We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the centre of lovely town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel de France to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 / 49 Place du General De Gaulle, FR-37500 Chinon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chinon
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the centre of lovely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chinon was almost randomly selected as a place to stay on part of a tour of France and I am very glad we found it. It's a lovely small town with an interesting medieval old town, a historic castle overlooking the town and a beautiful situation on the banks of the Vienne (a major tributary of the Loire).

The hotel was selected based on reviews here and on other booking sites. It is right on the main square of the town so is excellently located to explore on food. The buildings are quite old and there are no lifts so if you have mobilities issues it might not be ideal but otherwise that adds charm. We had one of their best rooms and were not disappointed - it was spacious, well decorated in a slightly old fashioned style that felt appropriate for the building. Everything worked (never a foregone conclusion in hotels) although at one point the power to lights and sockets went out possibly due to some renovation work they are having done. This was remedied pretty quickly although perhaps without the sense of urgency some might hope for.

The service was friendly and helpful but I did not get the impression there are a lot of excess staff so things might take a little longer than some would like.

The hotel has its own parking garage to the rear for which there is an extra charge. There is also a public car park next door as well although this did seem to be full most of the time but it does obviate the need to pay the extra charge if you are very price sensitive and willing to wait for a space.

Breakfast is included in the rates which is a good thing. I get really fed up with hotels that offer low headline room rates then sting you for upwards of €15 or €20 pp for breakfast. It's a typical French buffet of breads, conserves, cheese, ham and eggs.

All in all I found this a charming place in a delightful town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
65
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Old building, pleasantly updated with a great setting overlooking the lovely town square. Glimpses of the Fortress and very easy to get to the Fortress.

Very welcoming and helpful staff, although a shame that the staff in the hotel bistrot didn't reach the same standard.

The Chapeau Rouge next to the hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of our six day tour of the Loire Valley. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room which looked out on the square was comfortable, warm and appropriately equipped. The staff were very friendly and indeed taught me some new French words which was very helpful. Next door to the hotel was a very pleasant restaurant where we enjoyed a lovely meal. THe breakfast was also very good. The hotel has a car park and it is literally yards away from the lift which takes you up to the Chinon Castle. The town of Chinon was very atmospheric and contained loads of old medieval buildings. There was also an excellent market on the day we left Chinon. Finally the hotel was very easy to find and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a good view of the square and were very quiet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a suite at the Best Western Hotel de France located on a pleasant square in Chinon. The square was quite popular with tourists and locals alike. We sat in this square on two different days while having wine and enjoying the people watching opportunities. The hotel is charming and relatively small with only 30 rooms and it is located within sight of the Chateau de Chinon which is within easy walking distance. The suite we stayed in was very attractive and comfortable and upon entering for the first time Susan said that the feel of the room was very romantic and I had to agree. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. However, we never had the opportunity to sit in the room’s quaint separated sitting area due to always being on the move to see more and more of the town and the surrounding countryside.
The first night that we stayed at the hotel we made reservations to eat at their restaurant. Upon arrival at the restaurant that evening we were guided to a very nice table and the service was excellent. We both had a pork dish that was very good. My main course was preceded by a tasty plate of escargot while Susan had a very good asparagus soup. We were both more than satisfied with our meals.
The last but point that I’ll address is the hotel parking which is located beneath the hotel on the backside of the building. The entrance to this parking area is extremely narrow and once inside the parking spaces are even tighter. The receptionist comes to the parking area and directs you as to where to park (it’s that tight). It’s a good thing to have a small car, which we didn’t have as we were driving a rather large rented Mercedes. However, the mere fact that the hotel provided parking is a plus.
I would highly recommend staying in this beautiful old town if you’re considering exploring the Loire Valley Chateaux and the Best Western Hotel de France is a good place to hang your hat for a couple of days.

Room Tip: The suites are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very charming, old hotel. The building is about 300-400 years old, but they have renovated it nicely. Be aware -- they don't seem to assign you to a room until you arrive. The higher the floor, the cheaper the rooms are. However, we were travelling with an elderly person and they had no rooms available on the lowest floor (still a walk upstairs.) The stairs can be steep and there is NO ELEVATOR.
The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and one of the better places in town to eat.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, try to secure a room on a lower floor. Though right on a square, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

staff was very friendly, breakfast OK (quick & simple), Room was small - (we ordered a less expensive room). Good location - right on a small open public square with restaurants & bars nearby. no A/C. Parking is available in the hotel (about 10 euro/night) or in nearby public lots.
Nice walking in the area around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently operated a 7 day painting holiday for 11 painters in the Loire Valley. The base for the holiday was the wonderful Hotel De France in Chinon. The hotel has a great position in the town and our rooms overlooked the quaint square. Breakfast was good as was the restaurant and the evening special menu was very good value. The staff at the Hotel de France were friendly, welcoming and very patient (their English was excellent). Rooms were very comfortable, I will return again with several groups next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

We noticed your comment left on Tripadvisor and wanted to thank you very much for so many compliments. It is always very encouraging for the receptionnists and all the staff to read that and helps them to go ahead ans satisfy our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de France

Address: 47 / 49 Place du General De Gaulle, FR-37500 Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chinon
Best Western De France
Chinon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De France Chinon, Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.