We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only restaurant to be found open close to the chateau.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pont Levis

Pont Levis
12 Rue Charles VIII, 37130 Langeais, France
0247968223
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Langeais
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Genneteil, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The only restaurant to be found open close to the chateau.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very quiet Monday in March found us looking for something to eat. We found no other restaurants or bars open.
There was just one menu du jour available, but as it suited us we ate there. The food was lovely, delicious in fact, service was fine and the gentleman who seated us spoke good English. Would highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    15
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

the owners were friendly and helpful and gave us a taste of their traditional dishes to try, unlike the other restaurant owners in town who refused to serve us dinner at 9pm! The food was fresh, sophisticated but reasonably priced. The setting is unbeatable as one can have a relaxed meal whilst enjoying the best view of the Langeais castle. We recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This family run restaurant was truly special, the food was original and delicious; everything was home cooked from fresh ingredients (so excuse the wait time of approximately 45 minutes). The Chateau de Langeais across the road also provided a very atmospheric and exciting backdrop to the fantastic meal. The staff were also friendly and chatty towards tourists, which is unusual and welcome in France.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality of service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We waited one hour fourty five minutes after placing our order and still no sign of our main course although people who arrived after us were already leaving! When I politely asked the waiter about this he chose to be confrontational and would not give even an estimate as to how much longer we should wait for the pleasure of our meal. We thus chose to leave at this point - something I have never been compelled to do before.
My French is really GCSE level which I suspect didn't help but this still doesn't excuse the head waiters lack of manners. Phaps you will have a better experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

An unbelievably good family run bistro! Freshly prepared , with fresh local ingredients and great and friendly service, in an outstanding location next to the chateau. Worth a detour!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pont Levis also viewed

Langeais, Loire Valley
Langeais, Loire Valley
 
Langeais, Loire Valley
 

Been to Pont Levis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont Levis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.