We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Orangerie

L'Orangerie
Le Chateau de Chenonceau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
+33 (0)2 47 23 91 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Chenonceaux
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Detroit
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The setting is incomparable, the food presentations were artistic, and the service was leisurely but fine for a relaxing experience. The staff was pleasant and helpful and enhanced the moment. You must make reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    44
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had made an advance booking for a table of 6 so that we did not have to wait on a Monday prior visiting the Castle Chateau de Chenonceau, as this was the only restaurant in the vicinity. There was a busy crowd when we arrive at 12 pm and we were given a table outside the restaurant which was OK. It was lucky we had made an early reservation so that we did not have to wait. The menu was a 4 course set lunch with exquisite french names and we had to get the waitress to recommend. We found the price was reasonable given its settings. However, the service was slow due to the large crowd and we had to wait fairly long in between the servings.
If going during summer, good to make a reservation to avoid the waiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived on a busy Saturday in August and luckily we had booked. We experienced a wonderful lunch for 5 people, the service was out of this world as was the four course meal for 29 euros, we started with a kir each with nibbles, and a bottle of Rose wine, the four courses were amazing, this was our second visit as we had been there many years before.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb meal and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The setting in the chateau's orangerie on a summer's day is idyllic and the menus start at €29 which for the standard of food we were presented with was well worth it. We had 4 courses and they were all exquisite. The service was excellent and the waitress replaced my broken glass with another one and a new bottle of beer too. Lunch for two came to €76 with drinks and coffee. As a special treat this is second to none and well worth going out for an epic lunch instead of an epic dinner for a change. best meal and ambience we have had in France on our trip. note you must pay to get into the chateau before eating here and you should also reserve a table in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lunch to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a great lunch here whilst visiting the Chateau de Chenonceau on the River Cher. Superb setting and very summery. Its quite a formal dining experience although dressing up for lunch was thankfully required. Great food and great place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orangerie also viewed

 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Orangerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.