We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location in beautiful Chartres!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parvis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Parvis to your Saves list
Le Parvis
13, Cloitre Notre Dame | 5, Rue du Cheval Blanc, 28000 Chartres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Chartres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The perfect location in beautiful Chartres!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

As with other reviewers we were wowed by the unbelievably easy access to the Cathedral from this cozy, friendly and slightly quirky hotel. Both the accommodations and the restaurant are excellent value, and our hosts could not have been nicer. And because you are literally steps from the Cathedral, you can enjoy multiple viewings of one of the most spectacular sound and light shows you will ever see,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Be sure to get a room facing the Cathedral. The owners are lovely, and helpful. Go there first if driving and they will give you specific directions to park. Breakfast in the cafe is wonderful and included. We had the Les Louis room...a small suite.

Room Tip: When you reserve, get a room facing the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was not in Chartres at Le Parvis for a hotel experience - I was there to spend one and one half days in the Cathedral which makes Le Parvis the perfect choice because it is right next to the Cathedral - I mean really next to it, 20 meters away maybe? Eat the good food from the hotel restaurant on the terrace and you are directly under the north tower. Look out the windows of the hotel and you are staring at the Cathedral. Why would one stay anywhere else?!

But let's discuss the hotel anyway.

Are we sure this hotel isn't haunted - it should be because it has all the necessary ingredients: charm, age, history, strange corners, odd stairways and multiple 'caves'. Be prepared for a quirky place - I though of my grandmother's house. Be prepared for out-of-the-ordinary rooms: my room has french doors from the tiny hallway, they had a key but I suspect you could have blown the door open with a light sneeze. The door to the toilet had to be forced across the bulge in the floor; the shower wouldn't drain because of the bulge in that floor. The blackout curtains were 'sort of' effective. The room had two electric outlets that I could locate - I travel with four devices that need to be charged. The room itself, though generous in space was oddly designed and there may have been a closet but the door was blocked by the bed so I don't know.

The bed was ok, I have had better and worse. There was a couch, but with no closet and no other place for the suitcase, that's where the suitcase went so you couldn't sit on it. Then why would you, nothing to look at as the tv was awkwardly placed. Lighting was bad, though you could stretch and call it mood lighting. The lamp over the bed was non-functional because you had to unplug it to use the outlet for charging your Apple products. The bathroom was somewhat functional, but please, I am 5'10" and my toes barely touched the floor when using the toilet, get a better wc for heaven's sake.

There is wifi, but the signal is weak and don't count much on successful video streaming.

You get a breakfast, French continental style; if you get the nice guy in the morning you get yogurt and a smile with that breakfast as well; you get the other guy, well, ok, you get some bread cheese meat slices and apricot jam and little else. The coffee is terrible but this is France - they don't know how to make good coffee.

I ate lunch at the hotel, very pleasant, decent wine with lunch. I had dinner out but did have une glacé one evening which was also tasty with a nice wine.

If I return to Chartres I might check my hotel options next time; but I would still lean towards Le Parvis simply because it has the location nailed. And you can slip into bed within minutes of watching the really fun Cathedral light show right next door, I mean really right next door.

Room Tip: I had Bleue, you saw my comments. Next door to Bleue was a better room with a nicer sitting area loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Le Parvis is right across from the Cathedral. It is an historic building with both beauty and some quirks. Rooms all vary and are very historical. My suite was the depth of the property (windows both facing the cathedral and the side street). Floors are a little creaky and the wifi and nice breakfast are included. There is also a restaurant below (not noisy- closed by 9:30) which I did not eat at. A little pricey but I felt like I was a noble from an ancient age visiting the cathedral. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the Cathedral view rooms. The "Louis Room" has a lovely sitting area looking out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This inn is located in an ancient building that is literally next door to the cathedral. The pros are the location and the ease with which you can visit the city center. We had Les Anges (the Angels), the room at the top. It was spacious and a bit quirky. There were views to the cathedral, and we were able to watch the light show from there. The breakfast was good (typically French--croissants, jam, cheese, and fruit.) Cons: It's a little hard to find (thank goodness we had a navigator in our rental car). There is no parking right nearby. You need to park in the city garage a few blocks away. Getting to the garage was a bit of a hassle.

Room Tip: There are several rooms, and each one is different. Look at the hotel website or the pics on bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed just one night at this charming hotel in Chartres. Exactly the right combination to the city.
There are just a few rooms and they are not too big, as they were adapted into a very old building. Wi Fi is free as is breakfast.
I recommend eating sometime at the hotel's restaurant. The food is good and the prices reasonable.
I would definitively return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There is not much to compare this unique place to. It simply drips story and atmosphere. Set above a restaurant, the rooms are old and awkwardly set out, but with all the comforts one would need. The room was clean, though a little small, but the furnishings were, I am sure, fascinating, genuine antique. Best of all, though, the door opened out directly onto the Cathedral forecourt. You could not have been closer to the action. The breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent with great coffee and plenty of what comes with every good French breakfast. On one of the nights we were there, a jazz band played in the cellar, three floors below us. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parvis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parvis

Address: 13, Cloitre Notre Dame | 5, Rue du Cheval Blanc, 28000 Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parvis offers you an accomodation in Bed and Breakfast straight in front of the Cathedral, in the very historical heart of the city. Our bedrooms are equipped with every element essential to your comfort.Their charm and the top-quality service provided have been ackowledged by all our guests.Come and discover our unique Bed and Breakfast !Bed and Breakfast, charming roomsTop-quality accomodationRight down the CathedralUnobstructed view guaranted on the Royal portalYou can almost touch the cathedral from the window of your roomAir-conditionningBreakfast includedParking offered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Parvis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parvis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.