We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confit de canard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pichet 3

Le Pichet 3
19 Rue du Cheval Blanc, 28000 Chartres, France
0237210835
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 131 Restaurants in Chartres
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Confit de canard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Go to Le Pichet. Order the confit de canard. You are now ready to die having enjoyed the best in life. Last summer I spent 7 weeks in Europe. This was the most memorable meal of my entire trip. The service and restaurant are charming, too, by the way.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Around the corner from Chartres Cathedral is a little restaurant named Le Pichet on a quiet little street . We stopped here for lunch and the food was amazing! I ordered the chicken stew (Cassoulet de Poulet) and a pear tart - the chicken was very tender and tasty with a mouth-watering combination of herbs. One of my friends ordered the vegetable soup which she really loved. The owners of Le Pichet are delightful - very charming and helpful. Fabulous service!
I highly recommend this restaurant if you go to Chartres.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Don't let the bric a brac scare you away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

At first glance, the place looks sort of like a French Cracker Barrel. There are lots of kitschy gift items for sale, plus a number of interesting food items (including some prepared right at the restaurant). But, the food here is really the star of the show. The place is cozy, with friendly owners, and specializes in French comfort food. My wife had stewed rabbit with prunes (much better than it sounds!) and I had a stewed duck leg--both good choices on a cold, drizzly spring day. There is lighter fare on the menu as well, including some vegetarian dishes. Location very close to the Cathedral makes this place great for taking a break from sightseeing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cute & cozy restaurant with great classic French bistro dishes & very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Perfect place for lunch after a morning spent touring the cathedral and surrounding area. There were four of us, and we each ordered a different dish: Coquille St. Jacques, Boeuf Bourgignon, Quiche Lorraine, and the cheese board. All were delicious and highly recommended. My husband and brother both loved the local beer, while my sister-in-law and I enjoyed a glass of the house wine. We will definitely go back next time we're in Chartres.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb rustic fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had lunch a fantastic lunch here today. The staff were welcoming and tolerant of our poor French.....though very encouraging that we try (our children learn French at school so we like them to practice as much as possible). The food was a treat - simple but extremely tasty. So good to get a few vegetables as well! The decor is cosy and fascinating at the same time. Wondering whether it would be wrong to head back for dinner tonight???

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pichet 3 also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Pichet 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pichet 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.