We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, delicious food:))))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomate & Piment

Tomate & Piment
Place Chatelet, 28000 Chartres, France
02.37.36.07.49
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Tomate & Piment is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 140 Restaurants in Chartres
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tomate & piment (le nouveau nom du restaurant grill Pélagie) est situé au coeur de Chartres, place Châtelet, à côté du parking Cathédrale Châtelet, à 100 mètres de la gare SNCF et de la gare routière et aussi à 300 mètres de l'Office de Tourisme et de la Cathédrale. Venez découvrir au restaurant Tomate & Piment les grillades à la plancha, la cuisine d'ailleurs, les grandes salades, les hamburgers originaux, les fajitas...
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food:))))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've been here for dinner in December 2012. We were a group including Irish, English, German and French. The menu is very eclectic with an abundence of choice, making it difficult to narrow it down to one dish;) The staff were very friendly, charming and accommodating. Our waiter, Louis, spoke brilliant English and was very helpful in explaining the menu and offering advice on the wine list. The atmosphere was friendly and convivial, the food affordable and delicious from entreé to dessert;)
A great evening was had by all our group and I would happily recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    77
    30
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Visited twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the outside looks like a cross between a fast food and conventional restaurant-and indeed the menu has many fast food items. But it does serve conventional food and the cooking is good. Not much by way of a set menu but the prices are such that you can eat a la carte. Very busy, turning away people on each of our two visits-so book! Staff helpful and friendly although the ownwer/manager? was brusque. Second time we went it was noisy with a family group with an uncontrolled child.. Does not take internet bookings but you can do this via the La Fouchette website which entitles you to a free cocktail each.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stopped here on a whim, and it was actually quite good, with good service, a varied menu including vegetarian options.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Chartres - exquisite service, flexible food preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was the best restaurant experience of our entire trip to France this fall. The maitre d' spoke excellent English, was fun and treated us very charmingly. My friend has many dietary issues and because they were very flexible, we were helped to get an interesting and tasty meal for her that still addressed all her limitations. She had a Tajine and I had a divine Mediterranean Salad - served quckly - and we didn't feel rushed by the wait staff even though there were people waiting for a table. Ingredients tasted very fresh. The only downside was there were people smoking at the outside tables, but this happens everywhere in France.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Having just come off the train after a day out in Paris, we decided on the tomato & Piment for dinner, this being our second and last night in Chartres. My husband had the Jambalya and I had the spare ribs. My ribs and the accompanying chips were not very hot as though they'd sitting on the side somewhere. Edible but not overly full of flavour, but there was plenty of meat on the bones. My husband's meal was fine, he found no fault with it. For pudding I chose a dame Blanche, which they got completely wrong, chocolate sauce was cold, should be hot and the chantilly cream was missing completely, sadly the waiter didn't even know it was missing when challenged and had to check if it was back in the kitchen. Did offer to add the cream, but by this time I'd almost finished so it wasn't worth the wait around. overall, I've had worse but had better, if desperate I'd go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomate & Piment also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Barjouville, Chartres
 

Been to Tomate & Piment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomate & Piment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.