilt by the abnormally long wait for our first courses and actually said this to the lady that we paid before we left.

Would we go again? Perhaps, and ensure that we took some bread in our pockets!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combloux, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A most pleasant welcome. Our room was pretty basic, overlooking the dining area and the river. The noise of the river was intense, especially as we had to have the window open with the heat. We had a good meal and worth eating there even if you do not stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel may not appeal to everyone but we like quirky places, the staff were really friendly and it is a good position to explore the town. Did not eat here but looked OK. Plenty of free parking just behind the hotel. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a back room for the view over the river but expect noise from the rushing water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely spot by the river (though it was cold and damp the day we were there). This was an emergency stop on a drive to Calais from Santander due to Brittany Ferries strike. Not wildly impressed - lots of character, with spiral stone staircase but the room was badly in need of redecoration and only one light working. The food may well have been great - the restaurant looked fine, but at 26.5 euros for fixed price dinner we looked for better value and found it in the town. We got the impression that no staff actually lived there and were fairly indifferent as to the service provided

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Address: 39 rue Quintefol, 37600 Loches, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Loches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel George Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Sand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel George Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.