We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loire Valley Retreat
Save
You added Loire Valley Retreat to your Saves list
2 rue de Charge, 37500 Chinon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After our trip at La Cimentelle in Avallon, we spent a lovely time here at the Loire valley retreat.
Beautiful setting. The B&B was gorgeous, rooms tidy and clean. The service was high standard.
We felt as if we were at friends home. Lovely stay. The Loire Valley is stunning. Lots to see and discover. It is a must. Thank you for all your attention.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
117
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband, son (age 3) and daughter (age 1) stayed with Jerome and Charlotte in June 2012 and I have to say we had a lovely time. Charlotte and Jerome are very accomodating. We stayed in a family room which was absolutely huge! The children had their own room adjoining ours, again tons of space. There was lots to keep our kids busy each day: toys galore (my son loved building lego on the terrace outside the breakfast area) a great playground and a lovely and safe pool. The food was very nice and Jerome has an excellent wine list and is happy to recommend wine for any occasion. We felt very much part of the family, enjoying the family dinners with the children outside. It was possibly the best family holiday one could hope for....lets face it travelling with toddlers is never easy! we spent quite a bit of time at the chateau, venturing out for mini day trips in the morning and relaxing outside while our little one napped upstairs (baby monitor outside!).
All in all, a very pleasant stay and also reasonably priced. I rarely write a review on tripadvisor (last time was 2008 I think) but have traveled quite a bit. Nowhere is perfect but Loire Valley Retreat comes fairly close.
Thank you Charlotte and Jerome (and your great kids! and Phillipe the chef) for a great vacation and hope that all is well with the baby!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We (8 of us) love to travel a little off the beaten path. Just 10 minutes outside of Chinon, we found this fabulous Chateau. Renovated beautifully with modern baths, but old charm preserved in the bedrooms and throughout the living space. Easy access to all the sites in the Western Loire Valley. No need to search for a restaurant, the meals were excellent, we only planned to dine on site one evening but immediately booked our second. As we visited in late October, we were the only guests, so we had the dining room to ourselves, our hostess and private chef who gave us outstanding options for our 4 course meals Excellent wine cellar with a great selection of moderately priced Loire Valley wines, so if you don't get to all the vineyards, you can have great tastings in the Chateau. Regrettably, our stay was only two nights - we should have booked a week. Charlotte was an exceptional hostess. Don't miss this gem. This was the best lodging, dining and wine we had during or 10 day tour through Loire, Normandy and Bruges.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are oversized, modern facilities The upstairs suite is plenty of space for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked a 3 night stay on the last leg of our 2 week tour of France. Charlotte and Jerome are excellent hosts - Jerome is especially personable and knowledgeable. Nothing is too much trouble for him.

We stayed in the "Boulangerie" which was ideal as it was a little away from the rest of the Chateau and offered more privacy. The meals were delightful - only one downside was that there were 3 other couples with children and mealtimes tended to be a little noisy - not the romantic escape we had planned for. Unfortunately the stated separate meal times for children did not occur on the 3 nights we were there which detracted from the overall romance of the occasion. I understand the complexity of offering different sittings, however we feel it should not be stated if it not going to be delivered. - a minor blip on an otherwise pleasant stay.

First impressions count and the location is very rural and a car is essential. 20 -30 minutes max away from the major chateaus and castles. Unfortunately due to the season, (early October) our bedroom and bathroom were full of flies. The first 30 minutes were spent ridding them. Maybe it was because we arrived 1 hour early but again- not the best first impression.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabernet-franc-37, Owner at Loire Valley Retreat, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend Loire Valley Retreat to a fellow traveller. I just wanted to clarify for readers that we are usually quite rigid about offering a childrens' tea sitting at 6pm and adults dinner at 8pm, especially during the school summer holidays when there are up to three families in residence. On the occasion you visited in October, however, a family with an older child (and two younger ones) had specifically asked if their children could eat with their parents. Had we realised that you were disturbed by the children we would have reacted immediately, and hope you will accept our apologies for falling short of the atmosphere we strive to provide. Kindest regards, Charlotte & Jerome Field
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed only one night, alas, in this fabulous chateau B&B in the middle of farmland near Chinon. The accommodations were simply beautiful, with many thoughtful touches as well as overall elegance and luxury. The high point was a table d'hote with our hosts, in which we enjoyed wonderful food and their engaging company. Since we visited in October, we missed out on the swimming pool and other outdoor pleasures, but the property and its setting charmed us and nearby Chinon was delightful. Charlotte and Jerome have created a very special retreat, to which we would love to return for a more leisurely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed one night in the suite La Chambre du Vigneron and it blew us away. The suite is huge and luxurious as is the ensuite bathroom. Within moments of arrival, I was already full of regret that my booking was for one night only and my companion wanted me to cancel the next few nights accommodation to stay on in this beautiful place.
Charlotte and Jerome paid attention to every little detail to make the suite luxurious and comfortable...huge luxurious bed.. coffee machine..l'occitane toiletries..complimentary minibar..ipod dock...couldnt ask for more..
Beautiful courtyard to chill out...fantastic hosts... we'll be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I can only echo what everyone else says on here. This is a lovely place to stay The location is beautiful, (though do be aware that it's tucked well away in the countryside), the welcome was warm and friendly, the food and wine were excellent and the owners were attentive but not in your face. This is a perfect retreat for young families. There were several staying at the same time as us, but as a retired couple travelling without children, we did not in any way feel out of place and very much enjoyed the happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500 Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loire Valley Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.