We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upmarket youth hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotellerie Saint Yves

Save Saved
You added Hotellerie Saint Yves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotellerie Saint Yves
1 rue Saint Eman | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000 Chartres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An upmarket youth hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The monastic character of this hotel makes it forbiddingly austere: it reminded me of my convent school!
The large, free car park is extremely difficult to find because of the one-way streets, but once in, you're within yards of the cathedral.
We had a huge bathroom with bath, basin and W.C. and nowhere to put our stuff - not a shelf or a cupboard in sight. Had to leave our toiletries on the linoleum floor!
The double bed was not comfortable enough for two people, but fortunately there was a single bed in the room, so one of us retreated to that.
Unusually for France, the shutters opened inwards, like the windows, so it was impossible to let the air in and keep the early morning light out.
Coffee out of a machine for breakfast? Come on!

Room Tip: Make sure each person has their own bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
44
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We went to see the cathedral in Chartres. The hotel was only 50 meters away from the cathedral and had the most beautiful view. The rooms were clean but sober. And that was exactly what we expected because what you see on the web is what you get. The ambiance was very special. The building is a sight itself. Breakfast was very good. Very friendly people and good information. This special location is one to remember. We were glad that we checked out the reviews of this hotel on the internet because someone discribed how to drive to the hotel. That was very helpful because tomtom wasn't helpful at that time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This charming hostellerie just behind the Chartres cathedral, an 11th century priory reconstructed in the 17th century, is an historical tourist destination in itself, quite apart from the cathedral and beautiful old town. The building is magnificent and beautifully placed, like the cathedral, overlooking the river Eure. The rooms in April were extremely inexpensive, simple and smallish but clean, no mini-bar sorts of amenities but wifi in the room and a small TV, small but clean bathroom, very friendly and helpful staff; breakfast costs extra but is, for France, excellent. The building seems still to be part of some complex of diocesan somethings-or-other, but there’s no awkwardness at all for non-religious people. There are restaurants all over the place just up the alley to the cathedral square and old town – the pizzeria La Passacaille halfway to the rail station is especially worth recommending. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have twin beds, apparently slightly larger rooms, but others have regular double beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotellerie Saint Yves. We did have a little difficulty finding it, but once we did we felt comfortable. The rooms are spartan, to be sure. Our room had twin beds; I don't know if all rooms where equipped as such and the bathrooms are very small...but efficient. We really appreciated the location of the hotel, a former monastery. It is just a few steps away from the cathedral. We appreciated the location, since we were able to return to our room to rest quite easily during the day. The staff were very helpful to our extra requests. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was one of the best we had on our trip to France. We had a beautiful view from our room. Our rooms was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Hotellerie Saint Ives is indeed a former grand monastery that was attached to Chartres' magnificent Cathedral. The rooms and common areas still retain much of their monastic austerity but they are comfortable and clean with views to die for. The hotel is still used for seminars and conferences linked to the Cathedral. The setting is brilliant located within the Cathedral enclave of narrow streets and 14th century buildings. Breakfast was also very good value the Breakfast room matched the monastic surrounds giving one the feel they were back in boarding school or residential college. I was bit disappointed to see that the hotel did in fact have double rooms when only twin rooms were advertised. Apart from this, you could not find a better place to stay in Chartres to immerse yourself in the historic and spiritual experience of the Cathedral. Free secure parking is available within the grounds although it is a bit tricky getting into the enclave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this small former monastery adjacent to the Cathedral of Chartes and we liked it. The rooms are very quite due to the thick stone walls. It is not a Hotel, neither a hostel, but a Hotellerie, or let's say an Auberge.
The rooms offer views which is nice. All cozy and warm in the cold winter months and have high ceilings. Breakfast was excellent. High quality and fresh yet as you can expect in such ambiance and due to their unique formula trying to stay moderately different, simple and inexpensive. The Coffee and choices for tea are far better than many others hotels I have stayed.
The rooms are large enough for single occupancy or a couple. Bathroom and bathroom amenities just convenient. If you want to spend one or two nights exploring Chartres and the area, sure it is a good choice. It is close to the Market and if you include a Saturday in your booking, you will enjoy the fresh all organic market!
Lots of antique shops around with lovely old furniture and lights and for good prices too.
Many restaurants in the area with excellent food made of local fresh products.
There is a chapel in this hotel where one can play music also perfect for a group of musicians if they are travelling around. If you play music, take your instrument with you for sure. You will have lots of fun there.
The Garden opens to the East offering Celestine sunrise and the rooms facing East look over the old town.
Chartres will surprise you, looks modern but once in the old city, you will have a lot to visit and fill a whole day planning. A few excellent chateaux to visit are nearby as well if you drive.
..
The receptionist/booking agent at the hotel, called Liliana is a jewel of a young woman. She is so kind you will only wish she would work for a 5 star hotel in New York City!
And the night receptionist/Guardian of the hotel a true gentleman.

The hotel offers a free private parking and very safe as well. if you drive to Chartres, stop looking and book here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our previously booked accommodation cancelled due to illness, and recommended St Yves as another choice. We didn't realise it was in a monastery building so were quite surprised, but really enjoyed our stay there. It is very simple but adequate if you are just looking for somewhere clean and quiet. The views from the rooms are wonderful and the location is absolutely ideal - once you find it! The staff were very helpful and there is a lovely peaceful feel to the place. Certainly for the modest cost you could not do better. And yes, the bathrooms are like little plastic modules on a ship, but everything worked.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotellerie Saint Yves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Saint Yves

Address: 1 rue Saint Eman | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000 Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotellerie Saint Yves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Saint Yves Hotel Chartres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotellerie Saint Yves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.