We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot de la Place

Bistrot de la Place
47,Place du General de Gaulle, 37500 Chinon, France
02 47 93 30 18
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 54 Restaurants in Chinon
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Cravant, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In terms of setting, Bistrot de la Place is in a good position. Right on the main square in Chinon. In terms of the quality, service and pricing of food - it's fine. We went a few weeks ago, after not having been for a while, and with local friends who tend to use it regularly. Came away with the same feelings as before. Just not that interesting. Our friends do like it, but we don't share the same enthusiam.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    10
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Two of us ate here and a good meal. The service and menu was very good and the waiter recommended an excellent local wine.
The atmosphere was good and the bill very reasonable. We will eat here again when we next visit Chinon.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Friendly service and food mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

But nothing to rave about. We were not allowed to have the Menu du Jour as we had arrived too late in the lunch service (just after 2pm) and were initially told we could only have one course! We must have eaten it quickly enough because then were allowed desert. The food was mixed - 2 of us had one of their specialties, a pork knuckle that was meaty and tender, with potato, and one of had one of the dishes off the days menu which was dry and had obviously seen better days. The baguette was good, the wine was good. Creme brulee was good, fruit salad was okay, and the chocolate cake with raspberry centre was barely ok. Well, not really. It was dry and bland. Coffee was good. Like I said, a mixed bag. Would probably try elsewhere next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice setting, meh food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The location and seating are adorable, but food and service are much less notable. I had the menu - food was bland and salmon was seriously overlooked. I'd recommend it for a nice place for a drink on the square, but divine your meal elsewhere.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It started off well with a friendly waiter who regardless of my poor attempt at French spoke English anyway and seated us and took our drink orders straight away. It only got worse from there. First they sent our meals to the table next to us, and when the lady said 'that isn't mine' they took our meal back and after a five minute wait we finally got our meals. The one served to the table next to us was now served to me quite obviously as the spinach was so old it was now dark and crusty on top. The food was bland and over cooked. We then waited for half an hour and still had not received our desserts. After a disgruntled look at the waiter we got our bill. They had charged us for the desserts we had ordered and hadn't received! After informing them of this there was no apology, just a 'no problem' from them when we requested that they remove the dessert from the bill. They made out like it was our problem that the dessert did not come out and we were doing them an injustice by taking them off the bill! I know we are tourists and our French is not good but surely we deserve more respect?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de la Place also viewed

 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Bistrot de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot de la Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.