We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotellerie Saint Yves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotellerie Saint Yves to your Saves list
Hotellerie Saint Yves
1 rue Saint Eman | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000 Chartres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“excellent location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

An old converted seminary, right in the middle of the town a few minutes from cathedral and loads of good restaurants. Rooms small, but clean and rooms facing east have great views over town. Breakfast recommended as a very good start to day. Helpful and friendly reception and secure parking on site.

Room Tip: east facing rooms over great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    81
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
57
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Situated in the centre next to the Cathedral it is ideal. Car parking, unusual setting and astonishing views. It has been said that getting to the hotel is not easy but if you plan well it's no problem. Use street view in google maps to get an idea where it is before you go. When you approach the bollard, (the hotel is in a pedestrian area) take your car close to the bollard otherwise you cannot communicate with the person who will lower it. It is very simple.
Don't expect luxury but do expect small, clean and ideal for your visit to Chartres.
The gentleman manning the desk was excellent. Gave great advice regarding the hotel and the city.
Breakfast was good value too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Potential guests should be warned that it is impossible for anyone to reach you at the hotel after 8pm! The reception closes and no calls can be put through. This is a ridiculous situation in an upmarket hotel - and must be unique. It is something the hotel should put to rights immediately.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The monastic character of this hotel makes it forbiddingly austere: it reminded me of my convent school!
The large, free car park is extremely difficult to find because of the one-way streets, but once in, you're within yards of the cathedral.
We had a huge bathroom with bath, basin and W.C. and nowhere to put our stuff - not a shelf or a cupboard in sight. Had to leave our toiletries on the linoleum floor!
The double bed was not comfortable enough for two people, but fortunately there was a single bed in the room, so one of us retreated to that.
Unusually for France, the shutters opened inwards, like the windows, so it was impossible to let the air in and keep the early morning light out.
Coffee out of a machine for breakfast? Come on!

Room Tip: Make sure each person has their own bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We went to see the cathedral in Chartres. The hotel was only 50 meters away from the cathedral and had the most beautiful view. The rooms were clean but sober. And that was exactly what we expected because what you see on the web is what you get. The ambiance was very special. The building is a sight itself. Breakfast was very good. Very friendly people and good information. This special location is one to remember. We were glad that we checked out the reviews of this hotel on the internet because someone discribed how to drive to the hotel. That was very helpful because tomtom wasn't helpful at that time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This charming hostellerie just behind the Chartres cathedral, an 11th century priory reconstructed in the 17th century, is an historical tourist destination in itself, quite apart from the cathedral and beautiful old town. The building is magnificent and beautifully placed, like the cathedral, overlooking the river Eure. The rooms in April were extremely inexpensive, simple and smallish but clean, no mini-bar sorts of amenities but wifi in the room and a small TV, small but clean bathroom, very friendly and helpful staff; breakfast costs extra but is, for France, excellent. The building seems still to be part of some complex of diocesan somethings-or-other, but there’s no awkwardness at all for non-religious people. There are restaurants all over the place just up the alley to the cathedral square and old town – the pizzeria La Passacaille halfway to the rail station is especially worth recommending. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have twin beds, apparently slightly larger rooms, but others have regular double beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotellerie Saint Yves. We did have a little difficulty finding it, but once we did we felt comfortable. The rooms are spartan, to be sure. Our room had twin beds; I don't know if all rooms where equipped as such and the bathrooms are very small...but efficient. We really appreciated the location of the hotel, a former monastery. It is just a few steps away from the cathedral. We appreciated the location, since we were able to return to our room to rest quite easily during the day. The staff were very helpful to our extra requests. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was one of the best we had on our trip to France. We had a beautiful view from our room. Our rooms was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotellerie Saint Yves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Saint Yves

Address: 1 rue Saint Eman | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000 Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotellerie Saint Yves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Saint Yves Hotel Chartres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotellerie Saint Yves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.