We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel...recommend a stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diderot

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diderot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Diderot
4 Rue de Buffon, 37500 Chinon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Chinon
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel...recommend a stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a garden room. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Location is great for town and chateau region. Breakfast was great and the Homemade jams are Excellent! Definitely recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Bonjour Leanna,
Your comment make me happy enormously, it is with pleasure that I share with my colleagues, who are working every day to make you discover the true face of France!
Thank you a thousand times for the whole team
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    104
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
94
384
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is one of those lovely hotels that really stands out from the crowd, a little gem that we will never forget. A charming old building with a lovingly tended garden for breakfasts, it is run by three siblings who look after your every need with a smile. Relax in the early evening with some lovely wine or home-made apple juice, breakfast in the sun with home-made jams that remind what jam is supposed to taste like : simple pleasures that make for a great holiday. And how good is Chinon as a base for exploring this end of the Loire? We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear John,
A big thank you for your nice comment, all Collaborators are glad you liked our old house, we are always happy to know that our customers appreciate our rooms, the garden, our jams, everything that makes us a hotel different.
Best regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I arrived at the Diderot with a group of friends and having cycled over 30 miles we were very happy to sit in the pretty garden to drink a cold beer. Everything about our stay lived up to our expectations. It was in a good position for exploring the town and there was a market in the car park at the bottom of the road in the morning on Thursday. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit salad, goats cheese with walnuts and a vast assortment of home made jams. Our room was very pretty and the new bathroom was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Cher FranSBJ
A big thank you for your nice comments encourage us all. Your small group was charming and pleasant.
We are very pleased that the atmosphere of our home is right for you, we would, in fact, that our guests feel "at home" and that, thanks to our brilliant team.

Hoping to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Diderot lived up to every one of its reviews. A beautiful friendly family run hotel. All of the staff could not have been more helpful, with advice on site seeing options every day and any other needs I.e. shopping etc. We loved the breakfasts with their beautiful home made jams, breads and croissants etc, local cheese and apple juice. The room was comfortable and very well designed and decorated and opened onto a Very pretty garden full of stunning roses. After 5 days we were sorry to leave

Room Tip: There is no lift so we requested ground floor garden access and was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Bonjour Margaret,
it's very kind of you for taking the time to write a comment on our hotel family.
True this year my garden is more beautiful than the other years, and for your next visit even more beautiful!
I am even more jams, only for food lovers!
Have a very nice day Margaret
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in three different cities in France, and I wish we could have packed up the Diderot and brought it with us to each. It was not only by far the best place we stayed on this trip, but it was also one of the best we've stayed in on our many adventures. We LOVED our room - room 9. Spacious, newly decorated (and super-cute, I might add), and a HUGE, insanely clean bathroom!!! Such a refreshing change from our digs in Paris (I'll write that review next). It's just a couple of blocks to the heart of the village of Chinon, which, by the way, we also loved. So romantic - exactly what we thought a stay in a French village would be. We toured a couple of nearby chateaux (and got engaged at Villandry!). We picked up a bottle of sparkling wine and FaceTimed our families from the Diderot's garden patio - the staff even lent us some fancy glasses to drink out of -- and were very sweet and helpful throughout our entire stay. If you can't stay at the Diderot during your stay in Chinon, reschedule your trip! This place is such a unique and special gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We LOVED our room - room 9. Spacious, newly decorated (and super-cute, I might add), and a HUGE, ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Chère Sara
I am very excited, as many good details that make your stay with us a "must".
You LOVED your room, you liked the garden, you liked the bottle of wine on the terrace, you liked the breakfast, you loved Vilandry ..... Thank you so much for all the love!
your faithfully,
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had every intention of visiting some of the many châteaus of the Loire Valley, but the next step was to determine a place to stay. After reading reviews on different websites, I booked a room at Hôtel Diderot and I have not a single regret!

Firstly, I think this hotel deserves a higher star rating. The room was cosy and the staff was most hospitable. For instance, my French is absolutely horrid but the staff at Hôtel Diderot were more than happy to assist in my château adventures which I greatly appreciated. Françoise helped with coordinating my taxi trip to Villandry by calling the taxi service and providing translation on a piece of paper. The many acts of kindness truly made my stay enjoyable.

Of course, the homemade jams and breads were wonderful. I am more than motivated to make my own jam-- just need to get started now.

Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Chère Claire,
I am proud to announce to all my team, that you had a very good stay here with us.
Of course, our pleasure is to help you, in addition to welcome you in the search of pretty things to see around you, and there's plenty more!
Do not hesitate to come back, I know all the best places around.
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great trip to the Loire Valley in May, and one of the highlights was certainly Hotel Diderot. The staff made us feel more than welcome, and the rooms were immaculate and first class, with a homestyle atmosphere as well. The breakfast was great. Fresh jams and fruit salad, goat cheese and local walnuts and honey. Very good place from which to see the Tourraine. Already looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Cher Mellodc
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our small family hotel. We very attention that everyone is a little like at home here with us!
You can go as you want, our planning for two thousand and fourteen is open!
Thank you very much and hope to welcoming you very soon here in Touraine.
Your Host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 Rue de Buffon, 37500 Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buil in the 15th century in the heart of Chinon and refurbished in the 18th century this dwelling opens a new page in the art of fine living in the Loire Valley, land of chateaux and vineyards.23 rooms made for restful nights. Breakfast served depending on the season, in the graden under the banana trees or before the lavish 15th century fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diderot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.