We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very well kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loire Valley Retreat
Save
You added Loire Valley Retreat to your Saves list
2 rue de Charge, 37500 Chinon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
london
1 review
“A very well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We had a wonderful six days at Charge, We were made feel very welcome from the moment we made our booking. Nothing was too much trouble and reservations for restaurants were made for us.
Charlotte and Jerome's local knowledge really makes a difference and adds a lot of value to the holiday,
The swimming pool was a winner each day to cool off and made special by Jerome arriving with some wine to check out.
We had a lot of fun exploring the area and local people were very friendly.
We felt that we were visiting friends, and will certainly spend holidays there again.
We look forward to hearing about the new addition and the next stage in this wonderful venture.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
117
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

After hectic holiday with family we wanted a relaxing few days with a variety of things to do. Bedroom was luxurious and comfortable, although could do with some shelves for people staying more than couple of nights, and the bathroom was magnificent. Charlotte and Jerome could not have been more friendly and hospitable. We would certainly recommend Chateau de Chargé to all our friends. The area is surrounded by numerous beautiful chateaux plus many beaux villages and not forgetting enchanting Chinon with its fantastic restaurants. Jerome and Charlotte have certainly done their homework in creating a fabulous destination and welcoming home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed just one night as a stopover on the way back to London from the south of France by car; we were a couple with a 1yr old daughter.

The chateau is lovely and has been beautifully restored by Jerome and Charlotte. We stayed in the family suite which was ideal. The standard of decoration and facilities really was incredibly good and the attention to detail very impressive indeed.

Jerome and Charlotte couldn't have been more welcoming and were very accommodating of our early departure the next morning.

We wish we'd had the chance to stay longer and certainly hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My family and I (two little ones under the age of 3) had a wonderful time at Chateau de Chargé this summer. The Field family made us feel welcome the minute we arrived my little boy got stuck into the myriad of toys and activities in the garden straightaway! Our bedroom (Le Grenier à Sel) was absolutely breathtaking - spacious and very tastefully decorated with an exquisite en-suite bathroom. The children slept right next door (Chambre des Chouettes) and all the bits and bobs were there for them (toys, cot, baby monitor - you name it!) If you're planning a trip to the Loire Valley or are just passing through, Chateau de Chargé is an absolute must.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We went to Chateau de Charge as we were looking for a place to get together with friends who live in various parts of the world. We wanted to enjoy our time together, being able to relax around a glass of wine and/or by the pool and also discover the beauty of the Castles.

Our hosts renovated this place with taste, combining tradition and modernity. They made sure we always had we needed both at the Chateau but also to best wander around.

There is much more to discover in the region.. We will be back either for a romantic week-end or with our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed for just the one night in Chateau de Chargé, and it was utterly fabulous, the only regret we had was not to have stayed longer! Charlotte, Jérôme and Louis are wonderfully welcoming and so attentive to the needs of their guests.

One of the huge plus points from our point of view was the 'child friendlyness' of the establishment, all the little ones are perfectly catered for right down to Ceebies in the morning....

The guest rooms are really incredible and the family suite is out of this world, it has been restored and tastefully decorated and is really spacious. There are gorgeous views onto both the courtyard at the front of the Chateau and the gardens at the back. The childrens room was perfect for the girls and the bathroom in the tower was really fun.

Both my husband and I found the whole experience really relaxing, and I know the little ones had a great time too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Top quality service in all departments
Rooms extremely well appointed with quality furnishings and products.Very spacious
Much productive thought had gone into the needs and wishes of guests of all ages
and those of varying interests. Beautiful guest sitting room and excellent guest kitchen
Relaxed atmosphere but plenty to do and many spectacular places of interest and beauty
to visit. A haven for lovers of fine wine and good food.
Our age group ranged from 22 to 60 and all were happy

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500 Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loire Valley Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.