We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ardoise

L'Ardoise
42, rue Rabelais, 37500 Chinon, France
02 47 58 48 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 52 restaurants in Chinon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Exeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Been twice for lunch, two year in the row. Travel nearly two hours, knowing what's waiting for my taste buds....
Value for money, you can't beat it. The food is superb, no messing around with flavours, fresh products, nice presentation, very friendly service.
Going back next year, guaranteed - cannot wait

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    57
    45
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful and tasty experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant on our walk about town, and were delighted with the experience -- style, service, and deliciousness! Dishes were creative, prices reasonable, and overall, a memorable experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dinner on the terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staying the the Hotel Agnes-Sorel, the hotel owner recommended this place due to the outdoor terrace on the first floor, just what we needed as it was a really hot day. We were taken to the table and the menu is on the board on the wall. At least 6-8 choices for starters and mains and they also have a formule menu for about €23.

They don't have a wine list, they can either suggest something, or you have to go downstairs and pick your bottle from the wine rack. They have a large choice of Chinon wines (obviously!) and others also. We decided to go with the waitresses suggestion of a Chinon rose wine, very good & dry. We had a starter each and decided to share the cote de boeuf priced at €42 per kg it was cooked medium which was how we asked it to be done. We had a decent meal, good portions and it was reasonably priced. They were busy but the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food. Terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I took a group of 11 here on the hotel's recommendation. The owner was barely polite & the service was abysmal. We were ignored for 45 minutes,no offer of water or bread, and no eye contact as she went past our table. The food was average. Steaks were overdone. I asked for Chinon wine and was told to go and choose a bottle from a rack, then I would be told much it was. Altogether,a very disappointing experience that I would not repeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice in the past week ... once for lunch & also of dinner. On each occasion the food was extremely tasty & beautifully presented. The staff were perfect in every way, especially in dealing with our lack of French. At lunch we had just a glass of wine & unlike a previous poster, felt it was a more than adequate size ... I don't know what a 'standard' drink in France but we were happy. So happy that we will return before we leave Chinon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ardoise also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Ardoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ardoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.