We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, excellent service as a bonus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Part des Anges

La Part des Anges
5, Rue Rabelais, Chinon, France
+33 2 47 93 99 93
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Chinon
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waalre, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, excellent service as a bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wine grower in Ligré that we visit whenever in Chinon, made us aware of La Part des Anges. Although it is in business for about a year now, the restaurant was new to us. What a pleasant surprise: friendly personal service, all excellent food homemade by chef Virginie. A creative enrichment to Chinon's hospitality business, and hopefully a wake-up call to other local establishments that just float on on the basis of past performance.
We had lunch in La Part des Anges on a grey and cold weekday, there weren't that many other guests: the only reason for not giving the maximum score is that we don't know how the owners manage when the restaurant is fully booked. But we are sure they will do their utmost with a smile for their guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    54
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent and charmingly simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with my mother on June 22, 2013.
Simple menu, but excellently chosen ingredients, preparation and presentation.

We warmly recommend to anyone passing in/through Chinon.

Alain and Helene

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can see why it's number 1 here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent a couple of nights in Chinon and checked the restaurant out as it was number 1 on this site. It was mid-week so didn't have a problem getting a reservation. The choice of options of the menu was good, as was the wine list with choices of bottles, half bottles and by the glass.

The food was excellent, as was the service. I woudl definitely go here again if I'm in Chinon again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great experience- many thanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

With over 30 years travelling in France the French restaurant experience never ceases to surprise. As fairly regular visitors to Chinon ( staying in the Diderot of course ) we have tried others ( LesAnnees30 and L'oceanic are both excellent ) but this was a special experience. She in a tiny domestic kitchen ( we watched in amazement ) and he serving the food. No other waiters, no sommeliers not even a washing up assistant! Okay it was a bit of a long wait for the food ( 45 minutes ) but when it came it was worth it- exciting interesting flavours, beautiful food, great presentation, no delays between courses and above all great value for money . All with friendly service in a great casual atmosphere. They even made an effort to chat to us after the meal. If ever a restaurant deserves success this is it- I just hope they keep the formula, the prices and the atmosphere. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you want a delicious meal at a truly local french restaurant, this is the place for you. Don't expect a fancy decor (whether upstairs or downstairs) and do make a reservation as the restaurant is small and high rated. What is unbelievable is this restaurant it entirely staffed by a couple: She prepares all the wonderful food in a very small kitchen he waits on all the tables.

We arrived late due to difficulty finding parking in the area. He was helpful in directing us to alternate parking sites. Though we sat upstairs, a table was held in a full restaurant until we arrived. We were the last customers to leave, enjoying our delightful meal. The chef was busy scrubbing her kitchen to prepare for the next day. This couple run an exemplary dining establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Part des Anges also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Part des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Part des Anges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.