We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-World charm with all "mod cons"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Bon Laboureur to your Saves list
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue du Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
“Old-World charm with all "mod cons"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Clad in ivy and autumnal leaves on the night of our visit, this old-world hotel is a crazy but ultimately lovely aggregation of individual buildings in the heart of the village of Chenonceaux, only a few steps away from the entrance to the famous chateau, and within easy access of many other sites and villages of the Loire Valley. Best of all, it is a 200km journey by motorway from CDG airport, and an excellent stopover on the way to the South. Once through the door, you leave behind the aura of the 18th Century and enter the mid-20th Century ---- a world of bright colours, cosy furniture, spotless cleanliness, adequately spacious in every respect, and all the conveniences of the modern world. My wife and I chose to break the south-bound journey here for two reasons: its restaurant boasts a Michelin Star, and a range of generous packages are on offer. Ours provided room, dinner without wine, and the most delicious breakfast we have had in all of France ( a cross between continental and full international) for the combined price of 200 euros including taxes and service.

The dinner was priced at 48 euros, and for my wife, this meant 4 courses: poached foie gras;
large pan-fried shrimps with truffled potatoes and wild mushrooms; a fine cheese plate with salad; and for dessert, 3 pyramids of chocolate praline with an intense chocolate ice-cream.
Being greedier, I went for the next menu at 78 euros for which 48 euros were credited: delicious poached langoustines with an "ice-cream" of basil and lettuce; selle d'Agneaue with turnips in puff-pastry and a spaghetti of salsify; the same cheese plate as my wife; a pre-dessert of strawberry soup and creamed yoghurt resting on an almond biscuit; and a full dessert comprising pyramids of white, brown and black chocolate mousse on a crunchy Valrhona biscuit , accompanied by mint tea and chocolate ice-cream. A nice selection of truffles rounded off our first French meal of the year. The service was competently congenial, and the wine-list was varied and not over-priced. Of the more than 150 Michelin-starred restaurants in which my wife and I have eaten over 20 years of gourmandizing, this easily ranked in the upper-third.

The whole experience was a pure delight, and one that we hope to repeat -- the sooner the better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    82
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
87
235
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here for seven nights in Sept., 2011. Located in the town of Chenonceau, this French country inn with surrounding gardens, an inground pool and abundant parking was centrally located to many area chateaus. The magnificent Chenonceaux chateau was only an 8 minute walk from the inn. We have never stayed in such a comfortable, clean, and efficient lodging as this. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The service and gourmet food was without comparison. We felt like royalty. The Jeudi family deserves accolades for this gem.

Room Tip: Our suite was upstairs above the garage where we kept our car. Very handy and near the main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We spent one night here on a tour of the Loire Valley. We chose the hotel because of Tripadvisor reviews and because it is in the Michelin guide. We wanted a hotel where we could eat a good meal in the evening.

The service was excellent throughout - from check in to check out. Our room was lovely - enormous, clean, very comfortable bed, huge bathroom fully supplied with toiletries, room well soundproofed although the air conditioning didn't seem to work as well as we had hoped (even though it was October it was warm!). Good wi-fi (get access codes from reception), nice bar, great location.

Our meal in the restaurant was superb and the highlight of our visit to the Loire. However you absolutely would need to book your table when reserving your room as the restaurant was full. We splashed out and had the 85 Euro menu and did not regret it...the pigeon was just perfection..the restaurant is very big so I am amazed at the quality of the food and service. The only grumble would be that we were offered mineral water (rather than a carafe of tap water) which we accepted knowing it would be expensive but it was totally over-priced at 7 Euros a bottle. That is a shame as it looks like taking advantage.

We didn't take breakfast in the morning because we were still full from the night before.

Overall an excellent place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We spent just 1 night at the Auberge during a weekend visit to the Loire and it was a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out, we had extremely personal service that let us savor every moment of our visit.

Traveling with a two and a half year old is not easy, and some hotels recoil in horror when you arrive -- but not here. The staff at the Auberge accommodated our advance request for a bathroom large enough for a crib and also provided us with a baby monitor so we could eat our dinner after he went to sleep and keep an ear out for him -- but not only this, they also offered to keep the monitor at the reception and listen themselves!

In a very personal tough throughout the stay, we were never asked to sign anything -- at the bar, at the restaurant, at reception -- we got the sense that the staff knew who we were and wanted us to enjoy ourselves. This was greatly appreciated.

Finally, the food was fantastic -- we easily spent much more on our dinner than on the room -- and it was worth it. A number of amuse bouches, soups, pre-deserts, delicious bread, not to mention the entrees, main courses and wonderful cheese course. We left stuffed and happy.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We enjoyed two nights here and dined in the restaurant on both of them. Accommodation was lovely, the garden and pool were just what was needed on a hot afternoon and the restaurant really was faultless. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in Rm 432 8-10 July 2011. Charming French decor small two story town houses close by the original hotel - you cross the road to reach your room. Enter by a security gate and you're in a private courtyd with it's own well and parreterre gardens.  

Stunning gourmet meals with tiny tasting glasses eg caulk purée w truffle, sm salmon w pesto, gazpacho soup w pesto sorbet, pre-dessert raster. The best bread crusty rolls, crisp baguette, olive bread. French cultured butter. 

Our room had a tiny shower which went hot and cold. Our friends room 424 was bigger with a dble bathroom w bath. But accessed via a tiny spiral staircase which was difficult to manage w a suitcase. 

Staff polite. All spoke some English. Parking. Ourdoor pool heated with private access. 

Downside: on a busy narrow road w constant traffic by day. Quiet at night. But not near shops - many hotels and restaurants nearby all close to chateau of Chenonceaux. 

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We recently spent two lovely evenings staying at this hotel. The staff were welcoming, the rooms full of charm and the restaurant was outstanding! It is conveniently located in a cute little village, so much nicer than the larger towns. You can walk to the chateau and Monrichard is a short drive where you can have wonderful cakes!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Address: 6, rue du Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Bon Laboureur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.