We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unpretentious little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie des Changes

Brasserie des Changes
Rue des Changes, Chartres, France
02-37-36-82-19
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 140 Restaurants in Chartres
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great unpretentious little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We half-expected to pay too much for our meal so close to the Cathedral, instead we discovered a place that offered basic courses, but well executed and at a reasonable price. Even the fries tasted better and the profiteroles at the end were the best I ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lucky choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived in Chartres too late and all the restaurants were packed. This was the only one that offered us a late sitting. The complimentary glass of fizz was lovely. We has a proper brasserie meal. Bustling, friendly and football on the tv at the back we will seek this place out next summer ( and make a reservation too...)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The fish soup was wonderful....really a meal in itself! My duck was good though a little overcooked, I had asked for au point. My husband had the lamb which was tough and fatty and accompanied by a huge mound of haricot beans....rather un appealing visually. The cahors wine by the carafe was good and well priced. Service pleasant. Atmosphere warm and comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Small Place; Fun Staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place deserves to be about 10-15 on the list. Great staff and location and it is very reasonably priced. The "Cote d'Agneau" that I had was just a bad cut: very chewy and fatty. The complimentary champagne was a nice touch. Overall it was fine and open on a Sunday in August!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We did the restaurant walk and chose this place which opened at 7pm and was full by 7.15. Really great food- the entree and plat du jour were excellent, as was the house burger. All entrees are €6 and mains €12. They do a later sitting at 9-9:30 else no chance of a table outside these windows. I love it when you end up eating well without booking in a large town...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie des Changes also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Brasserie des Changes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie des Changes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.