We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Hotel Belle Epoque
14 Avenue Gambetta, 37500 Chinon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chinon
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Its a bit of a walk to the centre of Chinon, but for hospitality, you can't beat this place. The owner only speaks French but is very accommodating and amusing. The rooms are well equipped, although it does involve an awkward steep climb up a spiral staircase to the rooms. There is free parking in a gated secure area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel lies on the border of Chinon, however, is only a 5-10 min walk into the centre of town. On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by the owner, a young Frenchman with a rather entertaining personality who showed us around. On the following morning of the first night of our stay the owner indicated that he wanted to give us another room. When we asked if it would cost extra he replied 'Free' and shook our hands. It was a gesture we very much appreciated and were not expecting which added to the delight we had for the Hotel. A great stay for exceptional value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stopped off here whilst touring by Motorcycle, not quite in the centre of Chinon but a nice walk along the river and you're there. The hotel is quite small but it looks like its been recently refurbished, the owner was really helpful and friendly and told us everything we needed to know about the hotel and local area. There was a secure car park for the bike and we had a great little breakfast sat outside the front of the hotel in the morning - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went as a group of cyclists : The hotel is a two star hotel which operates well above its listing , it was ideal for us. It was very effeciently run by Maurice who was all the time very helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable for our needs , breakfast was super, hotel has a bar until 7pm. Also a lockin car park and room for bikes . Hotel is 10 minutes from Centre Ville. We are going back which must say something

Room Tip: Chinon is a lovely town but can get busy with tourists like ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel (also known as the Belle Époque) in September with 4 friends whilst cycling in the Loire valley, had a really nice stay, the owner was really welcoming and really looked after us, the rooms were nice and the breakfast was excellent. Takes about 5 minutes to walk to town. It also has a nice bar to have a drink in. Would definitely recommend it if you are in the region for a few days

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

About 5 minutes drive out of town. Good value and room had two separate sleeping areas. Perfect for four people. Very comfortable although bathroom was a bit small. Quite a few stairs to climb so be prepared for that. Reception is in the bar area and parking is in a secure area. Breakfast is excellent with quite a bit to choose from. Only negative is in the second bedroom where there are only sheer curtains on the windows. The street lamps outside are very bright and light up that room at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condom, France
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We came to this hotel after a disagreement at the Hotel Diderot (fair enough, we didn't have to pay the other one!). The owner was very welcoming and the closed parking very welcome as we were coming off the ferry with the car full of stuff! The room was clean but the decoration is very tired. I think that the onwers put all their attention on the ground floor which is all freshly painted and haven't done the bedrooms yet. Still, everything was ok and although we were facing the railway station it wasn't noisy. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and the owner charges only what you take, which is really nice. Actually we only had breakfast there because we had come to him quite unexpectedly and he was so welcoming. The hotel is not that far away from the centre of Chinon so you can easily walk to the restaurants. A good place to crash in for the night, which is what we did!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: 14 Avenue Gambetta, 37500 Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Epoque Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.