We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ardoise

L'Ardoise
42, rue Rabelais, 37500 Chinon, France
02 47 58 48 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Chinon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Eskilstuna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very nice restaurant with very friendly service and food of top quality. Value for money! The food was beautifullly served on nice plates.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    19
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great experience-food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First visit to this restaurant in chinon, to be honest in previous visits to the town we have struggled to find somewhere that ticked all of the boxes. This one was perfect for us. We were with family members who had not been to France before so we wanted them to have a nice experience. This was certainly it. The ambiance is good with a lovely couple serving and cooking. Menu is varied and interesting with a 24 euro menu offering at least 6 choices for each course. We tried between us foie gras with black cherry confit, goats cheese millefeuille; and poached egg, goats cheese and parma ham for entree- all were really good.Mains of steak, duck and lamb shank were all beautifully cooked with interesting sauces. Desserts of creme brulee, berry crumble with currant sorbet, and passion fruit millefeuille with pineapple ice cream were gorgeous. Service was delightful. Like the idea of buying a bottle of wine from the rack. Ours was good at 19 euros. This was a memorable meal, especially as a first experience of France for our family. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Been twice for lunch, two year in the row. Travel nearly two hours, knowing what's waiting for my taste buds....
Value for money, you can't beat it. The food is superb, no messing around with flavours, fresh products, nice presentation, very friendly service.
Going back next year, guaranteed - cannot wait

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful and tasty experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant on our walk about town, and were delighted with the experience -- style, service, and deliciousness! Dishes were creative, prices reasonable, and overall, a memorable experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Dinner on the terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staying the the Hotel Agnes-Sorel, the hotel owner recommended this place due to the outdoor terrace on the first floor, just what we needed as it was a really hot day. We were taken to the table and the menu is on the board on the wall. At least 6-8 choices for starters and mains and they also have a formule menu for about €23.

They don't have a wine list, they can either suggest something, or you have to go downstairs and pick your bottle from the wine rack. They have a large choice of Chinon wines (obviously!) and others also. We decided to go with the waitresses suggestion of a Chinon rose wine, very good & dry. We had a starter each and decided to share the cote de boeuf priced at €42 per kg it was cooked medium which was how we asked it to be done. We had a decent meal, good portions and it was reasonably priced. They were busy but the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ardoise also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Ardoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ardoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.